We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Oasis in the Middle of Marrakech”
Review of Riad 72

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad 72
Ranked #22 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stepped out of the busy city and into this tranquil 4 room oasis! The blend of modern minimalist design and traditional Morrocan architecture is so gorgeous you can't stop taking photos and video. In fact, my family started calling me Steven...aka Steven Speilberg, because of this! I highly recommend Riad 72 for guests wanting a break form western distractions, such as t.v.'s. There is always a friendly staff member who speaks multiple languauges in the office ready to organize any site seeing or restaurant reservations for you. Among the most memorable were the chirping birds that occassionally visited our room, making the lush trees in the courtyard their home, the roof top terrace that provides a surreal view of the city, and the hearty breakfasts served with a smile. Which brings me to the BEST part of Riad 72...THE STAFF. So welcoming, eager to help, and filled with smiles. Thank you Medhi, Esma, Aziz, Rashid, and those who's names I did not get, for making our stay at Riad 72 so enjoyable and easy! It was definately a main highlight in our trip to Marrakech that we will remember forever!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 547 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Riad 72 is a paradise! The location is great, inside the medina but just a few steps out in case you wanna get out of medina's hustle. The decoration and architecture of the riad is just perfect. The service provided by the staff was incredible! We'll definitly go back and highly recommend. Thanks to Mehdi and Gael, Asma, Rachid and Aziz! (Sorry for the speling).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radpop20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited here in 2011 and i have been meaning to write a review as the food was excellent. This was recommended by a friend who stayed here previously and i am glad i took him up on the recommendation.

We went as a family whilst there on a break and were seated in the dining room to ourselves. The Chef, Fatuma, prepares a menu daily based on what she has found whilst shopping in the markets and every course was delightful. I am a carnivore and think meat needs to be in most courses but even the vegetarian course she prepared were amazing. We enjoyed some drinks with the meal and the price overall for this i could not believe due to how reasonable it was.

I am thinking about another trip back to Marrakech just so we can stay here and eat here again it was that good. If you are in Marrakech and even if not staying here see if you can book to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just back from a beautiful long weekend stay in Riad 72. The service, food and accommodation were all exceptional. I cannot recommend a stay here enough.

We stayed in the suite which is a huge room and very comfortable. We also ate several meals in Riad 72 and every one was perfect. Breakfast was a treat every morning.

The location is in the middle of the medina with a short walk to a varied shops and stalls.

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, Rashid, Asma, Mehdi and Rashid were all friendly, welcoming and helpful.

It's a short walk from Riad 72 to anywhere else in the Medina and to some of the interesting places just outside.

The roof is a perfect place to go for some sun. Take a book and get some local Rosé.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talibragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Gorgeous riad in a fantastic location. The decor was a lovely mix of Moroccan and modern inspiration. The private hammam is small, but intimate and great. The people working there are helpful and kind. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Plus, the mint tea and complimentary breakfast are delicious! We will certainly stay here again if ever back in Morocco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The boutique hotel lover's boutique hotel. Well, strictly speaking, it is a Riad which, as the discerning traveller knows, is a courtyard with luxiorious plants and foliage surrounded by cloistered paths and balconies and, often, with roof terraces. Riad 72 is all of this and more at the top of the range.
We booked a package which included room, huge marble bathrom, balcony, hammam and massage, dinner, collection from the airport and champagne on arrival. It wasn't cheap but worth every penny we spent as the quality of everything was just superb. There are only four rooms, well, room does seem an understatment, so we considered oursleves lucky to have got in for the exact time we wanted.
The welcome is just great. Walk out of arrivals at Marrakech airport and there is a driver waiting for you to take you in some comfort to as near as possible to the Arset Awzel. You're met by a handsomely kitted out porter who loads your cases onto his handcart for the 3 minute walk to paradise. Marrakech is all about narrow streets and what we'd call blind alleys but left, right and left and we're outside a front door. It's seemingly one of many and the thought goes through your head about all those pictures from the website and the space. Fear not they are there for Marrakech is Moroccan for magic and quicker than saying "Ali Baba" the luxury, the sights, the space and the comfort wrap themselves round you like a luxorious, soft blanket.
Over mint tea we are given the potted guide of the Riad and what we can look forward to. There are helpful hints of sights to see and things to do. Maps are given out and guide books and we head up to the roof balcony for our first nocturnal view of the city. The lights shimmer for us in the evening heat and the tall towers of the mosques soon become evident.
We found the meals all brilliant. Breakfast is a leisurely served feast of local fruits, juices and yogurts with breads, sweet and savoury cakes and pancakes and rich, strong coffee. Dinner is a choice of tagines but beware they are huge with easily enough for two people in one dish. It's worth booking the dinner when you can to give the staff as much notice as possible. They are all so nice and keen to please and are so pleased when you ask for their help with language and customs. It's a bit like being in a family home for everyone.
One little warning though you are in an Islamic country and the Riad is close to a number of mosques with regular calls to the faithful to prayer. These can be in the very small hours of the morning, well, night then, but you soon get used to them. There is the added bonus of being gently woken by the dawn chorus of birds, who have the decency of hour to nudge you into the day arond breakfast time.
The Riad highlight? The hammam and massage. It is an experince worth the trip and was like nothing else we've ever had in the UK. The whole experience was enervating, cleansing and exciting. It is a must.
All in all this was like the trip of a lifetime with the best of the best of hospitality.

Room Tip: We had the Amal suite but with four equally luxorious rooms you're spolit for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DodgerW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a charming, relaxing and very friendly destination! Our party of four stayed for a week and could not find fault, even if you paid us to. Only four bedrooms,so an intermate relationship with the staff and management is forth coming. Every need and request is completed with a smile. The bedroom sheets and towels replaced every day. The calm sanctuary is an oasis tucked away in such a hectic environment, a great escape. Thank you All for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Pack some ear plugs because the closest Mosque calls to prayer at 4am so which ever room you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#8 of 501 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#64 of 501 in Marrakech
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#33 of 501 in Marrakech
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#26 of 501 in Marrakech
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $164 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing