We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tremendous location but amazingly quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Mogador to your Saves list
Jnane Mogador
116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tremendous location but amazingly quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Room was clean but cramped (three beds in family room). Really hot as no air con so think carefully if you are booking in the height of summer. Staff were friendly and the meal we ate in the roof top restaurant was pleasant and the alcohol free beer tasted like nectar! Proximity is brilliant for the Grand Place - literally about 50 metres. However when we closed the door at night it was really quiet and made a restful change from the madness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    172
    52
    20
    18
See reviews for
59
128
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in March. Felt like the genuine Marrakech experience. Traditionally styled, cosy rooms. The roof terrace is great for a quiet breakfast, and has the most amazing view at sunset out over Marrakech. It's the perfect spot to sit, read a book, enjoy some olives, and listen to the sounds of the surrounding mosques and Medina. Service and food were both good. We dined in the restaurant for dinner once. It was nice, but there is better (and worse) in the Medina and Souks. For a convenient, quaint, authentic place to stay, Jnane Mogador was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottonsockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at Jnane Mogador. Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. The location is practically right on the main square where much of the action is. Very easy to find and right in the thick of things en route to one of the many souk areas. Once inside it is an oasis of calm, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and so dark that you might want to set your alarm for breakfast up on the terrace. Food is great. We were going to try another place to eat for the last night, but for quality, price, service and setting it would have been daft to go anywhere else. Very family friendly. You must try the hammam - brilliant! Wish we had paid a bit more and had the massage as well. We use a lot of budget hotels and we couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashanKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Keep looking for a better place to stay - this hotel should not be it! We found it to be a big disappointment. The photos online were very attractive, and, indeed, the riad has a very picturesque interior courtyard. However, the rooms are small, dingy, dark, and smell mildewy. Ours was also infested with ants. The beds were saggy and have sharp metal edges, on which I gashed my leg open (as did my friend). In addition, the man at the front desk was very argumentative and unhelpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camel-Hopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

If you plan to stay within the Medina, be advised that you will not be staying at the Ritz. The hotel is only 100 meters or so off the main square and has all of the accompanying noise and aromas (watch out for the motobikes on the street outside the front door!). We were in a double room on the first floor, which can only be described as cramped, stuffy (no windows to the outside), and noisy (people sitting just outside our door at the front desk chatting until 1 a.m. followed by the first call to prayer at 4:30 a.m.). We found the staff to be somewhat humorless. There is a nice outdoor terrace on the roof and a small restaurant as well. In terms of value, I would describe this as a notch up from the next door back-packer hostal where our daughter stayed, but at about 3-4 times the cost. I would not call this a "bargain." Having said that, it's an okay way to experience the medina--just bring your blinders and ear plugs if you're not a night owl.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moves around a lot!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed in the Mogador Suite on the top floor for three nights and it was a wonderful experience. The room is lovely - a niche to sit in and read (with spot lights - necessary given the rest of the lighting is quite dim) and a sofa/table area.

The bed was large and very comfy - a wooden four poster affair - but rather creaky! Not a problem sleeping, though, at all.

Fridge doesn't appear to work in the room.

The private terrace is probably best in summer when it's really hot as it doesn't appear to get any sun - not so great for the chilly spring evenings in early April.

Breakfast is not included - and you pay the wait staff directly for meals so bring cash up with you. It is very nice - although we got a bit tired of the same selection after two mornings. Service a tad slow if you want to get going.

The second two breakfasts we had in Marrakesh were eaten on the go, which is also fun. Stop off at the main square for orange juice, pick up some Morrocan pastries from a stall in the souks, get your caffeine shot at Cafe des Epices. It is really worth experiencing the souks at 8.30am at least once - peaceful, stalls being set up, no hassle... Best time to be there, in my opinion!

We ate one night in the restaurant - for 60 dirham each it was good value, but they could do with significantly more meat in the dishes! That said, I was full enough afterwards. Probably good to do one night when you are tired and don't feel like the hassle of going out to the main square/don't have a dinner reservation somewhere.

Staff were helpful and usually attentive but not overly friendly. A lovely man helped us with bags to the taxi when we left, though.

Hotel has free internet (well, 10 mins, after that 2€ per hour) and printer. The challenge is negotiating the English/Arabic keyboard...! Not best for long emails, but to print your boarding pass, fine.

Overall, fantastic place to stay. Great location and very easy to find. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Cup_Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Everything good and nice
Room quite little but nice Moroccan style, Quite noise but its great to hear the jmaaelfna noises, very happy with the stay, the restaurant is good, the staff is friendly and helpful,i spent 3 beautiful nights there, please be aware to pay cash even if u paid credit card for the deposit, better if bring euros to pay

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyNegrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#252 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#210 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#248 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#209 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#148 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Property: Jnane Mogador
Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing