We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to come home too!”
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnane Mogador
Ranked #155 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a day getting lost in the souks, a familiar face, a serene roof and a mint tea is what you need to come home too! We made a home in the Jnane Mogador Riad during our 8 day stay in Marakesh!

Great locations and accommodation for the price.

Start the day with a great breakfast, eggs set you up for the adventure that lies ahead!

You'll get lost finding the place, luckily we were greeted at the airport!

We organised an over night excursion through the friendly reception staff and highly recommend a sleepover in the Sahara!

Clean, simple, easy stay in an hectic city! A welcomed break from the chaos all around the place!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 461 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked at the last minute and there was one room left so we took that. the rrom was tiny, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and the restaurant staff very friendly. We only had breakfast there but it felt like th lunch and dinner could be great.

Also, they were gay-neutral, no hassle there (we were very quiet though).

The location is super central, hassling crowds but convenient to visit the main sights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very friendly staff, charming hotel with roofterrace with spectacular view over Marrakech, good value for money, 2 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, Service excellent, they arranged a taxi from and to the airport. Very nice and fresh breakfast for 3,5 euro (35 dirham).
We really recommend this hotel. Only little negative point: beds are small and with metal frame (2 one-person's beds next to eachother, no double beds, allthough I don't know if it's like this in all the rooms. But still a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The riad is located in a very good place, very close to the square Djemaa el Fnà, it's but at a minute walk and from its terrace you'll hear the music and the voices rising up from the very square. To get to the riad becomes very complicated if you arrive from the opposite side of the medina: you won't get the way by yourself, as the taxi cannot enter the narrow streets there. The riad looks like a fortress from outside, while inside it offers a nice glance to the Moroccan architecture and furniture, at least in the patio. My room on the ground floor was rather dark, cold and not very clean and all the noise from the nearby street entered the room. The most disappointing issue was the unreliability of the personnel as I got the feeling of being cheated all the time. Eventually, I paid more than they offered me (and wrote me) when I booked the room, though I ignore the reason. Inside the riad there is a restaurant with cosy sofas and a nice terrace with a view on the medina of Marrakesh. The diner was ordinary, I expected much better dishes, while the breakfast was fair and rich.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PiemontePiemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this Riad. It was very central and all the major attractions of central Marrakesh were in easy walking distance. Loads of restaurants quickly available.However the food here is good too. Beautiful central courtyard and the rooms were basic but comfortable and large. Very nice courtyard on the 3rd floor if you wanted a quiet place to read, have a coffee or just relax. The wi fi worked!
Negatives. Our room was on the street and was noisy at night with the windows open. Close them and its too hot!
We had to pay cash. No visa or eftpos available

Room Tip: Away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this riad based on recommendations on Trip Advisor and price. From what I've seen and heard from other people it's a pretty standard riad - a handful of rooms surrounding a courtyard in traditional Moroccan style - but it's excellent value and the location, a couple of minutes' walk from the main square and within walking distance of most of the main attractions, can't be faulted. Booking was a bit of a hassle - an elaborate system of transferring money via Western Union and sending a series of anxious emails to check it had actually been received, then arriving in Morocco and wondering if we did in fact have somewhere to stay or had been the victims of a not-very-elaborate scam - but we needn't have worried! I personally wouldn't recommend pre-booking a taxi from the airport through the riad in advance, which dropped us off on the edge of the main square then handed us over to a chap with a wheelbarrow who wheeled our bags to the riad via an unnecessarily elaborate route as we trotted behind, before asking us for money. In fact the riad is very close to the square, down a little road in the corner, and fairly easy to find.

The rooms were pretty and perfectly comfortable, with good wifi access. The shower was also surprisingly good, given that, due to the layout of the bathroom, you practically had to perch on the edge of the loo to use it. Some reviews said it was noisy at night - we overlooked the street and yes, there was some noise, but we found it quite atmospheric, and we wouldn't have expected peace and quite in such a buzzing part of the city! We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice, though the service was a bit disappointing. I loved the breakfast, which was a strange collection of foods including pancakes with honey, croissants, yoghurt, orange juice and bread, bought in elaborate, tiny courses, but I wouldn't recommend eating on the terrace as the wasps drove us crazy! The view from the terrace in the early evening is stunning, with ample photo opportunities of the sun setting behind the Koutoubia Mosque.

One of the highlights of our holiday was a daytrip to Essaouira, booked through the riad. It was much cheaper than any of the big travel companies was offering, and great if (like us) you don't really want to be talked at all day. Far from being talked at and dragged around obligatory sites, we were dropped in the middle of Essaouira and asked when we wanted to be picked up again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford_Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This Riad was chosen from the internet so never quite sure. They arranged the taxi transfer from the airport which we found very helpful. We were greeted by the informative and helpful Mohammed who proved to be a source of knowledge. In fact all staff were always courteous and helpful. Very charming and clean with good beds. We used this riad as our base during our tour of Morocco and stayed in three rooms all with outside window which is a preference worth asking for. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is excellent value and they are always happy to serve extra coffee at no charge should it be required, nice quiet start to the day. This Riad proved to be very good value and we would certainly use again, clean friendly and a great location, 2 minutes from the square.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#394 of 500 in Marrakech
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#105 of 500 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#271 of 500 in Marrakech
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#304 of 500 in Marrakech
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
918 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Zaitoune
#136 of 311 in Marrakech
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $48 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing