We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jnane Mogador
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$455
$308
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$593
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$425
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
164
210
65
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
210
65
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main squarejemaa elrooms are smallauthentic moroccan feelhot waterstayed here for nightstop floorfew minutes walkfirst floornice riadrooftop terraceyogurttaginehammammedinamorocco
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 482 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this riad based on recommendations on Trip Advisor and price. From what I've seen and heard from other people it's a pretty standard riad - a handful of rooms surrounding a courtyard in traditional Moroccan style - but it's excellent value and the location, a couple of minutes' walk from the main square and within walking distance of most of the main attractions, can't be faulted. Booking was a bit of a hassle - an elaborate system of transferring money via Western Union and sending a series of anxious emails to check it had actually been received, then arriving in Morocco and wondering if we did in fact have somewhere to stay or had been the victims of a not-very-elaborate scam - but we needn't have worried! I personally wouldn't recommend pre-booking a taxi from the airport through the riad in advance, which dropped us off on the edge of the main square then handed us over to a chap with a wheelbarrow who wheeled our bags to the riad via an unnecessarily elaborate route as we trotted behind, before asking us for money. In fact the riad is very close to the square, down a little road in the corner, and fairly easy to find.

The rooms were pretty and perfectly comfortable, with good wifi access. The shower was also surprisingly good, given that, due to the layout of the bathroom, you practically had to perch on the edge of the loo to use it. Some reviews said it was noisy at night - we overlooked the street and yes, there was some noise, but we found it quite atmospheric, and we wouldn't have expected peace and quite in such a buzzing part of the city! We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice, though the service was a bit disappointing. I loved the breakfast, which was a strange collection of foods including pancakes with honey, croissants, yoghurt, orange juice and bread, bought in elaborate, tiny courses, but I wouldn't recommend eating on the terrace as the wasps drove us crazy! The view from the terrace in the early evening is stunning, with ample photo opportunities of the sun setting behind the Koutoubia Mosque.

One of the highlights of our holiday was a daytrip to Essaouira, booked through the riad. It was much cheaper than any of the big travel companies was offering, and great if (like us) you don't really want to be talked at all day. Far from being talked at and dragged around obligatory sites, we were dropped in the middle of Essaouira and asked when we wanted to be picked up again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford_Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This Riad was chosen from the internet so never quite sure. They arranged the taxi transfer from the airport which we found very helpful. We were greeted by the informative and helpful Mohammed who proved to be a source of knowledge. In fact all staff were always courteous and helpful. Very charming and clean with good beds. We used this riad as our base during our tour of Morocco and stayed in three rooms all with outside window which is a preference worth asking for. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is excellent value and they are always happy to serve extra coffee at no charge should it be required, nice quiet start to the day. This Riad proved to be very good value and we would certainly use again, clean friendly and a great location, 2 minutes from the square.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is a beautiful building, with nice internal courtyard, lovely terraces and the traditional decor is delightful. Our room on the 2nd floor, with windows onto the street was roomy and we were able to get a nice breeze going. It was a little noisy for a short time at night, but we prefer to have the windows open so are prepared to live with that. Others in our party had a room with window only onto the courtyard and it was like an oven. They had to have the fan on all night long and it was still very hot - this was in September. The breakfast was unusual, but we enjoyed the adventure each morning and found the staff charming. The roof terrace was our favourite spot for late afternoons (we were able to have our BYO happy hour there) and watch the sunset and listen to the evening calls to prayer.
The location to Djeema el Fna was ideal, and it was so easy to find our way around after the first day. We didn't use the Hammam but spoke to guests who did and found it excellent.
Our bathroom was the only drawback. The shower was tiny and the shower curtain too short in length to be much use and the towels were inferior. But we had not complaints about the bed.
Yes, if I ever went back to Marrakech I would stay here again and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors with rooms onto the street are cooler.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful authentic raid, just one minute walking from the famous square Djema el-Fna. Rooms on the upper floors are very quiet, clean and nicely decorated. Good bedside lights are provided. Hot shower available, but Sometimes the shower is only lukewarm water. Some rooms have windows facing the inner-court, have windows facing the street. All rooms are facing a nice green and with mosaic decorated inner-court. Breakfast (40dirham) is served on the roof terrace. The kitchen also provides lunch and dinner. The riad has a hammam in the basement. Good wifi available thoughout the whole riad. Very friendly and English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukvandePetteflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After having heard good reports about Jnane Magador this was a very disappointing experience and did not match up to our stay in another riad in the city, for which we paid less and were far more impressed with. The rooms are clean but after having specified at the time of booking that we wanted a double bed, we were given two iron framed beds which didn´t make for very comfortable nights sleep: one of the worst beds we have ever slept in. No air conditioning, a very noisy fan and as our room was situated next to the street lots of noise from outside. Although the room was cleaned, our towels weren´t changed and one of which was ripped in the middle. The staff were disinterested and not very easy to approach although they did manage to organise a taxi to the airport for 10 dirham. At the time of booking, I was told breakfast was included but when we were there we were charged 40 dirham each for a breakfast which included terrible coffee and microwave heated bread.

Situation is great but if you want charm,a warm welcome and to feel that you are valued, rather than a bit of an annoyance, then you should definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews