We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnane Mogador
Ranked #175 of 1,168 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this riad based on recommendations on Trip Advisor and price. From what I've seen and heard from other people it's a pretty standard riad - a handful of rooms surrounding a courtyard in traditional Moroccan style - but it's excellent value and the location, a couple of minutes' walk from the main square and within walking distance of most of the main attractions, can't be faulted. Booking was a bit of a hassle - an elaborate system of transferring money via Western Union and sending a series of anxious emails to check it had actually been received, then arriving in Morocco and wondering if we did in fact have somewhere to stay or had been the victims of a not-very-elaborate scam - but we needn't have worried! I personally wouldn't recommend pre-booking a taxi from the airport through the riad in advance, which dropped us off on the edge of the main square then handed us over to a chap with a wheelbarrow who wheeled our bags to the riad via an unnecessarily elaborate route as we trotted behind, before asking us for money. In fact the riad is very close to the square, down a little road in the corner, and fairly easy to find.

The rooms were pretty and perfectly comfortable, with good wifi access. The shower was also surprisingly good, given that, due to the layout of the bathroom, you practically had to perch on the edge of the loo to use it. Some reviews said it was noisy at night - we overlooked the street and yes, there was some noise, but we found it quite atmospheric, and we wouldn't have expected peace and quite in such a buzzing part of the city! We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice, though the service was a bit disappointing. I loved the breakfast, which was a strange collection of foods including pancakes with honey, croissants, yoghurt, orange juice and bread, bought in elaborate, tiny courses, but I wouldn't recommend eating on the terrace as the wasps drove us crazy! The view from the terrace in the early evening is stunning, with ample photo opportunities of the sun setting behind the Koutoubia Mosque.

One of the highlights of our holiday was a daytrip to Essaouira, booked through the riad. It was much cheaper than any of the big travel companies was offering, and great if (like us) you don't really want to be talked at all day. Far from being talked at and dragged around obligatory sites, we were dropped in the middle of Essaouira and asked when we wanted to be picked up again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford_Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

This Riad was chosen from the internet so never quite sure. They arranged the taxi transfer from the airport which we found very helpful. We were greeted by the informative and helpful Mohammed who proved to be a source of knowledge. In fact all staff were always courteous and helpful. Very charming and clean with good beds. We used this riad as our base during our tour of Morocco and stayed in three rooms all with outside window which is a preference worth asking for. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is excellent value and they are always happy to serve extra coffee at no charge should it be required, nice quiet start to the day. This Riad proved to be very good value and we would certainly use again, clean friendly and a great location, 2 minutes from the square.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is a beautiful building, with nice internal courtyard, lovely terraces and the traditional decor is delightful. Our room on the 2nd floor, with windows onto the street was roomy and we were able to get a nice breeze going. It was a little noisy for a short time at night, but we prefer to have the windows open so are prepared to live with that. Others in our party had a room with window only onto the courtyard and it was like an oven. They had to have the fan on all night long and it was still very hot - this was in September. The breakfast was unusual, but we enjoyed the adventure each morning and found the staff charming. The roof terrace was our favourite spot for late afternoons (we were able to have our BYO happy hour there) and watch the sunset and listen to the evening calls to prayer.
The location to Djeema el Fna was ideal, and it was so easy to find our way around after the first day. We didn't use the Hammam but spoke to guests who did and found it excellent.
Our bathroom was the only drawback. The shower was tiny and the shower curtain too short in length to be much use and the towels were inferior. But we had not complaints about the bed.
Yes, if I ever went back to Marrakech I would stay here again and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors with rooms onto the street are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful authentic raid, just one minute walking from the famous square Djema el-Fna. Rooms on the upper floors are very quiet, clean and nicely decorated. Good bedside lights are provided. Hot shower available, but Sometimes the shower is only lukewarm water. Some rooms have windows facing the inner-court, have windows facing the street. All rooms are facing a nice green and with mosaic decorated inner-court. Breakfast (40dirham) is served on the roof terrace. The kitchen also provides lunch and dinner. The riad has a hammam in the basement. Good wifi available thoughout the whole riad. Very friendly and English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukvandePetteflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After having heard good reports about Jnane Magador this was a very disappointing experience and did not match up to our stay in another riad in the city, for which we paid less and were far more impressed with. The rooms are clean but after having specified at the time of booking that we wanted a double bed, we were given two iron framed beds which didn´t make for very comfortable nights sleep: one of the worst beds we have ever slept in. No air conditioning, a very noisy fan and as our room was situated next to the street lots of noise from outside. Although the room was cleaned, our towels weren´t changed and one of which was ripped in the middle. The staff were disinterested and not very easy to approach although they did manage to organise a taxi to the airport for 10 dirham. At the time of booking, I was told breakfast was included but when we were there we were charged 40 dirham each for a breakfast which included terrible coffee and microwave heated bread.

Situation is great but if you want charm,a warm welcome and to feel that you are valued, rather than a bit of an annoyance, then you should definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Enjoyed our time here. Very nicely done and cleand and tidy. Good size rooms. Good big breakfast (not included in room price though). Fans only in room so very hot in July but this is Marrakech! Some of the fixtured e.g. shower bracket were broken but nothing that would really spoil things. Staff could do with being a bit more cheery!!!

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on upper floors will be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briarbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having stayed in three riads in total during our holiday in Morocco, I can easily say that this was the best value for money - and the most convenient in Marrakesh. It is located minutes from the main square, and on a brightly lit, safe, and welcoming path. Unlike other more expensive riads we stayed in this was perhaps in one of the most central and safest places. I would highly recommend it. Alternatively, if you do not want to stay here for all of your time in Marrakesh, I would at least strongly suggest spending a night or so just finding your bearings here.

It is also well worth noting that the riad is south of the jemaa el fna which enables one to enter the souq-shopping-district from the bottom, working your way up to the top (as it is recommended in many guide books.) The riad is also close to many good restaurants and the owners are happy to advise you on things to see and do, places to eat and even hand out maps of Marrakesh. The owner went to far as to tell us the departure times of the coach we needed for the next leg of our holiday. Excellent service for the price!

The riad itself and the rooms are very clean, albeit the bathrooms a little small. We were given new towels every day, and rooms were cleaned regularly. If visiting the riad during the summer months (we stayed in July) I would recommend asking for rooms not on the ground floor as they appear to have windows into the riad rather than facing outward - which make it very warm. We found the breakfast (priced at 40dh) wasn't to our liking - the bread was slightly stale, and the scrambled eggs watery, but the hospitality was lovely.

The service, the price and the location of this riad is, we felt, unbeatable. I cannot stress enough how important it is to find a riad in a good, safe, and easy to find location - and this riad definitely ticks it all. The staff were so accommodating that we were even able to take a nap in the 'lounge' area before we caught our coach. Thank you, Jnane Mogador!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#106 of 501 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#212 of 501 in Marrakech
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#48 of 501 in Marrakech
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#350 of 501 in Marrakech
101 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#315 of 501 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,168 in Marrakech
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 1,168 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $43 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing