We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Tchaikana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Tchaikana
Ranked #86 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

After traveling in Morocco for 3 weeks we voted Tchaikana as the best Riad for the complete experience- great location, delightful building and central courtyard with orange trees and bougainvillea, helpful staff and owners willing to share their local knowledge. The evening aperatives hour was a great way for guests to meet and share their travel experiences. We found our way home each night thanks to Attica's guidance on our day of arrival.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Correa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
139
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

So, dear reader, there we were stuck in Marakesh due to invisible undectable but inimical ash particles. Don't get me wrong Marakesh is lovely but these were trying circumstances and really we needed to be elsewhere.

The Riad is marvellous and so are the staff as all the other reviews will tell you. What they won't tell you is how gracious under pressure your host will be. Jean Francois came up trumps. He allayed worries, provided good advice, good beer and some of the worst jokes to ever afflict mankind, in a multitude of languages. He effortlessly shifted people around, juggling new bookings, cancelled bookings, people like us who decided it was a holiday and disappeared off to the seaside for a few days leaving all our luggage there. Seeing how cream crackered we were one evening he got the staff to knock up a light and yumscrumptious meal for us even though there appeared to be nothing in the fridge.

As we moved between the rooms we got to experience them all, bar one, and they are all different. Neatly kitted out with kisch and kibble. Fun and with good beds.

And yes dear reader we did indeed have a night in a room with a canoe.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_and_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

After traveling to four continents, I can easily say that this was one of my favorite places to stay. It is not just a riad, it truly is an experience in itself. The introduction that J.F. gives you to Marrakech is indispensable. The meals, atmosphere, bed, service and conversation were by far a highlight on our trip. After leaving Tchaikana we went to the Sahara. When we returned we stayed for a few nights in the Gueliz (new town). I longed to be back at Tchaikana where the atmosphere reflected the heart and soul of Morocco. Don't be afraid of the dark alleyway in the middle of the medina. This is the adventure you desire! Make sure you book dinner here in advance. For us, it was one of the best meals we had in Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Overall amazing! Tchaikana will not disappoint from the moment you arrive until you depart. The well trained staff, including Fatima and Abdul, are extremely personable and accommodating. Food is delicious. Decor is very chic and really well done. The proprietor, Jean Francois, is a great host, who does not hesitate to share his vast knowledge of Marrakech to assist in the success of your trip. He takes the time to get to know his guests and is a master at encouraging and engaging his guests to share in the experience of the riad. (He also gives great departing hugs!). This riad is not just a lodging but a truly fantastic experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhgerhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

I cannot recommend this riad highly enough. The riad is lovingly and beautifully decorated in the heart of Marrakesh's medina. I stayed there on my own as I was in town for a birthday party. Jean was such an amazing host and did everything he could to make my stay wonderful. He gave me wonderful suggestions for hammams and restaurants and organized transport for me to and from events for the birthday party I attended. As a woman travelling on my own, I was initially worried about walking around the medina by myself, but everything went smoothly and Jean did his best to allay any fears. He is obviously extremely committed to the riad and ensuring that guests enjoy not only their accomodations, but Morocco. In the future, this riad will always be my riad of choice in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

I cant recommend Tchaikana highly enough. I must say it was one of the most flawless travel experiences I have had. The guest house is a period building lovingly restored by its owner (Jean) who is a most fabulous, knowledgeable, helpful and fun host.

It is off the beaten path which some reviews have noted as a detraction. For us this added to its allure. Sure, it was a little challenging the first evening negotioating the narrow paths leading towards it doors but we soon had it down. The local kids are always keen to help you find your way anyway.

So anyway, its fantastic. Stay there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsieur_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

excellent host with hand-picked very helpful staff. rooms large, clean and quiet. we were guided to the city, adviced on where to go and what to look out for. got help to plane the rest of out trip in morocco which made it an amazing one. Would recommend it blindly to anyone that wants to stay in a homely riad in the heart of the medina.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nolita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riyad Al Moussika
Riyad Al Moussika
#247 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#82 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#223 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maison Mnabha
Maison Mnabha
#543 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#197 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#392 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Property: Dar Tchaikana
Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing