We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tchaikana
Ranked #92 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tchaikana

Arriving at Tchaikana, after reading an amazing review, exceeded expectations . I didn't expect a Riad located within the main souk to be so light, & peaceful. Tchaikana manages to maintain the authenticity of a traditional riad, with warmly scented orange tress providing a shady canopy within the heart of the riad,home made cakes, mint tea and gentle friendly smiling staff. With its stylish minimalist designs of carved dark wood objects against, cool stone white washed walls covered with beautiful photography, all goes to provide a complimentary chic contrast and a feeling like you have stumbled accidentally across some bohemian place to be.

Make sure you stay in for Attika's amazing cooking and spend a lazy afternoon in the sunshine on the terrace.

Tchaikana is a place I would recommended although I wish I could keep it as my secret getaway :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
133
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've just returned from an amazing week long stay at the Rhiad Tchaikana over the february half term break. We consisted of a group of 4 girls in their twenties. We were really impressed with the traditional yet modern decor, spacious rooms and beautiful touches throughout the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms had beautiful touches like the black morrocan soap, orange blossom moisturiser and this dry mud stuff which you could mix with water to make a face mask or body scrub.
From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Barbara to organise for us. We arrived to a delicious 3 course meal in the evening for 15 euros, consisiting of soup, lamb tagine (with the most gorgeous stuffed peaches with almonds and dates) cous cous and freshly baked bread, followed by creme caramel.
In fact, we ended up eating at the Rhiad 4 out of the 7 nights we stayed simply because the food was so beautiful. (They would take hours to prepare and cook the meals during the day, unlike the restaurants who make even the tagines as quickly as possible) We also ate at the Cafe Arab and the night market.
Barbara organised for us to take a day trip to the coast, a trip to the Atlas mountains to eat in a Berber village, a camel trek near the mountains, a traditional Hamman nearby and an amazing cookery class at Le Maison Arabe. The cookery class was 600 Dirham, but well worth it, as we went to a spice shop and were taught so much, then ate our dishes, recieved the recipes and best of all were given a gift at the end- A TAGINE FOR 2!!
We were all incredibly sad to leave, especially as we'd grown incredibly fond of Bushra. (I hope I spelt her name correctly) She's been working there for 8 years or so, and made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Yuba room with a friend. It was beautiful. There was a double bed and a single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tchaikana for 3 days this February. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a lady called Baboush who was fantastic and very helpful. She gave us some great advice and walked us to the restaurant so that we would not get lost on the first evening. The owner (Barbara) helped us navigate our way around Marrakech and was more than happy to drop everything if we got lost in the Souks!! Barbara was also a great source of knowledge for restaurants, highlights in Marrakech and local spa's. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone and have already recommended to my close friends. We loved it so much that we are taking our family back there next year and have already booked!!

Room Tip: We thought the rooms upstairs in the Riad were lovely but to be honest, all of them were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewisroberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at Dar Tchaikana in the middle of the night after weeks of traveling and as soon as we walked in we knew that we came to the right place. The moment we stepped into the Riad there was a instant sense of calmness. We stayed in the Yuba room and were not disappointed! The room was immaculate. The owner Barbara has exceptional style which is seen throughout the riad (the pictures don't lie).

Beyond the room we enjoyed the daily breakfast which included delicious homemade chocolate cake, traditional pancakes, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had dinner at the Riad several nights and all I can say is - delicious! We ate outside the riad but hands down nothing compared to the home cooked meals prepared by the wonderful staff of Tchaikana. That coupled with the beautiful surroundings of the riad made each meal memorable.

But what really set Tchaikana apart was the attention and service provided by Barbara and her staff. From day one Barbara met with us to help plan out our trip/activities. She even walked us into the Souk on our first day to make sure we knew the way. She also met with us each morning to help make reservations for that day or just to ensure that we were finding things alright. Her recommendations were flawless - everything from lunch to hammamas to museums to day trips - everything was spot on and well organized. She was even so kind as to give us a recommendation of a restaurant in Toulouse France which was our next stop and was even willing to call and make the reservation. Even that meal was outstanding!

We can't say enough about Dar Tchaikana, it was the perfect place to come back to after a hectic day in the Souks or just exploring Marrakech. The staff was extremely helpful and kind and Barbara was a fantastic host. We can wait to go back and will be dreaming of our return until then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understated elegance in this authentic renovated hotel. An oasis from hectic medina with lovely staff and fresh mint tea anytime.
As with every riad in the medina, it is hard to find, however staff have been helpful and could pick you up from restaurants or take you to the main square. Rooms are very unique and individual so it feels more like staying in someone's house rather than a hotel, which was great to experience. I did not try the food there but it did look delicious, however we did get recommendations for the best restaurants in town.
Good value for money as well. Breakfast was lovely, Fatima's pancakes and fresh coffee. BOOK now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Churrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tchaikana is a peaceful retreat from the busyness of the streets of Marrakech. Barbara was a very welcoming and helpful host - she helped us navigate the medina and also helped us with our travel arrangements. The rest of the staff were also very welcoming and helpful.

If you are staying at a good Riad in Morocco, do yourself a favour and eat in. Not only is it quiet and peaceful, but you can taste delicious traditional food cooked by locals. We had dinner twice at Tchaikana and it was fantastic. Breakfasts, served on the rooftop, included fresh orange juice and local breads.

We hope to return some day. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holden_C_Spritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this haven of tranquility in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Barabara, the owner, her husband Jean - Louis and the team of staff go out of their way to provide an exceptional standard of service, which is discreet and very much led by the guest. The riad has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, with simple but stylish rooms, a cool courtyard with orange and tangerine trees where you can relax on comfortable couches and evening meals are served and a roof garden with stunning views to the Atlas mountains where breakfast is served. The website is accurate and gives an real 'feel' for the atmosphere and facilities, down to the fabulous cakes which were served each day. We are already planning a return visit with friends - what more can I say!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiletteScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#139 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Meriem
Riad Meriem
#238 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Lalla
Casa Lalla
#246 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#223 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#86 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#22 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Property: Dar Tchaikana
Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing