We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Understated elegance and real Moroccan-chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tchaikana
Ranked #111 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Understated elegance and real Moroccan-chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understated elegance in this authentic renovated hotel. An oasis from hectic medina with lovely staff and fresh mint tea anytime.
As with every riad in the medina, it is hard to find, however staff have been helpful and could pick you up from restaurants or take you to the main square. Rooms are very unique and individual so it feels more like staying in someone's house rather than a hotel, which was great to experience. I did not try the food there but it did look delicious, however we did get recommendations for the best restaurants in town.
Good value for money as well. Breakfast was lovely, Fatima's pancakes and fresh coffee. BOOK now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Churrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tchaikana is a peaceful retreat from the busyness of the streets of Marrakech. Barbara was a very welcoming and helpful host - she helped us navigate the medina and also helped us with our travel arrangements. The rest of the staff were also very welcoming and helpful.

If you are staying at a good Riad in Morocco, do yourself a favour and eat in. Not only is it quiet and peaceful, but you can taste delicious traditional food cooked by locals. We had dinner twice at Tchaikana and it was fantastic. Breakfasts, served on the rooftop, included fresh orange juice and local breads.

We hope to return some day. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holden_C_Spritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this haven of tranquility in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Barabara, the owner, her husband Jean - Louis and the team of staff go out of their way to provide an exceptional standard of service, which is discreet and very much led by the guest. The riad has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, with simple but stylish rooms, a cool courtyard with orange and tangerine trees where you can relax on comfortable couches and evening meals are served and a roof garden with stunning views to the Atlas mountains where breakfast is served. The website is accurate and gives an real 'feel' for the atmosphere and facilities, down to the fabulous cakes which were served each day. We are already planning a return visit with friends - what more can I say!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiletteScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Tchaikana takes pride in offering a great service tailored to individual needs. A real desire
to understand a clients interests is hard to find and the owners and staff at the Tchaikana simply make it all work for you. Relaxed, friendly and knowledgable - the team provides a great support in a challenging city. Clean modern design and simple home cooking are further additions that make this Riad a quality solution in Marrakech. Thanks to you all for making our visit a successful one.

Room Tip: Although all of the rooms are very nice, the suites are more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent here 3 nights. Everything was well managed, transportation, dinner, rooms, excursions... Barbara, the owner, and all entourage at the riad is special in helping you to really enjoy the time there. Since the first contact by e-mail to make the reservation and to arrange the trip Barbara was very kind in giving all the information and the reassurances we needed, then once arrived she showed the key point of references to visit the souk without getting lost. The only single weak point is the tiny allay to reach the riad...once inside is really a beautiful and peaceful place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AeM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Very clean. Very stylish. We had a beautiful room with an old canoe suspended from the ceiling (sounds random but was v cool). In a good location, but 15 mins walk from the big square. Only small hiccup was no air conditioning (we were supplied with a big portable fan). The owner Barbara (and all her staff) very friendly, helpful and personable. Would recommend and would go back :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Riad Tchaikana. Photos cannot capture the amazingly calm and friendly atmoshere of the Riad after a day spent in the craziness of the Medina. Nothing was too much trouble for Barbara and her staff, from booking restaurants (especially recomend the restaurant in the Berber village) and drivers
to showing a genuine interest in the things we had discovered during the day. We enjoyed chatting with the friendly staff which enabled us to have a more personal insight into eveyday life in Morrocco.We stayed in the nomad suite which is large airy and tastefully decorated.We will recommend Tchaikana to anyone planning on travelling to Marrakech.Thankyou for making our visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riyad Al Moussika
Riyad Al Moussika
#218 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#229 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#175 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Property: Dar Tchaikana
Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing