We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for 2 nights, stayed for 8!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tchaikana
Ranked #108 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked for 2 nights, stayed for 8!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a superb riad. It really felt like a home away from home. Barbara and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful with advice on Marrakech and surrounding areas. The rooms are all incredible, the breakfast each morning was always a delight and the dinner cooked for us on our first night remained the best meal we had throughout our time in Morocco. We have been and will continue to recommend Tchaikana to anyone planning on travelling to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Kinhasa room was by far our favourite and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I really loved my stay at the Dar Tchaikana. Barbara who owns the hotel takes each new arrival through the Medina and shows them around. This is a very lovely personal touch. All the staff are warm and help where they can. They know all the cool places in Marrakech and helped us figure out what do do while we were there. All their suggestions were gold. The breakfast on the roof terrace is yummy and the rooms are chic, large and beautifully decorated. A quiet oasis in a bustling town. It is run by an all female team and feels very secure and safe.

I happened to forget my phone and the staff deftly helped send it back by hand via a trusted friend. I can't say enough how grateful I was with how this was resolved. It topped off what was a fantastic stay. Even though I was back home they still treated me like an honored guest and made sure that my phone also got home safely. A very special touch.

I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vivien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were staying 2 nights & we enjoyed every bit of it! Wounderful relaxing atmosphere. Barbara and her husband have not only made sure that we felt comfortable but in fact helped us tremendously to plan our trip - calling hotels and checking web sites for us. Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this riad on a friend's very strong recommendation, based on his experience under a previous manager.

Thank goodness we did! It was our first trip to Morocco and we were not very well prepared, but the owners, Barbara and Jean-Louis, and thier manager Bouchra saved us with amazing help and advice during our five-night stay with them. Nothing was too much trouble. As well as day-trips, transfers and local restaurants, they arranged and booked for us a wonderful six-day onward trip across the Atlas mountains and in to the desert, complete with overnight stops and meals. We have no direct experience of the previous manager, but I can't imagine anything better than the new top-team.

The Riad itself is lovely: a cool, quiet, comfortable and relaxed oasis in the heart of the medina. Barbara gave us a guided tour to the main square with very clear (and essential) pointers to landmarks so we could find our way back, and we had an excellent meal in the riad on our first night (highly recommended). All the staff are excellent; there's a lovely breakfast each day either in the courtyard or on the roof terrace, and we were welcomed with tea, cold drinks and nibbles when we arrived back from the heat and bustle of the medina in the evening.

Thank you Barbara. Thank you Bouchra. Outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the nomade suite during our honeymoon at the end of April.
Tchaikana certainly lived up to our expectations. We immediately felt at ease when we arrived and were welcomed by a member of staff, we were shown to our room which was by far the most beautiful and grande room in which we've ever stayed, it was magnificent. We wished we could have stayed for longer than 2 nights and we would love to return. A peaceful paradise! Thank you.

Room Tip: The nomade suite is unbelieveable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RHyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

One would never suspect that this riad exists in the hustle and bustle of the medina. The rooms were comfortable and lovely with room to sit and relax. Even nicer is the courtyard with orange trees, songbirds and comfy seating. The ambient temperature was so much cooler than the Jemaa and the souks.
A friend had recommended the riad. We were so looking forward to meeting the charming Jean-Francois. We were unaware that there was a new owner; Barbara was lovely. Just wish we had been advised of the change in ownership. Her staff is wonderful too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarbA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in Riad Tchaikana for three nights after trekking in the Atlas mountains, and it was a perfect relaxing end to our holiday in Morocco. All staff were very friendly, and we ate some great food in the beautifully lit courtyard, surrounded by orange trees and chirping birds.

The location (once found for the first time) is very handy, with Djemaa el Fna and the souk not far away.

The whole ambience is incredibly relaxing, and I would definitely return!
Anita

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank AnitaSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#214 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#227 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Magellan
Riad Magellan
#69 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#92 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#139 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#10 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Property: Dar Tchaikana
Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing