We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little gem”
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Soukaina
Ranked #201 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“nice little gem”
Reviewed April 12, 2009

For the 3th time in 4 years we stayed at Dar Soukaina . We always like to end our trip through Morocco in this peacefull and tranquil little gem. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, great breakfast and above all a discreet, friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    44
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
87
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Our family of 4 adults stayed for 4 nights in the 2nd week of March using 2 rooms overlooking the courtyard. This Riad is in the northern part of the Medina. It was quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts (included in the tariff) were a delight. Staff were very friendly and helpful for our stay and in booking our stay. Highly recommended for location, service and value for price. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Dar Soukaina is wonderful. My husband and I stayed there on February 12 & 13 and it was the best place we stayed during our nine day trip, from the quality of the accommodations, the service, the location, and the food. It is only a 10 minute walk to the heart of the Medina, yet you are in a side street and hear only the sound of birds at night. The service was great; the caretakers were very friendly and service-oriented. We stayed in a room on the first floor, and it was romantic and spotlessly clean. The price was reasonable, compared to other riads. I would recommend this riad and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Dar Soukaina is a lovely little Riad, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and Djamaa El Fna but close enough to never feel out of the action. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but it is the staff that really make the place. It was so nice to come back after a day's haggling and sit down to some mint tea or fresh orange juice. Breakfast was nice and we also had dinner there, which was great as well. We had to leave early for a tour, before breakfast is usually served and they were very accomodation, offering to make us breakfast at 7.00 instead of 8.00. I can't fault this place. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenza2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXON
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We are a familly, and we already stayed at Dar Soukaina last year, and because we enjoyed our stay, we realy love to return back this year.
We appreciate the high level of their service, the staff provide the most amasing and friendly service, we can access to internet which I use now to do this, the property is also wonderful, its location is excellant in the midle of the Médina at some few minutes to the main square. It is a oasis of tranquility,
small and simple and very clain.
I highly recommand it, we will certaily stay at dar Soukaina next year.

  • Liked — Breakfast, service
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coolmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Just a quick note to say what a great place to stay. Very pretty small rooms and really helpful staff. Based in the North of the Souks its in a perfect place away from the mayhem!

One tip we would give is to get yourselves a guide for the day, we have the contact details of one who was brilliant if anyone is interested.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — no toilet door!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bentegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This was the highlight of our trip all around Morocco. The staff were so friendly and always on hand to attend to any of our needs. The riad was beautiful and there is lots of attention to detail in the interior furnishings in all the rooms. We ended up spending all our time in Marrakesh buying things we had in our room!
The breakfast was the best we had in Morocco - not full of croissants and pastries, but hand cut fruit, hand made bread and yoghurt and yummy muesli. They give complimentary water and soft drinks, coffee and tea.
It is a 20-30 min walk from Djenna el Fna but we enjoyed being away from the chaos and hustle and bustle.
We would definitely come back here if in Marrakesh again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Narlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#214 of 499 in Marrakech
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#247 of 499 in Marrakech
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#199 of 499 in Marrakech
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#245 of 499 in Marrakech
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Property: Dar Soukaina
Address: No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Soukaina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing