We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A perfect retreat from the hustle & bustle of the city.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Soukaina
Ranked #201 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat from the hustle & bustle of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Rashid & Fatima made us feel very welcome during our 1 week stay. The riad is utterly gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful & comfy, the terrace is such a bonus & we would go back there in a heartbeat.
Great value for money and only 10mins walk to Jmar el Fnaa square through the streets of the medina.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniemc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
80
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

There are no words to discribe how injoyable our stay was at Dar Soukaina, The kind staff and beautiful surroundings offered a welcome oasis from the chaos of the medina. We have had a magikal time in this gorgeous Riad.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chacun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fourth time in 7 years we visited Marrakech and for the fourth time we stayed in Dar Soukaina.
I can not see a single reason why we should change by our next visit.Hospitallity,service, bed quality, breakfast all of high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wimAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a great time. The staff was super friendly, I the rooms spacious and luxurious, always clean and cool. Some rooms had more privacy than others, but the other guests were very friendly too. The courtyard is beautiful, well equipped for resting and even better for chatting with friends. All in all, a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Some rooms have more sound insulation than others so ask about it if that's a concern; the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

In the midst of the busy souks of Marrakech, Dar Soukaina was a wonderful find for my father and I on our first trip to Morocco.
Greeted every time you walk in by the exceptionally friendly, courteous and knowledgeable staff (who spoke fluent English)- enjoy afternoon tea in the lovely calm, quiet courtyard or cool off by dipping your feet in the (small) wading pool, or enjoy a book on the rooftop lounge under traditional Moroccan tents.
The staff (Rashid and Abdullah) catered to our every need- offering drinks and snacks when we arrived back in the afternoon, arranged tours, ran errands and offered wonderful suggestions to make our trip well rounded and enjoyable.
A full breakfast was made to order every morning and served in the courtyard.
Our room featured high ceilings, exposed beams, overlooked the courtyard with a comfortable window seat to lounge. The heated bathroom floor was a unexpected treat! Beds were very comfortable and were made up each day with fresh, ironed linens.
Overall the room and entire riad felt extremely safe and secure.
Noticing my slight disability (due to a healing broken foot) Omar, the manager, was thoughtful and arranged a special excursion with my limitations in mind.
We recommend Dar Soukaina without hesitation and will certainly be back!!
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank capebob02638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

My friend and I were two women traveling on our own in Morocco. This place provided a safe, warm (in care), and relaxing environment after long days of negotiating the streets of the Medina. They were very helpful and friendly, providing good travel advice and relaxing mint tea at any hour. Sure there are luxury hotels in the new city - but Dar Soukaina really lived up to the tradition of the Riad. It felt like you were staying in a pristine family home with the best of hosts!

Room Tip: They serve early breakfast inside to avoid the noise that other Riads struggle with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My giirlfriend and I stayed at Dar Soukina for 7 nights over a period of 14 days. We were delighted by the peace and calmness of this traditional Moraccan house. The staff were wonderfully helpful and made us feel welcomed guests. We travelled out of Marrakech on a number of occasions, always leaving kit ( and laundry) at the Dar. On our return our room had been readied, our laundry put away and we were welcomed back like family.

Breakfast was a joy, especially the fresh bread rolls, baked every day, the orange juice and the coffe (the best we had during our stay in Morocco).

Our room was warm during the chill nights and cool during the warm days. And the shower took care of the Marrakech grime.

A lovely experience, one we are already looking forward to repeating.

Room Tip: Forget the airport transfer -go by taxi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_Chandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#256 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#129 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#222 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#254 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#209 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#171 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Property: Dar Soukaina
Address: No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Soukaina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing