We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, great location, ambeince could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Mouassine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Mouassine
Ranked #375 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great location, ambeince could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our Morocco trip and wanted to finish on a high note. Its in a perfect location for souks and square, and central medina, and tucked away down a few alleys so really nice and quiet. The bedrooms were wonderful (we stayed in Suite Cardamone), and the courtyard very tranquil with lots of greenery. The dipping pool is lovely as its away from the central courtyard and down a passageway, giving privacy. Its also deep enough for a proper dip rather than just a toe dangle. Breakfast up on the terrace was delicious (one of the better we've had in Marrakech) and we ate dinner one evening which was cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There were a couple of slight negatives. First, there was maintenance work going on each day, both up on the terrace and around the dipping pool. This meant that relaxing in these areas was just not really possible, although the workers were being as discreet as they could. There were piles of rubble everywhere, and it really spoiled the atmosphere. I do understand the difficulty of keeping these old buildings maintained, but it was still a shame. Perhaps it would have been nice to be forewarned.

Our room was also not the cleanest, with several hairs all over the place and other things that did not belong to us.

The other disappointing thing was the ambience. In other riads we've stayed in (5 more now) the public rooms are usually lit up nicely, inviting and sometimes with music in the background. At Dar Mouassine the public rooms (i.e. the salon, library etc) were kept totally dark, we didn't even know if we could go in them. And sometimes the place felt totally deserted with the usual 'house manager' not being around.

This is a shame as the place is lovely and has the potential to be up there with the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    17
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Canelle Suite. It was so beautiful. The owners and staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the roof top sitting area was lovely. We chose to spend our last day jsut relaxing at the Riad enjoying the calm. It is so well situated for exploring the old city and the Place Jamaa el Fna. The food is incredible and the dinner we had at the hotel was the best we had the whole trip. It was also surprisingly quiet, especially for something so close to all the action. I would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney_WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked this reasonably priced and could not have been happier with our stay. Though its perfectly positioned for immediately dipping into the souks, its location and the way it is run makes
it an oasis of calm within the extraordinary intensity of the medina. The room (Salle Cardamon) was beautifully decorated as is the whole riad (the courtyard and roof terrace are great places to eat and relax amongst lush foliage). The staff are very friendly, attentive and charming while the evening meals we had were definitely amongst the best food we had in Morocco. Will return, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked four nights in the Room "Berbère" at this Riad at the end of Aug 2012.

At first we struggled to find something in Marrakech, as there is a countless choice of Riad in this City. However we chose Dar Mouassine thanks to some friends and we didn't regret It any minute. Our Stay was just great !

To sum up:
- This is an old Riad but It is perfectly maintained. It feels good just to stay in the Patio and look at the details on the Walls, the Doors, and with trees just there in the middle.
- Rooms are nicely decorated, big and clean. The washrooms are amazing and beautiful as well. And by the way there is aircon in the Room (newly installed as far as I understood)
- Well located at 5 mns walk from Jemaa el Fna, and very close to the Souks. And stil very quiet.
- Service was good and very helpful. Very well managed.
- There is a small swimming pool, located in the corner of the Riad. If you need to relax and cool down, this is perfect.

Points to improve:
- Breakfast was a bit light and was lacking of imagination.

I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This riad has a genuine hospitality. David and Guy did everything possible to make our holidays confortable and relaxing. They have reccommended nice places to visit and all their recommendation were truly good. The service is really personalized.

The riad itself is clean. There is a nice terrace for sunbathing. This is genuin morrocan riad with a soul. The location is wonderful. It is near the souks, medina and the famouse square and not far from the new city.
We have spent wounderful time. Thank you David and Guy.
Anto and Ali

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTO298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were pleased to find this Riad hidden down a small alley of the medina.

The narrow entrance hallway opens up to a beautiful 3 story courtyard with large plants and a beautiful bougainvillea which reaches all the way to the roof. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated.

What we enjoyed most was the fact that the owner preserved many of the original elements of the riad including some original tiles, doorways and painted ceilings. This was refreshing since so many of Marrakech's renovated riads lose their original charm.

There is also a library and a little pool. There are several charming common spaces. We were not charged for afternoon tea which we had most days or for laundry. The staff was very generous.

If you are looking for classic Moroccan charm and western comforts, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I was there in the month of November and found a beautiful athmosphere! Great deal and best service! Rooms are very well kept, all in Marochian style. Perfect getaway from the confusion of the city. Also, included in the price, they offered me a very nice continental breakfast with fresh local fruits and lots of nice things. On the rooftop there's a nice balcony where you can stay for a nice moment of relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#34 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Zouina
Riad Zouina
#150 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#19 of 276 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#154 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouassine

Property: Dar Mouassine
Address: 148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Mouassine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing