We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, quaint.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Limoun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Limoun
Ranked #807 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rome
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, quaint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for four nights and were almost always the only people aside from Fayid, the manager. It was a fantastic base to use and very well located. Fayid went over the top to help with some bizarre requests on our part in order to make our stay more comfortable, including meeting us upon our arrival to guide us to the hotel. It was very relaxed and felt like a home away from home. It's very clean and quiet duriing the day. Only one thing to add, reading the other reviews I think their credit card machine has been broken for some time so make sure to bring enough cash to cover the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 716falls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in this riad in April 2013 for a total of three nights. The place is located in the very heart of the Medina, within walking distance to most main sights, but isolated from the bustle of Djema el-Fnaa and other crowded places of the old city. Therefore it represents an excellent place both to explore the city, but also to relax and be quiet after an exhausting day in Marrakech.

The riad is supposed to be located in the street Riad Zitoun el Jdid, though these directions are somehow misleading since the place is located in an alley 100 meters away from this street. It is rather easy to find it, but if you arrive to Marrakech late in the evening, arranging a pick-up with the hotel at the airport (20 €) will probably make your life much easier.

The place itself is a nicely Arabic patio with rooms facing the inner yard, plants, colorful tiles, and a very relaxing atmosphere. Young Mohammed, the stuff guy, was very helpful in many ways, and extremely kind. Breakfast was superb: a combination of home made cakes and pancakes, toasts with butter and marmalade, fresh orange juice, fruits and coffee.

Yet, the best of this place is its location. The highly recommended Dar si Said palace and the museum Maison Tiskiouine are both within a 5-min walk from the hotel. Other must see attractions are found within walking distance: Palace Bahia (10 min) and palace el-Badi (15 min) heading south; and Djema el-Fnaa (10 min) the Souks (15 min) and the Marrakech museum and Ben Youssef sites (15-20 min) heading north (if your orientation skills are good enough of course).

A taxi from the riad to the airport should cost less than 100 dirham. We negotiated an 80-dirham fare, though it might be cheaper if the taxi uses the meter, something most taxi drivers are reluctant to do when heading to the airport.

A piece of advice: The riad offers a range of different rooms and prices; it might be worth to spend a few euros more and chose one of the spacious rooms facing the patio. Our room was one of the cheapest, and although it was clean and comfortable, it was a bit small and had a toilette and shower that could use some renovation.

A final comment: there is a kitten in the place. It was lovely to play with him. However, I assume that people allergic to these animals, might not find it that fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hi, We recently spent a week at Dar Limoun. Overall, well worth the price. Great location with a few drawbacks.
1- Bring cash. I booked through hotels.com. They verified that this Riad takes credit cards. I show up and the friendly host Fayid tells me their credit card machine is broken. I ask how long it will be to fix it; he said that it won’t be fixed. This is not accurate. When staying at a hotel in nearby Essouira they had a technician out to fix their credit card machine within hours. So this started the aggravating trek to find a way to get some extra cash in Marrakech. Most ATM’s in the Medina do not accept magnetic strip cards. A hike to the newer section and a helpful security guard later and we had cash in hand.
2- It’s difficult to find. There are signs leading to the alley way it’s on, but once there they had work done to the door and thus hand no sign. It’s a blue door on the right, right next to the collapsed building. There is a girl there throughout the day to open the door for you. If you need any help or directions, email me beank19@hotmail.com .
3- Most of our stay we were the only ones in the Riad. The manager Fayid would bring in friends and family to eat downstairs some evenings. No problem, kids running around etc. One night we were there alone and a young unknown man opens the door and comes in. He goes to the roof top and enters the small computer room. This was a problem and incredibly scary. We knew the hosts there, met families, but for one guy to come in and hang out on his own, not so good. We left and were going to bail to another riad. Upon returning the man was gone and Fayid was there. I told him we were fine with family and friends coming in to visit. Fayid then strangely said that family and friends do not visit. This was within 3 hours of him introducing us to them. I asked about the man. Fayid told me his name and that there is a group of seven managers that share responsibilities between riads. They all have keys and in this case he was just coming in to check on things, use the computer. It would have been nice to know this when we checked in.
4- Toilet paper is scarce in Morocco.
5- There is a mosque about 70 feet from Dar Limoun, bring ear plugs if you are not ok with loud noises early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristianKorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a great weekend in Marrakech, and it was helped greatly by staying at Dar Limoun.

The location just minutes away from djemaa-el-fna couldn't be better, and it is also within walking distance to some amazing palaces.

The standard of finish probably isn't as great as some more expensive riads, but it felt authentic and look beautiful. The terrace/breakfast area was lovely and peaceful, and the roof terrace wonderful - you need to go up during dusk and watch/listen to the bustle of the city and the call to prayer.

Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable, and the bathroom compact but perfectly fine.

The staff did not speak much English (then again, why should they? We should have known more French!) but were very friendly. The owner even let us use his computer to check in to our flight.

I would really recommend staying here if on a budget

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghughes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Myself and my sister stayed in the Dar Limoun in March 2011, and in April 2012 I returned with my husband. It's a lovely, quaint riad, clean and so near to everything, the location is perfect.

Whilst in Marrakesh we went on the tourist bus which was very good, and we visited Tombeaux Saadiens (the entrance fee is very cheap).

We booked two day trips with the Dar Limoun riad owner to Essaouira and Ourika Valley. A very nice young Moroccan man came to the riad to take us to the mini bus. A tip for Ourika Valley: make sure you wear trainers / walking boots, and wear shorts or jeans, not a skirt or dress as there's lots of climbing, so make sure your footwear is decent for climbing! There's quite a lot of walking up rocks, sometimes walking through shallow water, and walking over dodgy / uneven bridges. The trip isn't dreadfully good for the unfit, elderly people or people with walking difficulties. I was going to wear a maxi dress and sandals, but thank goodness I didn't, I wore shorts and borowed a pair of my husbands trainers!

Breakfast in the Dar Limoun is basic, but very nice. There are towels in the bathroom, the bed is comfortable, an there's spare blankets in the wardrobe. The owner of the riad is very nice, and very helpful.

I would definately return to this riad when I next return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had the nice room up on top with easy access to the roof terrace. the room was nice, the duvet excellent. breakfats was okay - the last day we had morroccan bread/pancakes - that helped. service is okay, the woman during the day doesn't speak other than morroccan and didn't want to give us toilet paper when we ran out but the guy that speaks french and some english is very helpful. it is centrally located and the street nearby has shops, small kiosk and in the evening a good cake vendor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel owner was very nice and friendly and even upgraded us to a better room in our second night without charging extra. I think the location was perfect as we were only a couple of minutes walk away from the main square. I really enjoyed my weekend in Marrakech, so much in fact I'm staying here again next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#364 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#148 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#96 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun

Property: Dar Limoun
Address: 25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Limoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Limoun Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing