We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great riad, great location, great value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Limoun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Limoun
Ranked #806 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great riad, great location, great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Me and my sister stayed at the Dar Limoun in March 2011 and had a lovely time. The Dar Limoun is clean, comfortable, and is very central, only taking a few minutes to walk to the square and the souks. We went on two trips whilst staying in Marrakesh, one to Essaouira which was lovely, and Ouarzazate another day, which was lovely, but it's a long, long way to travel and no good for people who don't travel well!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of a ten day stay in Morocco. Typical small Riad with rooms around a courtyard, a sunny roof top terrace and friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and tidy and though the shower room was in need of a bit of "refreshment" it also was clean and worked well-lots of hot water and fresh towels each day.
By no means a luxury destination but fabulous value with a decent breakfast included and,of course, a brilliant location literally two minutes from the Djemm el Fna which is where you want to be in Marrakech.
Will I stay here again? Certainly

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. Excellent location, literally 2 minutes from Jemaa el Fna. Hard to find the first time - turn left just before second overhead stop sign on Dar Zitoun (if heading away from Jemaa el Fna), failing that ask someone but be prepared to pay for their assitance.
The hotel itself is simple but very pretty. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, as with the bathroom. I imagine the rooms are good in summer as they were very cool.
There is a courtyard with seating and an excellent little roof terrace to relax on in the day or night with a table, chairs and cushions.
Breakfast is provided in the morning which we were not expecting and the staff are very welcoming and helpful but generally leave you to get on with it.
The manager Fouad was kind and relaxed and didn't seem bothered when we arrived home pretty late a couple of nights.
We went to a couple of other Riads of friends we met, and Riad Zitoun definately seemed the nicest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldoret, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

There are many fancier, plush (and less Moroccan) places to stay for more money, but Dar Limoun really is close to Djemaa El Fna, is comfortable, super clean, has great staff, has proper bathrooms and cost us ~$40/night for a double B&B. We were pleased with the choice!

Although difficult to find the first couple of times (like everything in any Moroccan medina), it was an island of peace and serenity. The week we were there, the temperatures topped out over 50degC (that's in excess of 120degF), but we were still very comfortable with only a small tabletop fan in our room. The caretaker is very friendly and takes his job very seriously - he let us in and showed us our room, allowing us a shower and a 2 hour nap before we found him to fill out the mandatory forms and pay him for our stay. Once you learn your way around a bit, Djemaa El Fna is less than 5 minutes walk and the alley back the Dar Limoun is easily found in one of the corners leading out of the square.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suki_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

i went to dar limoun with my daughter and her friend and right frm the begining we were made to feel welcome nothing was too much trouble for the young man who was the manager his name was Fouad.he made sure our stay was happy his friend Nagem of Tidrarine tours who picked us up at the airport went to great trouble to make sure we enjoyed our 4 days there, he took us to Chez Ali one evening which we enjoyed a great venue which looked like a palace with local entertainment of music dancing and berber horsemen, with a four course meal and another day he took us to the atlas mountains where we saw a berber market and a berber village and many other interesting things, they also have a friend abdel who has a leather shoe shop just round the corner where we bought some lovely camel leather slippers while drinking mint tea and laughing at his funny antics. in all we had a very enjoyable and interesting time made special by fouad and nagem and friends the riad was clean and comfortable and homely but it was the freindlyness of these young men that made it great. Nagem looked after me like i was his mother,(i am 72 ) i certainly would love to go back.The location of the riad was very quite but only a short walk from place jemaa el fna which was very enteraining in the evenings and the souks which was for 3 ladies free from their husband for a few days fasinating.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Lovely Riad only 5 min walk to the main square. Lovely rooms, clean and well maintained. The manager was very helpful and nothing too much trouble e.g. picking up and dropping off at airport. Lovely roof and excellent mint tea! Trips attached to the Riad, excellent and easily organised. All in all a fab Riad!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hegsoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

We booked 1 night at Dar Limoun via hostelworld.com. We booked the cheapest room (a twin) but were given a couble at no extra cost. The room was lovely - excellent value for the price bracket; it was clean, warm, and the water hot. The breakfast was simple and tasty (as good as you'll get in most cheaper hotels in Morocco). We wanted to stay there more nights but couldn't get a room for the nights we needed - the staff were really helpful in arranging alternative accom that (whilst not quite as good) was still good value for our budget.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantosphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#394 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#143 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#98 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun

Property: Dar Limoun
Address: 25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Limoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Limoun Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing