We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Address for typical riad”
Review of Dar Doukkala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Doukkala
Ranked #469 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are so many Riad's to choose from, in so many different price ranges, it's very difficult to decide. The Dar Doukkala is a little gem of a Riad for a very good price. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and authentic. Some with little fireplaces (complete with logs and matches) that we didn't use in May because the weather was very hot. We spent two nights here in the triple room (there are 6 to 8 in all, with a large Suite that is perfect for families) and my children absolutely loved it. There is a cute little pool on the second story, the house looks like an old mansion, and we were able to use the hammam and get scrubbed, washed with traditional black soap and massaged. The breakfast is absoutely excellent, large, with home made jams and honey, traditional moroocan style "pancakes" and bread and toast, yougurt and eggs. It's very well situated and close to where many taxis and horse carriages wait or pass by. Would highly recommend for any type of traveler wanting high quality but on a budget as well. You can also ask to have dinner in a courtyard and the cook will come and make a home made traditional Moroccan dinner if ordered in advance in the morning.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are simply lovely, look on the website to choose the one best adapted to your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fascinating ryad in a most convenient location, extremely nicely furnished. Excellent cuisine. Nice though sometimes not totally efficient personel. Very good prices for the true beauty you get.
Be aware that they do not accept AmEx cards, but they forget to tell you until you produce the card for check out ( even though it is the same card you used to secure your reservation !).
And remember that they only have one key to each room, so do not take it with you for the day or they would not be able to clean your room.
All the above we learned at our expenses, but would gladly forgive in consideration of the fact that everybody was extremely kind. I would go back tomorrow !

Room Tip: In summer, the suite with private balcony on the first floor. In winter, the suite with private ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

loved this tranquil space - spent 9 nights there while shopping in Marrakech last year . Each room has a style of its own . Value for money . Loved the location . Enjoyed the zellij swimming pool . Spacious Rooms .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancientsecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very beautiful and spacious riad with lovely courtyard and two sunny roof terraces. The food was stunning and the service very friendly and patient (our French and Arabic was limited!). They even offered to post our postcards as we forgot to find stamps while shopping!
We like to try different places but think it'd be hard to pass up Dar Doukkala for our next trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: From what we saw all the rooms were beautifully fitted out and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mink1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

wonderful haven in the middle of city. the service was excellent and the food exquisite. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. the decor is stunning with 3 roof top terraces and many beautiful designs to look at everywhere. one of the highlights is the riads hammam
.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellecheesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Riad Dar Doukkala is a haven in the middle of the chaotic city that is Marrakech. From the moment we were greeted at the door on arrival by the owner, Philippe, we were made to feel totally at home. The Riad is decorated in a tasteful style combining local style and touches of the owners native french style. Each bedroom is different and ours (number 5) was perfect for two female friends traveling together. Opening onto the central courtyard, it had a wonderful bathroom and a separate sitting area. The atmosphere in one of total calm, in contrast with the atmosphere on the streets of Marrakech, just outside your front door. The location is perfect, a five minute walk to the Souks or the Square and despite warnings from everyone, we didn't get lost once. We dined in the Riad on two of our 3 nights and the food was delicious and served in the tranquil surroundings of the courtyard. The breakfast was also delicious and served where ever you wished to have it. In your bedroom, in the courtyard or on the roof top terrace where the views over the city are spectacular.
I could not find a single fault with Riad Dar Doukkala and would recommend it for anyone travelling to Marrakech who likes an oasis of calm to escape to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmccDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

As has been said, from the moment you walk through the door, you are transported to a heavenly place. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and well appointed. You feel as if you are in a fairyland. The personnel is attentive to your every need while totally unobstrusive. And the food is "a party for the palate" - If you go, be sure to eat in at least once! While the breakfast is pretty much the same every day, we found ourselves looking forward to it as it is quite good. As for location, after experiencing the madness that is Marrakech, we realized that the location is outstanding for visiting anywhere in the Medina while also allowing taxis to drop you off within feet of the door.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#153 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#106 of 502 in Marrakech
438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#12 of 1,167 in Marrakech
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Doukkala

Address: 83 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $73 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Doukkala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dar Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing