We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Moroccan Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moroccan Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break at Dar Ayniwen with friends, this wasn't our first visit and my husbands words on arrival were " I feel so relaxed already" That's the thing about Dar Ayniwen, whilst you are staying in a luxurious property with amazing gardens you instantly feel relaxed and welcome. The staff are attentive but discreet and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and unique in decoration, the bathroom in the Sheherazade Suite is amazing.
I would highly recommend eating at Dar Ayniwen, the BBQ lunch is fabulous and dinner on the terrace overlooking the lantern lit pool not to be missed.
I cannot find fault with anything and we will definitely be returning. Thank you to Stephane, Aziz and all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    38
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
203
497
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have just returned from a blissful 5 days at Dar Ayniwen - the most wonderful place on earth!!! A true Marrackchi paradise!!! I have lost count how many times we have stayed at Dar Ayniwen over the past 8 years, it has been many. We return year-on-year, we even held our wedding at Dar Ayniwen, as it is just such a special haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Stephane (the owner), Aziz (the manager) and their team of discreet staff make you feel as if Dar Ayniwen is your own exclusive home. We have stayed in every single suite over the years, this time staying in Tiwaline II (beautiful suite with separate lounge, amazing domed bathroom, beautiful light flooding through the stained glass windows each morning, unique antique furniture and your own private hot tub). Each suite is individual, beautiful décor and furniture, exquisite towels & linen and is kept very clean each day by the very happy team of cleaning ladies. The gardens are maintained to the highest of standards and are beautifully peaceful to wander around to explore the array of flowers & plants, as well as the magnificent aviaries with some of the most unusual and colourful birds you will see in one place. A trip to Dar Ayniwen is not complete without a decadent breakfast of pastries, pancakes, the freshest of orange juice, coffee and eggs to die for! We order our BBQ lunch each morning as this is the highlight of our day, served with healthy salads in the gardens looking out at the beautiful surroundings! You have to dine here in the evening too - dare I say it, but you need to go a long way to find food of the same quality, freshness and variety as is served at Dar Ayniwen! The chef sources all produce fresh each day and this certainly is evident. Try the lamb shoulder for two and wash it down with a bottle of Medaillon rouge! Dining in the garden when the weather permits or in "La Tente" should it rain, either option will be magnificent and memorable. What you will find during your stay at Dar Ayniwen is that nothing is too much trouble and the attention to detail is fabulous: a driver to anywhere in the city is included in your stay, wooden Fatima's hands indicate to the boys when you would like to order a drink by the pool, the finish on the towels, the soaps smell incredible, all amounting to the feeling of quality & paradise. One final comment is on the spa and hammam, last but certainly not least, the massages given by Hadija are pure bliss, allowing you to drift away in a candle lit space with morrocan music playing softly in the background. Stephane, Aziz & the team at Dar Ayniwen - we hate to leave, but we have to leave to come back again! See you in September & keep up your amazing work!!

Room Tip: All of them!! Romane Pavillon is probably our favourite at a push
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeandGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in early April, the highlight of our 10 day trip to Morocco. Superb small and exclusive hotel - beautifully furnished and comfortable rooms, excellent food and faultless service. A very special place, enjoyed by our 12 and 13 year old children as well, who really appreciated the heated swimming pool and the ease with which we were able to pop into the city centre via the courtesy shuttle. Thank you Stephane, Aziz and team for a wonderful stay ... we'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having stayed here as part of a party, the experience was fantastic due to the joviality of the crowd. I think that the experience would not have been so good if it was a couple only! The furniture and décor is without doubt very expensive and antique (maybe not to everyone's liking?) and doesn't give the impression of being luxurious, but in saying that the facilities were superb, if understated.
Unfortunately, our room had a bad sewage smell, as did our neighbours room. We were on the ground floor. Apparently those on the first floor had no such problem.
The locality in which the hotel is situated can not be described as affluent, but that may be me being a bit aloof and snooty. The neighbourhood wasn't clean and tidy - but that may be Marrakech and Morocco in general, as the hotel was apparently chosen for us to "have a true feel of Morocco"
The staff were warm and welcoming and there was a good selection of food.
On a down side, about half of the party of 26 had quite a severe stomach bug, but this could have been contracted anywhere in a number of placed that we visited.

Room Tip: Don't have a ground floor room unless you like the smell of sewage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daitanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Ewr,

Are you sure your comment is about a stay at Dar Ayniwen ? Did you really stay here. If yes ! use the Tripadvisor link we send to all of our guests next time, like this we all will be able to consider the genuiness of the comment and its full value.
Fisrt of all, we did not have any party of this size (I have looked that from september 2013), only a wedding, where attended 140 guests. Thank God no one was sick, please for the readers do remember that I do live on the property and eat not only from the same kitchen as you do but the same products as well. When people are sick in Marrakech it is often from uncooked salads, drinks or ice cubes you are getting from non mineral/filtered water… etc. And also, when 13 people are sick among 26 this is a bad case of food poisoning, I should have had a major meeting with the organizer of that party, or may be getting sick myself ? Don’ t you think ? If this had been the case, believe me I would have had way more than one comment about it, and I would not have dared answer your comment this way.
Just for information, we do not organise events during November as it is the begining of winter in Marrakech and the temperature may be low.

Regarding the bad sewage smell, which happen to every hotel at some point of use, I have redone the plumbing at Dar Ayniwen five years ago. When we had to solve this problem I documented myself and found great products to treat that issue. They have made miracles and for now my suites are closer to an orange blossom smell than a sewer like. Once again, as I am here all the time this kind of thing can’t stay untreated.
I would go crazy with it.

I actually did not here about a smell issue for a very long time now. However, For the rest, decoration, surroundings… I rather let all the previous positive comments speak for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Dar Ayniwen is a small beautifully run hotel in the Palmerie just outside Marrakech. Perfect to escape from the hustle and hassle of the Medina. Three hectares of beautiful gardens, a lovely pool and some of the friendliest and most helpful staff ever. Just right for a quick escape from the northern European weather.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

What could be better after finishing Marathon des Sables than staying for a few days at Dar Ayniwen - this paradise on earth. After 250km running through the Moroccan desert with nothing but golden sand dunes in sight and temperatures of around 50 degrees, I came to Dar Ayniwen and immediately forget all the suffering of the race.
Upon arrival one is immediately taken in by the beautiful exotic gardens, the beautiful turquoise swimming pool and the unique authenticity of this luxurious family home. Not to mention the excellent Dar Ayniwen team: Stéphane the owner who is charming, kind and professional, he always there to attend to his clients every needs; Aziz the friendly manager who has an answer for everything, nothing is a problem; and the whole team not to mention a few...Toufik, Abdillah Ayoub , Hassan, Kamel ...... always there with a smile making your stay easy and oh so very enjoyable.
It was a real pleasure, after living in such rudimentary conditions for a week, to stay in one of their luxurious suites, to relax by the pool and to chose from a multitude of exquisite dishes on their menu made by one of the 3 Chefs overseen by Stéphane who is himself trained as a gourmet chef.
It was pure bliss and after 3 days in this wonderful place, I felt brand new and as if I hadn't even run those 250km....Thanks Dar Ayniwen!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRahhaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from 4 wonderful nights at "The Dar" ! Went with 2 girlfriends and stayed in the Romain Pavillion absolutely perfect for our needs. Every morning our breakfast was served on our terrace on a beautifully dressed table . The shuttle car is a terrific facility and drivers drive with the utmost care in and around the city ! Stefan , owner, and hotel manager Aziz are wonderful at suggesting and organising things to do . Garden so peaceful , pool beautiful and outdoor terrace to eat lovely I would love to return . Carol

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Property: Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing