We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and garden, wonderful staff, overall a wonderfully relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful rooms and garden, wonderful staff, overall a wonderfully relaxing stay!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in Jan as a family with our toddler. The room was beautiful with a private terrace and hot-tub and palatial bathroom. Once we'd reorganised some of the ornaments, it was also relatively childproof! A proper wooden cot was provided for our son, not just a travel cot, and he was made to feel like a little prince by all the staff. The food was lovely, and the baby could have his tea brought to our room early. Stephan and Aziz were incredibly helpful and welcoming, it was reassuring that the owner is actually there 90% of the time. Kadija the beauty therapist (and babysitter) was also an absolute delight, the treatments we had in the little spa/hammam were great.
We had mixed weather whilst there, but managed a few days sunbathing by the pool. The grounds are so big and we felt the baby didn't bother any other guests as he had so much space to run around. All in all I would recommend Dar Ayniwen to everyone, great for a romantic break equally welcoming for families. We really hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty5678027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Kitty,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment.
We are very grateful for all your compliments which are very motivating for us. Be sure that I will transmit to the staff.

Indeed, you do have mentionned something quite interesting, because if we have a lot of guests with children, I never thought if the idea of childproof suite. So, I would like to mention that if guests wants to comme with babies or small children, we would be happy to help them remove anything that may bother children or parents. We will store them away until departure. No problem for us.
We are also happy to set up baby cots free of charge, as well as baby bottle warmer, and a few other items that new parents may need.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Dar Ayniwen.

Kind regards

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    41
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
215
530
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Dar Ayniwen is a quirky, fascinating, almost museum-like experience. The early 20th century house and its contents enable guests to walk back in time to an affluent family's life on the outskirts of Marrakech. You're surrounded by the personal collections of the family: Over 200 champagne buckets; dozens of French travel posters; lamps, sculpture, etc. It's interesting but, for my minimalist tastes, sometimes a little over the top. The quiet gardens and poolside dining made for a serene break from the non-stop activity of the city, which was welcome. Aziz, the manager, was incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. He went above and beyond the call of duty in taking care of details, big and small, for us. That said, some of the other staff faltered. We received breakfast at our requested time only two mornings of the five we were there. On the other mornings, we had to ask for breakfast a number of times and it finally arrived well after our requested time. Staff varied in their command of English and our French is limited, so a language barrier may have been part of the problem. That said, we enjoyed our stay and would see this complaint as minor in the face of an intriguing and probably unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Dar Ayniwen villa hotel.

I am confident that on the overall you had a nice stay as we had chances to chat a couple of times. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding service and language issues.
Be sure that I will implement corrective measures to keep aiming at excellence in service. We definitely do not want to pass the opportunity to better serve our guests in the future.

Personaly, I really appreciate the fact that you have mentioned it as "Unlike anywhere else..." because that is really the experience we want to offer. A real confortable guest house, a museum like experience with a unique garden for a total relaxation. I like the idea as a "peaceful getaway" as a previous guest has said.

Thank you again for everything.

Kind regards

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with me, my husband and our 3-year-old child.
If you want to do sightseeing in Marrakech town but also want to stay in a quit place, this is the one. It is really laxary and feel exclusive as well.
We had a dinner for the last night. The menue was all traditional food and you might feel it is expensive when you can get good tagin for 40DH in a cheap reastaurant but we are really happy that we had a dinner here. Food was really really good and potion was big!!
Only thing was that the stuff did not speak good English and there were small misunderstandings during the stay.

Overall, this is really good place with good service and we would definetely recommend this place if you are looking for a place around this price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Y K,

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to note your impression with Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoy your stay on the overall and apologize for the misunderstandings that have happened with the staff during that time. I can assure you that they all do great efforts to speak English, and that we will do some reviews to improve again.
Regarding the food, I am happy that you mentioned the difference with a tadgine in town and at Dar Ayniwen for two reasons.
First, we are very into natural products for a fresh and tasty cuisine. The selection of quality products is a big part of what I do everyday. I have even been starting to work on a little farm project to get top bio products, eggs, fruits, vegetables...
Secondly, the special set up we do everyday, either in the tent in the house is specific for the guests of the house so this is one of the reason it is priced a bit higher than a normal restaurant in town.
We are though very happy that you have enjoyed your dinner and written it.:-)

For information we have 4, "almost" fluent english speaker, Aziz, Toufik, Abdilah and myself. So if you have any doubts about someone not understanding, please don't hesitate to call one of us. We always be here for you.
Remember that our only goal is to succeed to offer you the stay of a lifetime

We wish you all the best for the future and hope that we will see you again.

Kind Regards,

Stephane Abtan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

What an unbelievably great experience. Everything you'd want in a truly memorable stay...we'll be back. Can't recommend it highly enough! It's like a mini-Versailles in the Moroccan dessert. The breakfast & dinner in the main house sitting room in front of a blazing fire was the icing on the cake for us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at Dar Ayniwen alone with my two children. From the moment i booked online i felt like a valued guest for Aziz the manager organised for us to be collected from another hotel. My children enjoyed roaming the gardens and exploring the fish, the birds and the natural beauty in complete safety. The staff were very kind and like most Moroccans, love children. The heated pool was a real bonus for otherwise the kids would not have swum. Plus the transport into town etc, which was generously provided and ensured the small site seeing trips were not stressful. Other hotels are not as attentive in this. I was also touched by many small gestures of the hotel and its staff, including Chantal and also the courtesy of Moroccan owner, Stephane, who has learnt his craft at hotel school in France and the USA. In particular it was very nice that the kids meals were not charged. A wonderful place, a romantic and peaceful getaway and extremely well run. i particularly loved the Berber tent for supper, with its candlelit approach and inside, its rugs and roaring log fire. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lucyhme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Beautiful house and gardens in the heart of the Palmeraie; benefited from a large beautiful room and bathroom with direct access to gardens and swimming pool; you feel at home being taken care of in an intimate setting (small number of rooms altogether), by an extremely nice team delivering a high quality of service throughout; dining is great too (special mentions for the home made yogurt and the pigeon pastilla). Don't forget to enjoy the hammam too ! Would warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arnaud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mr G,

The staff of Dar Ayniwen and myself would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay.
We can assure you that we will continue to do our best to satisfy all our guests. Your words are compliments to us.
I look forward to welcoming you soon at Dar Ayniwen for a new great experience

Kind Regards,


Stephane A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spent four nights at the hotel and found the whole experience very nice. Stayed in the Galaxia Suite which was simply amazing.

From the moment, I arrived i was warmly greeted by the general manager Aziz and nothing was too much for him or the staff. Also met Stephan the owner who was equally as helpful. In fact everyone that I came into contact with at the hotel went out of their way to assist me with any queries that I had. A very good team.

They arranged a shuttle bus to pick me up from the airport which I found very useful as I was travelling alone. Was also able to use the shuttle bus to be taken to and from town.

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre which makes it a nice place to escape to after a day at the Souks.

The hotel feels like you are staying at someones house and because its five acres there is so much space you feel as you have the house to yourself.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing, luxury break.

Tai-ann London

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tai-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,983 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Property: Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 36 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains with his heated pool. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites & rooms guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing