We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dazzling Dramatic Dar Ayniwen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Orsett, Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dazzling Dramatic Dar Ayniwen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

So, this is our 10th or 11th visit to Dar Anyiwen over many years with our children and our friends but this one was unique! It was my wife's 'special birthday' made more special by the fact that we now live in NYC and had arranged to meet our best friends in the world to celebrate this event with us. To say that Dar Anyiwen is one of the best locations in the world is an understatement - I travel a lot both for work and pleasure and this gem in the Palmarie will always hold a special place in my family (and friends hearts). I could write a book on what was planned - over the past several months, Aziz, Stephane and I have planned the event with meticulous detail - from horse drawn caleches from the hotel to the Souks, private dinners with hundreds of candles on the hotel terrace, private Champagne receptions with Morrocan delecacies and firepits to add drama! Plus the entrance of me and my best friend arriving on camels to the party......unreal! outside of the hotel Aziz fixed for us to have the best tables in the best restaurants with magnums of Morrocco's finest rose to magnums of the finest Russian vodka and private table service and live bands - who could ask for more! What makes this different is that we shared this experience with my family and my best friends and we all have memories that quite frankly money cant buy! Having the opportunity to share this whole experience with the closest people in the world to me and my wife is something we wont forget! Stephane has just informed me that there will be a NYC to Marrakech direct flight in 2014 - we will be on it!

Room Tip: All of them - I shludk know, Ive stayed in them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    38
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
486
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Dar Ayniwen is simply one of the most perfect places to holiday.

From Stephane and Aziz's perfect hosting, to the professionalism of the Spa, to the wonderful housekeeping run by the charming Chantal, to and the amazing waiters!!

What's not to like!!

Catherine x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just had a three night stay with friends for a birthday celebration, the staff were amazing in helping us have the most memorable time ever, they set out a wonderful tasteful table by the pool with numerous candles, a fire pit and served us with a smile all evening. They arranged Camels to arrive in the grounds for us to take a ride & horse and trap rides into the city, they made our stay so unique & very memorable. The whole house & grounds is simple amazing, you feel so at home and very relaxed & spoilt. Will be going back to stay & would highly recommend this stunning friendly small Hotel. 10/10

Room Tip: All rooms are unique & wonderful as we took over most of the hotel we got to see most of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a four-day stay at Dar Ayniwen and we have fallen totally in love with this place, it is simply paradise. A paradise that of course comes with a hefty price tag but this is not a place to worry about that. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and the perfect place to unwind and relax after a visit to the captivating but chaotic city.

We were staying at the Colonnade suite while my parents stayed at the Rotunda suite. Both are absolutely stunning with tiled floors, beautiful period furniture and comfy beds. The Colonnade even had two separate bathrooms. However, what makes it really special is the small details; the beautiful artwork everywhere, the mint tea on arrival, the cookies in your room, the chirping birds that wake you up in the morning, the rose petals in the room, and so on...

Bird lovers: the hotel has several aviaries full of parrots, parakeets and other sorts of feathered friends.

Aziz is a wonderful host and is always at your disposal for questions, trips and advice. He speaks both English and French fluidly.

The hotel is about a 20-minute drive from Central Marrakech but the hotel provides a free shuttle service to and from the city that leaves at your request, very handy!

We had dinner twice at the hotel and while the location is of course wonderful we found it good but not as good as we hoped it would be, it could do with some more flavour. Breakfast was pretty standard with orange juice, pancakes, toast with jam/honey and coffee/tea. Anything else could be ordered at additional cost.

So, where's the room for improvement?
* The shower in the Rotunda suite is rather impractical (too low) and the water supply was somewhat unreliable.
* With room rates hovering around the 300e I find it somewhat ridiculous to pay 3e for an egg with my breakfast.
* Service can be somewhat slow or unattentive at times. Waiting 25 minutes for breakfast to arrive or having to go inside when to search a member of staff when you want coffee after your dinner for instance.
* I was expecting this hotel to be cooperating with reputable guides but the one they arranged for us on our first day to show us around in the Medina (Abdullah) was a total disaster. Once inside the souqs he was only interested in getting us into the shops where he would get a commission while making rude insults when we wanted to visit or buy something at other shops. Also he had very racist views about the Berber population. However, the guide they arranged for our trip to the Ourika valley the next day was wonderful and knowledgable. So I guess this is a bit of a hit and miss.
* Some of the drivers that operate the hotel minibuses are driving recklessly and agressively. The worst one was the guy that picked us up from the airport. Before even leaving the airport parking place he already had landed himself into a fight with the man operating the gate. A lot of shouting and yelling went on and at one point he even tried to crush his opponent between his car door and the wall while we, less than an hour in the country, watched in total horror. It was a rather unpleasant start of the holiday. However, other drivers we met were very nice and driving carefully so again, hit and miss.
* Pool needs a bit of maintenance (algae growing here and there)

However, these are all very minor drawbacks. The place is totally stunning and if you can afford it, you must stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rutgerpieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 full days and could easily have stayed for a few more. Time and money clearly goes into making sure the hotel is run immaculately and nothing is too much travel. Staff are friendly efficient and nothing is too much trouble whilst always being utterly discreet. The food is good, not outstanding but that's probably because we're not fans of Moroccan cuisine. Quiches, salads and sandwiches were delicious. We were upgraded free of charge as the hotel happened to be quiet whilst we were there. Imagine that even at full capacity it does not feel crowded and the space around the pool and gardens makes you feel as if you're the only ones there. Beautifully run, so much so we felt like we were staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. It's great to land early in the morning and not worry about hiring a car and also know that you can organise trips into town without worrying about haggling with taxis. I have already recommended Dar Ayniwen to another couple who have booked and wouldn't hesitate to do so again in the future. So much so I'm wondering why I haven't given it a 5 star rating! Great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eccles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We held our wedding at Dar Ayniwen on the weekend of the 21st of September 2013, and it will go down as a life changing experience for us and our guests. The hotel and gardens were the backdrop to our "Barefoot Berber Ballroom" which had a 1930's Moroccan twist. The setting of Dar Ayniwen is so authentic and detailed, it completely accentuated the theme. Stephan, Aziz and their team were like family and both the event and the days either side were something truly magical. I would recommend this wonderful destination for quiet relaxed days in a real Marrakech country house or for very special events.We will return every year just for the memories.

Room Tip: all rooms have their own character and are in fact like little houses on the grounds apart from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and i stayed for 4 nights at the Dar Ayniwen and had the most perfect time. I really cannot speak highly enough of the excellent staff and facilities. We were greeted by Stephan the owner who showed us to our room. The room was beautifully presented and very comfortable with doors that opened out onto the gardens. The gardens are fantastic as is the pool and surrounding area's. You really are made to feel like the a very special house guest with great food and wonderful service. If you are looking for a totally relaxing holiday in perfect surroundings then you really cannot go wrong with a trip to Dar Ayniwen. The shuttle service into Marrakech is great and free. Azziz the manager is excellent and always on hand to arrange anything you want. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
2.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Property: Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing