We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of outstanding hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an oasis of outstanding hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have just returned from a magical 7 day stay at Dar Ayniwen with our 3 children (9,7 and 3). The house and grounds were absolutely stunning, the staff incredibly welcoming, the food outstanding and the assistance provided by Stephane and Aziz went above and beyond. I really cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    38
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
203
497
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here in November last year. It was wonderful.

Staff were very friendly, food was superb and so was the accommodation. We were with another couple and they upgraded our room so that we had the two rooms and lounge on the first floor.

Aziz the manager was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Stephane the owner was very friendly and always made the effort to come and chat with his guests.

It was cold in the evenings in November so when we had dinner it was served in the house in front of a wonderful log fire, felt just like having your own country house.

Would recommend this small but extremely well run hotel to anyone looking for tranquility in Marakesh

John and Julia Smith
Warwickshire

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smithy1950_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I chose dar ayniwen as our wedding venue after visiting 17 different venues in Marrakech over 4 days, and we could not have been happier with our decision! We spent a weekend with our family and closest friends there and were pampered and catered to the entire stay. The house and garden are amazing and pictures simply do not do it justice. For anyone looking for a luxury weekend in a beautiful and green surrounding - look no further!

For anyone looking to organize any event, in our case it was our wedding, the service and attention that Stephane and Aziz and the rest of the staff provided were second to none! We have to admit it was daunting to organize the biggest day of our lives from abroad, but Stephane and staff did a good job at convincing us everything would be okay and most importantly, delivered a perfect celebration for our guests and my wife and I when the day finally arrived. We could not recommend it enough, they are truly experienced and professional when it comes to weddings.. They are also flexible, allowing you to customize the celebration to fit your needs. There is just nothing negative to say about the venue or the service! The preparation, the lighting, decoration, sound system, entertainment, dance floor, tables, dj, table service, bar, night snacks, the rooms, the list goes on.. Everything as we had dreamt of. And the FOOD! Delicious!

We want to thank Stephane and Aziz and the staff for making our big day perfect and can't wait to come back! We highly recommend it for any occasion, wedding or just a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SturlaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the first hotel of a ten day trip to Morocco and what a great find it was! We were upgraded from the house to a private Villa which really made the beginning of our special holiday fantastic.
The villa had it's own private hot tub which on request they would prepare with candles for you in the evening, we spent every evening in there drinking wine, what a luxury!
The gardens are lovingly cared for by what seems like an army of staff, and the background music is supplied by the hundreds of birds that the owner collects. A very peaceful and relaxing break from the madness of the souks in the city!
All of the staff were fantastic and made you feel just at home, Aziz could not do enough to help with directions and reccomendations galore. The taxi service to and from the city was great, we never had to worry about getting back to our hotel in a mad taxi as they would come and collect us.
The dinners in the tent in the evening were just gorgeous, you chose what you wanted in the morning and subject to availability they would make wonderful dishes for you, we ate here 2 evenings out of the 3 we stayed here and were stuffed both times.
Breakfast in the morning out in the beautiful gardens by the pool made you feel like you were in a film, just fantastic.
Cannot fault any part of our stay here, and as previous reviewers have mentioned reluctantly leave this review for purely selfish reasons as I too don't want it to become overun. I would go back in an instant!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that any of the rooms are bad in this fantastic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

After a stressful fall, I needed, simply put, a vacation. A two hour flight from Paris, Marrakech seemed like the natural destination close to home to relax, while experiencing the sights, sounds, and cuisine of Morocco. Lucky for me, Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel was the paradise I was looking for.

This family run hotel provides the perfect combination of comfort, elegance, and peace that I needed. Its attentive staff, and its charming gregarious owner Stephane, truly know how to make their guests feel ‘at home’ in the elegance and comfort. I would recommend this jewel to anyone seeking beauty and relaxation on an intimate scale. The rose petals sprinkled around my room upon arrival were enough to make me feel like the princess of this paradise – and that was just the beginning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfcoleman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

everything about it was wonderful. we were upgraded to the galaxy suite, which was lovely as it was our honeymoon. we had no less than 3 balconies, with lovely views of the grounds. the food was wonderful as were the staff. we were met on our arrival by the owner who showed us round, and Aziz was wonderful at arranging our trips into the city. I would come to this hotel again simply to stay there for a few days peace and quiet and not even leave the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taloula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is a gem. I say this reluctantly because, selfishly, I'd hate it to be overrun... Initially, we were struck by the unexpected oasis that opens up immediately you enter its gates: little paths and arbours with water features run around the sides of the old house, while you enter through magnificent, ancient-looking main doors into an elegant, almost country-house-with-a-Moroccan-twist style, elegant domed hallway.

We were exceptionally lucky to be upgraded to the Pavillion suite for the first 4 nights of our stay. This is in the garden, opposite the pool but reached through a curtain of fig trees along a private brick path and across a curtained terrace for additional privacy. Utterly stunning! The suite has its own private hot tub under a pemanent and substantial awning, in a private garden to the side of the suite, although as we stayed in August, it was a little too hot to want to make use of it. The suite itself is big enough to be a permanent home for two people really - and offered a real and unexpected taste of luxury. With two bathrooms, its own entrance hall, large sitting/dining room across the front and reasonable bedroom space with ample fitted cupboards, I'm sure any run of the mill estate agent here would have a simple task selling it!

For me, being able to breakfast in semi privacy behind curtains yet still outside, was a total joy. Breakfast was always delicious, a mixture of continental and Morrocan - and arrives at your choice of time, complete with fresh white linen every time. I particularly love the orange juice there: somehow softer, fuller and less acidically attacking than juice you get anywhere else.

The gardens are gorgeous and beautifully maintained - lots of little paths to follow and exotic birds in big aviaries. The only thing that made me uncomfortable (probably a 'soft' European reaction to a normal Moroccan food source), were the rabbits kept in very small cages with no room to move in the outside heat of the day.. Apart from that, there was also the joy of coming across roaming tortoises wherever we went!

The welcome we received was personal, thoughtful and sincere. Guests are given a tour of the house and grounds on arrival, together with a taste of Morocco in the form of apple tea and some local pastries. The owner, manager and staff are all delightful and cannot do enough to help, inform and make each guest feel individual and comfortable. The whole place seems infused with scent of rich, warm, musky spices that just adds to the sense of relaxation.

We stayed during the Muslim month of Ramadan - and according to some other guests who were return visitors, the discipline of fasting on some of the staff and locals in the markets, did take its toll on the level of service. However, as novices, we didn't notice it in dar Ayniwen, although in Marrakesh itself near sundown, which was really the only comfortable time to go into the city as far as heat was concerned, the stallholders did tend to be more aggressive and surly. Despite this though, we enjoyed some lovely meals eaten at balcony restaurants watching as the main square came to life after evening prayers. Still though, coming back afterwards to dar Ayniwen was perfect antidote to the city madness.

The shuttlebusses were convenient, free (except for tips!) and the drivers without exception, friendly and helpful.

We did tip a lot. Not to high values, but more to acknowledge the wonderful level of service - and although not necessarily expected at the hotel, definitely appreciated and the right thing to do. Make sure you have lots of 20 dirham bills to hand..

Overall, a proper break in a beautiful setting with proper, fantastic value service and welcome. Will we go back? Definitely!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinyclanger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Property: Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing