We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveler rating
979
43
5
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
43
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager azizvilla hotelfree car servicehot tubpalmeraie areashuttle servicewhole teamprivate terracesmall hotelbeautiful oasisrose petalsfresh orange juiceatlas mountainstagineday tripmint teastephane
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We took the advice of other trip advisors and opted for this villa hotel. It was a wise decision. The location just outside Marrakech is perfect, The villa is a five acre oasis of peace and calm. A villa where the owner is always on site, and he (Stephan) and his can-do manager Aziz, maintain remarkably high standards. The suites (only eight of them) are cool, and luxuriously furnished in a mix of art nouveau and traditional Moroccan.The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool large enough to enjoy a proper swim. Food is superb with gargantuan breakfasts (allegedly continental) and first class traditional lunches and dinners. Not ideal for children but if you need to wind down in the sun this is close to unbeatable. We shall return.

Room Tip: Suites are large and each one slightly different. Be guided by orice. There are no disappointments
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwriter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent 4 nights in March in the Rotunda Suite and the most delightful aspect of Dar Anyiwen is that it is still like a private house with outstanding hospitality from Stephane, the owner, Aziz and their staff.
Breakfast of homemade yogurt, kumquat jams, fresh orange juice, pancakes and patisseries is delicious, and evening meal of fish tajine in the tent by the fire truly romantic. The gardens are sublime - aviaries of parrots, a cockatoo, tortoises and a carp pond. Massage and hammam are recommended. Friendly drivers ready to take/pick up at any time.
Majorelle Gardens and Maison de la Photographie are worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Rotunda Suite is getting an additional room built (according to Aziz) which will be perfect for families.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

It is difficult to remember the mixture of apprehension & expectation of visiting Marrakech for the
first time. If you book into Dar Ayniwen you will be guided through what is the Marrakech experience - Enjoy!!!
They collect you at the Airport ( about 18minute drive) which saves you the first hurdle of the
inexperienced traveller to Marrakech of negotiating the Taxi Drivers. In fact the driver/car service Dar Ayniwen offer will save you several hundred Dirham over your stay. But best of all
about the service is the piece of mind and security you will be delivered & collect when you wish, and not end up on an unexpected camel ride.
Visiting Dar Ayniwen for 4th time - so you can guess we like the place.
There are only 8 or 9 rooms - and all are excellent. They are furnished with character/Antiques with most of the rooms having large bathrooms - baths and hand held showers. If you like modern hotels with walk in showers this might not be for you. The experience is alittle like staying in someone's private villa.
It takes a day or so to chill out/gear down to the pace/peace & tranquility off Dar Ayniwen and its beautiful garden.
Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner can be server whatever time (within reason) and anywhere you want
at no extra cost - they will happily serve breakfast on your balcony or terrace at 11.30am.
Sleep quality is excellent - especially knowing you can wake-up when your body clock decides.

The pool is lovely - heated to take the chill off - this can only be appreciated when you have been in a few minutes as the outside temperatures can be so hot.

In my/our view Dar Ayniwen is a very special place, but it might not be for everyone - you are
15 minutes from centre of Marrakech - so can't walk to cafe's or site's. However - just ask and the car service will take you.
The Staff are excellent - seemingly hidding in back ground. Aziz & Stephane are always on hand with restaurant suggestions and advice. We will return again.

Room Tip: All rooms have either own terrace or balcony - hard to choose
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186300Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The minute that you arrive, you get a sense that Dar Ayniwen has a real soul. The fact is, you are not entering a "hotel", you are entering a private estate and as an accommodating gesture you will be welcomed by the actual owner ( Stefan) himself! It is much more grand than a riad (a smaller home) and the gardens emit a lovely sense of serenity and tranquility. When you've had enough of the peace and feel like you need your mayhem fix, just order a car at the front desk (part of the accommodation rate) and head into the Jemaa El Fna or broader Medina area. The food and service is good, but you need to order well in advance, which is ok if you like to fully plan your day ahead. The other option is that there are many restaurants in Marrakech which are all close-by and Aziz the world champion general manager will organise your car and reservation for you. This is a super place to stay and the facility is grand. Aziz and Stefan are a dynamic duo! Don't hesitate to stay here...

Room Tip: The first floor Galaxie suite has a lovely terrace, ideal for eating your meals or just relaxing outside.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Dar Ayniwen lived up to all of our expectations (and reviews) and even surprised us in the end. Despite the weather being unseasonably cold and rainy, our stay was still peaceful and relaxing. Dar Ayniwen is truly an oasis outside the busy city of Marrakech, complete with resident turtles, fish and a bird sanctuary. Having 3 boys (11, 9 and 4) this was an ideal setting so they could run around, play table tennis, lounge in the hammocks, explore nature or lounge by the central pool. Having the Pavilion was ideal given we are a family of 5. The hot tub (only available with the pavilion) was perfect with the cooler weather. The room itself was great with authentic Moroccan charm with plenty of room to hang out, having 2 bathrooms and large flat screen TV with an in-house library of DVD's. Free WiFi service was also a treat, especially for my electronic loving boys!

The free car service was most certainly the best perk of this hotel. They were available at every time we requested. Having 3 children in a country I wasn't familiar with, this service put my mind at ease. All the drivers were so hospitable and pleasant. We certainly saved a lot of money with this free service.

The food was very good and fresh at every meal. Not having a set time for breakfast was so nice knowing we could truly sleep in and eat whenever we wished. There's plenty to choose from for breakfast, eating al fresco was truly a pleasure. My one concern was lack of variety since we have children, who fortunately aren't picky, but still need variety. I know this has been written about before. I can happily say that they added more kid friendly options that would've changed our minds for eating at the hotel more. Unfortunately for us, this change occurred the day we left but happy they saw the need. Another change that is much needed, and coming soon, is a bar. Only bottles of wine can be purchased at dinner, no wines by the glass. That will be a good change.

The staff and management were exceptional and so willing to help or book excursions. We truly felt like we were staying with family. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for families or anyone wanting to have a relaxing vacation outside a bustling city.

Having been truly satisfied with our stay (despite the lack of sun), much to our surprise, we were never charged for kids meals at lunch or dinner! Apparently this was a policy we weren't aware of. Along with the car service, green space, friendly atmosphere, and free meals for kids, why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyageurs5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews