We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
980
43
5
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
43
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager azizvilla hotelfree car servicehot tubpalmeraie areashuttle servicewhole teamprivate terracesmall hotelbeautiful oasisrose petalsfresh orange juiceatlas mountainstagineday tripmint teastephane
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Positives:
1. Car shuttle service available at all times.
2. Polite and helpful staff.
3. Vast open spaces and peaceful gardens.

Negatives:
1. Limited flexibility in food menu and staff made several errors in our orders, e.g., added shrimps to our fish tagine despite confirming multiple times that there were no shell fish - my wife is allergic. She ate a bite before realising there were shrimps in the tagine and got swelling in her throat.
2. Pool heating does not work and can probably be used only in summer months.
3. Room needs some refurbishment. In our suite, bath tub tiles were held up with tape and fell off during our stay as well. It would not be a problem if we were staying in a motel as opposed to paying almost USD 300 per night.

Overall verdict: good not great and for that price one could certainly do much better.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Garden Hotel & Bird Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Dear VIK12345

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry that we do not have succeeded to offer you a 100% satisfaction over your stay in Dar Ayniwen.

I understand that the mistake of my staff over the ingredients of the fish tadgine is not acceptable and could have been a big problem. However, being in business for eleven years now, we have been welcoming guests with a lot of allergies, from gluten to feathers and fish allergie etc... without any problems. I say that for future guests, please if you do have allergies of any kind let AZIZ or MYSELF know and we will make a note of it to our chef, for this kind of mistake not to happen. My staff do understand english and really try to progress (as they follow classes), but honestly they are not fluent and misunderstanding can happen sometimes in direct interaction. Which is what happen in this case I think.

Dar Ayniwen cuisine: As it is written on the first page of our food, and on the sheets in your suite, our menu is to give you suggestions, but our chef is good enough to prepare almost anything for you in the classical family cuisine. So please if our menu does not speak to you, let us know and we will suggest more. We do have had a lot of vegetarian, vegan, as well as just non meat eaters like you and they were very happy with our suggestions.


Regarding the pool, it is indeed heated. However, when night temperature goes below five degrees, ( which was unfortunately the case during your stay, february is often the coldest month of the year.) as we do have solar and gas heating twin system, reaching 24° during the day is a hard task. When a softer weather will be back( 15° degree minimum at night time), the pool will be back to normal and we will have a pool temperature that reach 24°-26° daytime during these days. However, guests do swim for the last three days, the pool is close to 23°.
My staff do have offer you the use of a hot tub free of charge, but you did not gave suite, so we thought you were not interested.

Regarding the suite( Colonnade suite in the pictures ), the problems that you have photographed are in the process of being solved. The marble plate will soon receive its casts. It was programmed but was not done before your arrival, I agree.
The sink is a 1930 original and parts do not come easy but I will focus on this problem and should solve this very quickly.

Once again, I am sorry that your overall experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. Be sure that we will not miss your concerns and will try endlessly to solve problems and will stay unrest until we reach excellence in service.

Kind regards

Stephane A
Managing owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

From the pick up at the airport to the wonderful welcome at the villa, the level of service from Stephane and all the staff at Dar Ayniwen was amazing . A special mention should go to Aziz, for all his help and recommendations of places to visit. The villa and its gardens are beautiful, a welcome retreat from the bustling madness of Marrakech. With drivers happy to drop and collect you as required it is a perfect haven for a city break. Our suite was lovely, the food wonderful (eating in the nomadic tent in the garden complete with roaring fire and one night in the luxury of the main villa) and the hamman really enjoyable. Would recommend Dar Ayniwen to all for a visit, next time we might even take our children along too !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Beautiful, stunning hotel, probably the best i've ever stayed in during my world-wide travels. It's impossible to describe how beautiful it is - pictures do not do the place justice. We were lucky enough to be upgraded twice, so got to enjoy several of the suites and all of them were better than first-class. The service is also outstanding - it makes the trip, in fact. Incredibly attentive, excellent attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. Little things, like a free chauffer service into the main square at Marrakech, and a free library of awesome DVDs (excellent for when the nights are cold!) to enjoy on the massive LCD tv's (with surround sound) make the trip.
No complaints whatsoever, only pleasantly surprised. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. A must-go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

When I read all the previous reviews of this place I was amazed that a hotel could be so good and so well received. Having just returned from a one week stay I can confirm that this truly is a fantastic place. The owner, Stephane, is both charming and affable. He has a lovely happy team of staff working for him who are all thoroughly professional and discreet. They are attentive to the quests every needs, yet manage to do this without hovering.
There are only 8 suites in this Riad, yet the place is so big that it is possible to go a whole day without seeing another guest. The décor is truly fabulous, filled with quirky collections and magical antiques. The beds are deliciously large and sumptuous, the bathrooms are gloriously ancient, with huge baths that comfortably fit two people without having feet in your face. Bathrobes and slippers are provided, but not bar soap or shampoo so remember to bring your own.

Other reviews have mentioned the food being “pricey”. For example a 3 course dinner for two is 900 dirhams. When we stayed from 9th to 16th Feb 2012 there were 13 dirhams to the pound so that makes dinner just shy of £70 and then add £16-20 for a bottle of Moroccan wine. These prices are slightly more expensive than some of the popular restaurants in town. The menu is limited to traditional Moroccan food. I would have liked more European style salads to choose from and to have seen some affordable sparkly white wine or champagne on the drinks menu.
Breakfast is included and can be eaten inside ones suite at no extra cost or outside. There is no time limit on when it is served which is perfect.
Dar Ayniwen provides a free taxi service into town and to any of the many highly recommended restaurants, or indeed anywhere one cares to visit. This is a brilliant service. You just have to call the hotel and they come and collect you. It saves having to negotiate with Moroccan taxi drivers and saves an awful lot of money.
The Souks are a nightmare and I’m told more so at this time of year because there are less tourists. They think nothing of throwing a monkey on your head, which is great if you like monkeys. The traders can be very aggressive and unpleasant which is such a shame because it puts people off and ultimately affects their economy. I usually love markets and have negotiated in Thailand and India and Africa, but found the Moroccan experience a bit too in your face.

Other visitors have spoken of the relief at getting back to Dar Ayniwen after visiting the Souks. I couldn’t agree more. The place provides a wonderful oasis of calm and relaxation. There is the most magical aviary in the grounds filled with exotic birds. During the day the only sound is birdsong. It is absolutely glorious. The outside pool was too cold to swim in when we visited, but the outside Jacuzzi in our suite was amazing. There is a spa in the grounds with its own steam Sauna. This is worth a visit because you can go with a partner and have a wonderful massage and just chill out.
I would thoroughly recommend this place and cannot wait to return. It is the perfect setting and size to take a group of friends and book the whole Riad. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Little to add, but we confirm all the highly positive reviews: excellent, attentive service, superb team managed by Aziz. The accommodations are (mainly) in a charming private villa, with completely independent suites, limited in number, but lovely and decorated with taste. The property is stunningly beautiful, a haven of quiet serenity, after the bustle of the city. Do not be surprised: the villa is some 20 min from the medina, in the Palmeraie, but the shuttle service is on call morning, noon, and night, and the drivers (Hassane and Dia) are wonderful, pointing out things as they drive you to your destination. The in-house staff are also very attentive to guests' needs, and truly happy to serve. The stay at Dar Ayniwen is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We found the Tiwaline suite more intimate than the larger Colonnade, having stayed in both.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowdoin6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews