We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$210
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$422
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$233
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,022
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
201
39
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
39
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracewonderful retreatriad darmint teaopen courtyardjemaa elwonderful citynice breakfastheart of marrakechboutique hotelfew minutes walkcentral courtyardmain squarethe hotel staffon arrivalzaksouks
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 246 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights here in July 2009. The riad is beautiful (seemingly very authentic) and wonderfully calm (except for prayer times from the nearby Koutoubia!) The staff were exceptional - we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits on arrival, given maps and a brief overview of the city. Mohammed often climbed three flights of stairs to serve us drinks on the terrace, offered impartial local knowledge (cost of taxi fares, directions to local bureau de change, etc) and served us breakfast out of hours (early plane back to the UK). The staff were even kind enough to look after some of our purchases for 9 days (Marrakech was our first and last stop between a holiday to Essaouira).
The only downside to the riad is that it is hidden away down some derbs (alleyways) which may be a little daunting for solo female travellers. Definitely worth organising a taxi through the riad so you don't get lost on arrival. However aside from this, it is only about 7 mins walk to the craziness of Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We had a great relaxing stay in this Riad, couldnt fault it really! The staff left you alone to enjoy your holiday but were always on hand if you needed anything. Hermina (the maid) only spoke French but her happy cheery disposition every morning with our Moroccan breakfast was such a welcome sight from the hussle and hassle of the souks in the Medina. The surroundings are very authentically reproduced and you really felt this place had had a lot of love and care and thought in its renovation while at the same time you felt it had stood there for 100's of years. The rooms were ample for space, lots of hot water, a roof terrace to sunbathe or sit in the evening and Hermina will cook all meals if you require them. For 2 people, the 45euros/room/night including breakfast was a real bargain!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeelGoodFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at Dar Al Kounouz for 3 nights with our two young sons and were really impressed with the beauty of the riad and the helpfulness of the staff.

For example, they booked a car for us (at better rates than what we could find online), and ran out to get a roadmap for us at the last minute when we realized we needed one. They also gave good, straightforward advice on sites, shopping, and getting around the medina.

One minor critique: our ground-floor room was a bit dark, as the windows gave only onto the internal courtyard.

The tagine we had at the riad was wonderful (the couscous less so), and the breakfast was ample and delicious. A really lovely riad.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ek54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The review is coming a bit late ,but after reading the newest review with a rather low score I thought it was time for som nice words about Dar Al Kounouz..
We were four ladies staying here in november 2007.
We had a friendly welcoming already at the the airport .The staff did their best to make our stay a happy one.
The riad is very well located in the medina and only a few minutes from Jemaa El Fnaa. Most of the sights of the old city is in a walking distance.
One day we had the riad chauffeur to drive us up the Ourika valley where we had a guided walk from Setti Fatma. After that he drove us up to Oukaimeden in Atlas mountains -because we are norwegians and we wanted to se Moroccos best ski resort! It was a nice trip! (He altso was a very good driver.)
The rooms in the riad are cosy and nicely decorated.
I will also recommend both the very good dinner meals at the roof top terrace and of course the hammam in the house.
We are now soon going back for our second stay in Dar Al Kounouz!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I went to Marrakech with my wife on August and we stayed for a couple of nights at Dar al Kounouz. It needs some mantainance, breakfast (which is included) is pretty basic and simple and the staff were kind of grumpy and at some point rude.... I honestly do not recommed it, I guess there are better options.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl100US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews