We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Auberge..Amazing Wedding !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Tameslohte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine de Tameslohte
Ranked #279 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Auberge..Amazing Wedding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have just returned from one of the best weeks of our lives at the Auberge de Tameslohte. Myself and my new wife got married at their hotel and had over 135 guests who all share my sentiment. The staff were attentive and were excellent in making sure we always had what we needed, the owners also played the perfect hosts and made each and everyone of us feel extremely welcome at all times.
The grounds are simply beautiful, the food traditionally simple and delicious, the rooms and rates and quaint and very reasonable respectively. Myself and my wife would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice quiet retreat away from the busy medina. Also anyone looking for a beautiful setting for a wedding party..look no further. What they can offer you is first class.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    26
    4
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The hotel is lovely, set in an olive grove with stunning roses everywhere. The staff are friendly and efficient. The only negatives were the prices of drink and food and the fact that nobody cpuld speak any english. I do not say this lightly as i am myself bilingual. I think that someone should have had at least a basic knowledge of the language, our gcse french just didn'5 cut it. The prices surprised me, without knowing the ins and outs of Moroccan taxes i thought they were a bit much. Apart from that, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Having been lured in by the lovely website, we thought we'd stumbled across a gem on the outskirts of Marrakesh. It didn't help that the day we arrived at the Auberge de Tam the weather took a turn for the worse (and then stayed that way) so things were looking distinctly grey-er than the jewel-like colours that had been envisaged. We arrived at the Reception to be given a perfunctory grunt by the owner, who promptly left the building. We were then led to our room (a Chambre berbere - ours' was pretty bleak, with minimal comforts), the door was firmly closed and we seemed to have just a list of Rules for company. Brilliant. Rules are always lovely on holiday.
Having organised half-board for the few days we were there, we seemed to have no choice about when this could be taken up, despite being told on the phone at booking that we could choose whether this would be lunch or supper. I'm not quite sure what we had managed to do in the short time we were there to warrant being ignored when trying to order drinks - or have our food rather unceremoniously dumped on the table. This continued throughout our stay, with a real high-point being a small basket of stale bread for breakfast on the final day. Time to go? Yes please.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-bag-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

L'Auberge Tameslohte has a lot going for it - not just the beautiful grounds, the magnificent pool, and the helpful Moroccan staff but as its off the tourist route, the area is perfect for lovers of culture and Moroccan people. Tameslohte is fertile and the local residents are genuinely friendy. We loved walking through the countryside with the children playing in the irrigation canals, conquering the local bus system (and making dozens of friends in the process!), practising our terrible Arabic while shopping for fruit in Tameslohte and the youths who were giddy with pride to show us the leftovers of the 'Prince of Persia' movie set recently filmed there. All of these things really helped to show us a different side of Morocco than we had seen during our journey.

The great let down was our treatment by hotel management. My husband and I chose this hotel in a pinch because of the quality of its reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately, things went poorly from the start. We arrived in the evening at the hotel exhausted and covered in dust after a nightmare journey from Essaouira where our bus' air conditioning had broken down. Being 5 months pregnant, I had spent much of the bus ride throwing up and managing scary stomach pains so I was looking forward to a smile and a lie down in a friendly environment. Unlike every other home stay, riad and hotel we had stayed in in Morocco (where we had been welcomed with a smile, some mint tea, a tour and a chat), management glared at us, at our dusty rucksacks and showed us to our room wordlessly, while we lugged our bags behind her. I was extremely upset and offended. We ate dinner there that night and my husband enjoyed his food but with the pregnancy and an iffy stomach, I found it too rich for my personal taste. Our unwillingness to continue taking our meals at the hotel seemed only to fuel management's suspicion that we were not their targeted Parisian clientele flush with Euros. With our dodgy command of French and our interest in independent travel as a way to intermingle with local people, our treatment by management became even frostier still. On our last day, despite being told we could keep the room until our departure, management suddenly insisted we check out and sent a series of hotel staff to the room who entered our room without knocking to ensure we were doing just that. We waited out the rest of our hours reading quietly in the lounge area which, when we came to leave, management checked conspicuously - presumably to reassure themselves that we hadn't stolen or damaged anything.

We consider ourselves to be quiet, clean, polite to other guests and respectful of hotel property and paid our bills timely and in full. Yet in 15 years of travelling through Asia and Europe, never have I been deliberately treated so poorly by an establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australiantraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

*I will start by stating that I did not spend a night here, but had drinks and lunch here last week with my wife and a friend from Marrakech.*

This property is situated in the quiet Moroccan countryside, about a 30 minute drive from Marrakech. The hotel is sign-posted from the main road, then maybe a kilometre down a gravel road to the hotel itself. Very clean grounds with lots of trees, clean air and singing birds. We took drinks and appetizers under one of the parisoled tables by the large, beautiful pool. The service was very friendly and efficient.

We then moved to the restaurant's covered, outdoor patio for lunch. I had saffron chicken with pasta, which was oustanding, and my companions both had an amazing steak (I tried some of the wife's entree...why not?). The food was moderately priced and worth every dirham! After our meal, we moved back to the pool-side for a fine dessert tray and after-meal spirits.

There are also several golf courses in the area and we saw guests carrying their golf-gear on the grounds.

I would recommend this hotel/restaurant as a relaxing afternoon escape or night (or 2) away from the chaos of Marrakech to unwind by the pool, soak up some sun and tranquility, or to have a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The pool, gardens, restaurant and salon are all very tastefully decorated. The children had lots of space to run around and the food at the restaurant was pretty good.

The service made this place stand out from everywhere else we stayed during our trip in Morocco. All the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating, including Emmanuelle, the manager who helped us a lot with travel advice and with the children. Generally noone seemed bothered by the kids and kept offering help - preparing their meals, letting them sleep in the salons, etc.

We slept in the tents. Despite Emmanuelle warning us about the heat (45 degrees during the day), we found it fine with 2 fans, and the beds were very comfortable.

All in all, this place is very professional and pleasant. The only problem is the location. While it isn't far from Marrakech, in practice it's expensive to get to Marrakech. I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay if you're planning to visit Marrakech a lot. But for a few days of relaxing by the pool, it's ideal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#198 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#291 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rose Sultan
Rose Sultan
#211 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vatel Hotel Golf & Spa
Vatel Hotel Golf & Spa
#437 of 512 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ksar Salha
Ksar Salha
#262 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
15.6 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#180 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Tameslohte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Tameslohte

Property: Domaine de Tameslohte
Address: | Bp 80 Tameslohte, Marrakech 42312, Morocco (Formerly Auberge de Tameslohte)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#194 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Tameslohte 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fifteen minutes from Marrakech, l'auberge de Tameslohte is the alliance of tradition and comfort. In a 1.5 ha park, in the heart of an olive grove, there exists a peaceful nest where you will be taken with the calms and conviviality. You will enjoy your meals in the restaurant or on the terrace. You will also greatly appreciate the swimming-pool, so refreshing in days of intense heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Tameslohte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Tameslohte Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing