We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The worst riad of our trip!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel's Riad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angel's Riad
Ranked #1,044 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst riad of our trip!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

We hated Angel's riad. Our initial impression was okay, but after our first conversation with the riad's owner, we sensed something fishy. When we told her we had booked a trip to the desert with a travel agency, she scoffed, saying, she could could have found us something MUCH cheaper. False. She wanted us to book with her Marrakech 'cronies' instead so she would get a cut of the money, not because her people were safer or better or cheaper. Then when we mentioned we wanted to go to a bath house and get henna, she insisted that SHE arrange it, and that we give our money to her directly. When we opted to arrange it ourselves, the owner got a serious attitude with us. The whole thing was creepy; we couldn't help but feel that she was ripping us off.

To make matters worse, we returned to our room one night only to discover an intolerably putrid smell, reminiscent of a serious sewage leak. It was so bad we couldn't bear it, and decided to tell to owner. When we went to her room, she was angry, saying "This is not my problem. I can do nothing!" Nothing?! Your guests are sleeping in a feces-scented room and you can do nothing? Unbelievable.

Then we got the bill. The owner tried to sneak in an extra night, saying we had stayed for 5 nights when we only stayed for 4. Did she think we wouldn't notice?

This was, without a doubt, our worst riad of an otherwise wonderful trip.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElisabethA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

Whilst this wonderful Riad is very accessible by taxi or even walking from the centre of the old town, it is hidden off the main street down a little back alley that twists and turns, making it wonderfully secluded. Once there (and I would recommend collection from the airport by Hassan), you cannot mistake the vibrant pink exterior. Claudia is a most gracious and welcoming host. Mint tea and delicious patisseries await your in your room. Ours was the suite, which was enormous, was delightfully decorated and had the most sumptious bathroom. Rooms are splayed around the central courtyard, which is open to the heavens, giving light and air. The riad is 10/15 minutes walk from the Place Jamaa el-Fna, and is located in the old Jewish quarter. This is hardly ever visited by tourists and is one of the few areas where you can get really lost (maps are of little help here) and not see another tourist until you emerge from the maze of little passagways. This can feel quite liberating or quite unnerving depending on how long you have been in Marakech.

Overall Angel's Riad is a wonderful retreat from the hectic, bustling fabulous city. It is also remarkable value and comes strongly recommended.

  • Liked — Beautiful interior, quiet haven, wonderful host.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrange taxi collection from airport, makes life a lot easier.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaelb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

What a fantastic place to stay. The riad has 5 beatifully decorated rooms with terraces plus a roof terrace where the very nice breakfasts are served. The riad is well located in a nice quiet area but within a few minutes stroll of The Place. Claudia, who owns the riad, could not be more helpful and she is ably assisted by Hassan and Sanaa. On request
Claudia will even arrange for Hassan to meet guests at the airport and can also provide an excellent evening meal if advance notice is given. Moroccan mint tea is also readily available together with local biscuits. This is a truly delightful place to stay and is highly recommended.

Helpful?
9 Thank jonesstreamside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2005

Heaven on Earth? There are angels everywhere in this delightful riad, situated near the Berrima Mosque. They are present in human form too in the shape of Claudia, Hassan and Sanaa, who look after you from the moment you step through the door.

We spent 3 fabulous nights in this lovely home at the beginning of November and enjoyed every moment of our stay here. Claudia, the owner who speaks seven languages, is a superb hostess and welcomes you with a huge smile every time she sees you.

We arrived a little early after taking the overnight train from Tangier, but she invited us to take breakfast, which was served in the patio by Hassan. It consisted of home made breads, fresh fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee, pastries etc and gave us a taste of what lay in store for us.

We left our bags and went off to explore the town. The riad is situated in the medina near the El Badi Palace and to get to the Jemaa el Fna square you simply cross the Place des Ferblantiers where the lamp makers do their work and set out their produce, then it's straight down a narrow lane to the square. I would say it's a ten minute walk, although it usually took us an hour or more, looking at the various small businesses plying their trade here.

On our return to the riad we were shown our room, which actually turned out to be the three rooms of the suite and our eyes opened wide as we looked around. Beautifully decorated, it is the type of place you look forward to coming back to after a day's exploring. Tea and biscuits are served during the afternoon although we always arrived back after dark to be greeted with candlelit lamps burning in the patio and hallway creating a magical effect.

There were always fresh flowers throughout the riad and we would find little surprises on our return like a small bowl of oranges or little pastries waiting for us. We enjoyed our first taste of Morocco and one of the major reasons was staying in Angel's Riad so we would not hesitate to return there and certainly recommend it as excellent value for money.

Pics of the riad can be found here, along with our Tangier and Marrakech photos. http://alaninspain.photosite.com/Marrakech/

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anchovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2005

Angel's riad is a bit further out than most, being close to the palace. I went in October 2005 and found it to be very clean and welcoming. Breakfast is served each morning, and if you come back during the day you will be given tea and biscuits. The owners are lovely and helpful. Downstairs you will find the local hamman, which is an experience, very enjoyable. I would recommend this riad to anyone who doesn't mind a bit of a walk (10 mins) to the square.

Helpful?
8 Thank Kallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#149 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel's Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Riad

Property: Angel's Riad
Address: 6 Derb Houara | Berrima, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,044 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing