We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The place needs work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
Ranked #273 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The place needs work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here with a tour group of about 35. Many of us switched out of our original rooms due to maintenance issues (air con didn't work, wind whistled through gaps in the windows, room safe wasn't functioning...and this was just our room). Hotel was good about switching us, but we didn't realize that the phone in our "new" room wasn't working until we getting ready to check out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    309
    273
    159
    103
See reviews for
214
305
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After having a rather horrifying first impression of Morocco, Atlas Asni rescued us from our dilemma, gave us complimentary meals and a cheap rate for two nights, I was in tears when I arrived and ready to leave the country, after meeting the hotel Manager and his staff, my feeling of the country completely changed and I had the most amazing time in Morocco. I credit Atlas Asni for laying the foundation for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Like other recent reviewers some of the things that I read about this hotel led me not to have great expectations of it. We were pleasantly surprised, the rooms were good and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was plentiful, but after 10 days I would have liked a little more variety.

The staff were helpful and efficient. If something was missing or empty on the breakfast buffet, then a polite request to a waiter resulted in it being delivered to your table promptly.

In order to keep our costs down we bought our alcoholic drinks(expensive in hotels and restaurants here) from the supermarket and kept them in our refrigerator in the room. There are inexpensive restaurants within 10 minutes walk, but for the real Marrakech eating experience head for Place Jemaa El Fna and eat on the stalls. We tried several of these and found stall number 1 was excellent whilst stall number 34 served bad food and attempted to rip us off.

When getting taxis from the hotel, the Taxi mafia outside try to rig prices. Walk a little way down the road and hail a passing cab. You should be able to bargain down to about half the price of the taxis outside the hotel or if you are really persuasive you might get them to use the meter (I only managed this once).

Room Tip: All rooms have pool views either the Atlas Asni pool or the Atlas Medina pool. You can use either po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical about this hotel. However, how pleasantly surprised I was. From when we checked in the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotless inside and out. We had the breakfast option in our room tariff which was good, every morning a variety of hot and cold food was available, there were plenty of clean tables to sit at. The pool area was of a high standard plenty of sun beds and towels to use. We ate at the bar/restaurant at lunch time on several occasions,they serve salads,sandwiches,paninis,pasta etc all of which again very nice and ood value. The bedrooms were clean and tidy with hairdryer,toliets,fridge,tv we didn't experience any noise from other guests at all, the only slight issue we had was the air conditioning wasn't brilliant, we changed rooms after the 1st night and the next room was better which was a relief as it was 45-47 degrees. We got taxis to the old part of the city which were plentyful outside the hotel, they cost roughly £5 each way. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and when we return to Marrakech will use this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JulieR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were travelling as a party of 15 when we had our flight home cancelled. BA arranged for us to be transported to this hotel and stay the night before re-arranging our flight home. It is about 10 mins on a bus from the airport. The reception lobby looks lovely - that's where it ends. We were checked in quite efficiently considering it was 180 people on the flight. The rooms are reasonably clean, the phone didnt work nor did the safe. There were twin beds with a TV which didnt work. The bathroom is functional not particularly well maintained. The restaurant had reserved seating for our flight, we checking in by 8.30pm and the restaurant closed at 9.30pm. It was a buffet style, there was hardly any food left when we got there. It was chicken and some pasta and a bit of salad. We were allowed 1 bottle of water free per table. All drinks had to be paid for in cash or card when ordered. They even offered to escort you to get the cash!! The major problem here is the staff. They are blatantly rude and unhelpful. I asked for a bottle of water to take to my room and was told "you give me cash". English is not spoken very well and considering the size of this hotel I was surprised at this. 2 of our party had their passports stolen. Their bag was on the back of their chair in the restaurant. The hotel refused to call a taxi so they could go to the police station, they were told to go into the street. We had to check out at 5.45am - the hotel did not inform everyone of this, they were supposed to alarm call everyone - some people only woke up when they heard people in the corridors with their luggage.

Im only glad I did not pay for this experience.

Just for the record the airport staff told us this was a 5* hotel !! Absolutely not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Atlas Asni as part of an escorted tour through Morocco. The lobby looks good and that is the best part of the hotel. The room was clean, but a little spartan. The bed was average, with only two pillows and one big snake like body pillow. Our phone did not work. The included breakfast buffet was awful and poorly laid out. The breakfast room almost looked unattended and tables went uncleared and dirty. Our room itself was cleaned well. There is a pool that looked nice, but we didn't go in. There is a bar that is extremely smoky, but drinks could be carried out. The hotel is located in an area that is a strip of hotels. You can walk to the Medina (Old City) but it would be a LONG walk, a cab ride would be better. Average place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wordman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I were not best pleased with this hotel- and a lot of it was down to the food and service.

We booked a little last minute as our original holiday was cancelled and I read some of these reviews hoping that reviewers were being overly critical and fussy but unfortunately a lot of the things noted in reviews below were true for us also.

The hotel cannot be faulted for its cleanliness and it has the 'look' of a 4* hotel - a beautiful lobby and pool certainly but it falls short in most other aspects.

I think we were most disappointed with the food and the general service. We didn't bother waking up for breakfast after a couple of days because it just wasn't worth it. There are guests constantly milling around the buffet because everyone is looking for cups, cutlery or plates- the hotel staff witness this but do not approach anyone and ask what they need. When we do ask for something, it takes an age to receive it. Like some other reviewers have noted- if you come down at nine, there is hardly anything left- repleninshing did not seem to be on their radar. And the food was simply not good.

We tried the pool bar/restaurant food two or three times and that was ok, however one lunchtime we waited for over half an hour for an omelette, chicken sandwich and a couple of Cokes by which point we gave up, cancelled the order and walked across the road for a meal. There seemed to be one waiter serving outdoor guests and he was hardly present- disappearing indoors most of the time.

If you don't mind walking, the hotel is a 30min walk to the medina or 30min in the direction of new town so you can walk to both locations and taxi fares were reasonable and most drivers willing to come down on price. This is one of the positives.

There is a lovely restaurant if you cross the road and walk right (towards the medina) called Al Dar - we went there a couple of times for dinner and enjoyed traditional Moroccan cuisine- staff were very friendly and helpful and they have a couple of entertaining belly dancers. Another good restaurant recommendation is Comptoir (best to get a reservation) if you want a little more fine dining- food was excellent and atmosphere lively. There is also a lovely cafe near the train station that does some lovely sorbets and ice cream flavours.

Another absolutely ridicilous thing was that the hotel did not have enough beach towels for the number of sun loungers- there were about 50+ sun loungers and only about 20 towels so we alongside other guests had to go up to our rooms and use our room towels- this was a first for us!! It is such a shame when the hotel has such a beautiful pool.

Language is somewhat problematic as very few people we encountered spoke English and most that did spoke very little. Menus in most cafes/restaurants were in French.

Wi-fi worked on and off throughout the day so if you need access to internet, be aware of that.
On a couple of occasions, we had room service just walk into our room without knocking which was unsettling to saw the least- after which we persisted in keeping the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door until we vacated the room.

The Jazz bar in the hotel is quite nice for a drink or two (and they usually have international football matches on), so we had a couple of drinks in there a couple of nights.

All in all however, I would not recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaaa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#173 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Idrissides
Hotel Les Idrissides
#158 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
7.7 mi away
Club Dar Atlas
Club Dar Atlas
#146 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#299 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#309 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#368 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Property: Hotel Atlas Asni
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing