We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #90 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was just beautiful!! Each room was uniquely decorated. It gave us true experience of Marrakech. Pierre gave us a very warm welcome. He gave us great recommendations!! You must trust his advise!! Only draw back was the confusion we experienced over ordering for breakfast. I guess the communication gap was a great challenge. It truly helped though that everyone was so willing to help and was oh so accommodating!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    60
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
234
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Lovely place to stay and good location, close to the souks but also far enough away to feel you have escaped! Stay starts with a meeting from Pierre who is very attentive and welcoming throughout stay. Breakfasts were delicious and lovely way to start the morning on the roof terrace. Yes there are some bees, but the honey is so delicious I'd probably want to take it back too if i was a bee! Easily dealt with by covering the honey (I'd do that in England too). Roof terrace looks on to old palace walls where you can watch the storks soaring overhead. It's a little noisy from the streets, but I'm not sure I'd expect anything different and it's quite charming if anything. Slept very well. Great cooking course with the Riad's dada and eating the food afterwards was lots of fun, would definitely recommend to friends to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in Dar Les Cigognes for 3 nights. Despite being fairly well travelled, I must say that Marrakech is the most overwhelming place I've been to, and sometimes not in a good way! You find you get scammed a lot and we were glad to take a day trip out to the Altas mountains to get away from it all. The hotel was a tranquil little island in the middle of the city. Small, but pretty. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff. We also did the market tour and cooking course which I think was a bit pricey. The spa is also very overpriced. Despite this, I would still recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great food, great service, and fantastic recommendations for places to go in Morocco.

The main complaint is that the rooms look into fairly small courtyards that don't let in much natural light. And the rooms have no outside windows. So if you want privacy and quiet (which is any time you're in your room) you need to close the doors and turn on the AC. As a result, it felt claustrophobic -- even though the rooms are pretty big.

A easy entry to Marrakech, but next time I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff are amazing. So helpful. The manager Pierre makes a point of meeting all the guests and produced a pack of the city of where to go and eat. Such a personal touch. The riad is gorgeous and the roof terrace is wonderfully. We saw the sister hotel riad Kaiss and the staff there were just as lovely. Recommend the riad.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajaa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend in Marrakech, and we could easily go back tomorrow.

The city is bonkers, in a brilliant way: a battering ram to the senses, noisy & vibrant, fragrant (mostly good, sometimes not so), hot, colourful and culturally rich.

After a long day's bartering for goods in the souks (mostly badly made toot to be honest, but some great bargains to be had), what's needed is a haven of calm and tranquility to regain your energy before venturing back out into the glorious mayhem. Riadh Dar Les Cigognes provides everything you need and more. Only a 10-15 minute stroll from the main square and souks, it is very well located, and overlooks the walls of the abandoned city palace, with its numerous nesting storks.

A beautiful riadh, immaculately clean, serene and intimate (only 11 rooms), the staff are extremely attentive and polite, and the atmosphere Heavenly. The GM Pierre is very friendly and knowledgeable, and provided some good recommendations of visits / places to eat (we highly recommend La Grande Cafe de la Poste).

Our room was a little small (we booked through Travel Republic and didn't seem to get a choice of room), but actually this was fine, it was all we needed. The bath was fab! There were larger rooms if this is what you want.

We didn't rate the food too highly either, but then this was probably more down to our tastes rather than the cooking, which was of undoubted quality (Pierre runs a cookery course, which although we did not partake apparently is well renowned and is worth it if you have the time). We chose to eat out instead, and despite all the well documented risks of doing so in Marrakech we had no issues. Just choose your establishments wisely and you'll be fine.

In short, we cannot recommend Dar les Cigognes highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Dar les Cigognes. It is a lovely quiet Riad in a very good location in the old town, within easy walking distance of the big square and other attractions in the Medina. We had a standard room which was fairly small but very comfortable and great shower pressure in the lovely bathroom with really good shampoo etc. Nice touches like fruit bowl on arrival, large bottle of water each day, tea in afternoons, beds turned down in the evening and a little box of biscuits on departure. Superb staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. They let us use another room on our departure day as our flight was not until 5:00 pm. Breakfasts on the roof garden, watching the storks build their nest opposite, were wonderful and a filling start to the day. We ate our first evening meal in the riad - it was OK but quite expensive and there are many more interesting restaurants to discover. I thought the hotel airport taxi was over priced at €25 each way. (An ordinary taxi would cost about €10 max.) However if you don't know where to go it may be a good idea to pay the extra.

Room Tip: The only difference between the superior and the deluxe rooms seemed to be that the latter were slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonB-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#234 of 500 in Marrakech
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
633 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 Rue DE Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing