We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace in crazy Marrakech”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #94 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Dar les Cigognes. It is a lovely quiet Riad in a very good location in the old town, within easy walking distance of the big square and other attractions in the Medina. We had a standard room which was fairly small but very comfortable and great shower pressure in the lovely bathroom with really good shampoo etc. Nice touches like fruit bowl on arrival, large bottle of water each day, tea in afternoons, beds turned down in the evening and a little box of biscuits on departure. Superb staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. They let us use another room on our departure day as our flight was not until 5:00 pm. Breakfasts on the roof garden, watching the storks build their nest opposite, were wonderful and a filling start to the day. We ate our first evening meal in the riad - it was OK but quite expensive and there are many more interesting restaurants to discover. I thought the hotel airport taxi was over priced at €25 each way. (An ordinary taxi would cost about €10 max.) However if you don't know where to go it may be a good idea to pay the extra.

Room Tip: The only difference between the superior and the deluxe rooms seemed to be that the latter were slig...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonB-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Dar Les Cigognes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

So if you want an authentic Moroccan experience in all its glory ....a wonderful Riadh that has incredible carved ceilings , courtyards of tranquillity with trees and rosepetals , staff who want SO much that you feel at home , a charming roof terrace and rooms that are like miniature Aladdins caves .... Sure , there is no tv , the water temperatures can vary , breakfast service is a little wobbly when too many people turn up at the same time , but that is part of the Moroccan experience . If you take a suite they will light a fire for you ( very romantic ) they were happy to provide ice and glasses for our Duty Free , they changed the dinner menu just for us and all their recommendations were accurate and helpful . A great situation in the old town , surrounded by nesting storks and palaces , this is not to be missed ..we did not try their Hammam , but we wished we had !! Fantastic local shampoos and creams

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful ... very large baths if limited hanging space
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here with my wife in Feb 2014, Dar les cigognes is a wonderful place , the staff are just great , we didnt have any complaints at all, I would recommend a suite its just a wonderful place to relax after a day in Marrakech , which is needed.

We didnt do any tours or anything like that just found our own way around which is often the best way , you can never get lost just keep going and you will find your way back to jemaa el fna .

Try eating at the small cafes used by the locals , it might look rough but its all safe, I never got any food poisoning, only this is true Marrakech.

The wait at the airport for passport control is so boring , it took us over 1 hour to get our passports stamped .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jono3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

So I've just got back from five days in stunning Marrakech. The place was wonderful, the people friendly and the sun fantastic. But you know what? The thing that made the holiday for me was the Dar les Cigognes and in particular it's brilliant staff.

Quite simply, they cannot do enough for you - nothing is too much for them - and the result is that the riad becomes a haven in the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

True, the building is beautiful and is really well looked after, the location is great (close to museums, souks and Jemaa el Fna) and the roof terrace is lovely. But if you go for only one reason, go to be pampered by one of the best groups of staff you will find anywhere.

I'm going back for sure! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent four glorious days over the New Year holidays. Pierre and his staff were the ultimate hosts. Upon arrival Pierre sat us down and briefed us on all the good things to expect during our stay while his staff served delicious sweet pastries and tea. The facility is very well appointed in old world charm, the food served on the roof terrace was absolutely delectable and the service was impeccable. We've been travelling for many, many years and stayed in hotels throughout Europe, the US and the Caribbean and never before have we felt so special, pampered and at home. Marrakech itself is safe at all times even at midnight in the dark alleys of the square when lights go out. We happened to catch a light failure late at night and never felt safer, in fact it was quite fun. Make sure you take the Hammam, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed, though the Harem room could use a thorough vacuum. We had one dinner that was excellent, and breakfast was served up on the lovely terrace. We took a cooking class with Alain. He took us through the spice market prior to cooking, and that was a highlight of our stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights of utter bliss.
Firstly the riad is beautiful, clean, well presented and the perfect getaway from the rush of the city.
The staff here make this riad stand out. The help with organising dinner, trips and events was fantastic. Summarised by the great guide book they have put together of their favourites. The cookery courses are also great and very individual.
This riad is well located a short walk from all that is important.

Room Tip: The 'safari' room was really lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 502 in Marrakech
678 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Infinity Sea
Riad Infinity Sea
#124 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#101 of 502 in Marrakech
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#159 of 502 in Marrakech
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 Rue DE Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $87 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing