We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad - perfectly located and definately recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #96 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad - perfectly located and definately recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What is not to love about this Riad. Perfectly located just moments away from all the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. As soon as you step in you will instantly feel calm. This gorgeously decorated Riad really makes you feel like you are in an unpretentious but authentic part of Morocco. Staff are so welcoming and personal. We can not falter the short time we spent at the Riad only wished we booked to stay longer.

Value for money, well located and amazing spa treatments. Definitely recommend a hamman and massage after a long day out in the Souks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripA6visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    53
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
218
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived the night before my husband's birthday and were met by Pierre. It was a very friendly and and informative welcome. On the recommendation of a couple leaving we booked the cookery course for the next day as well as a Hamman for the birthday boy. Both were amazing and Pierre gave us a fascinating tour of the local Markets.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast on the roof terrace is a must. We especially enjoyed watching the storks nesting on the palace towers opposite.
Pierre gave us a lovely send off in the taxi after joining us for refreshments and a gift of pastries.
We fully intend to return to Dar les Cigognes on our next visit to marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeyfollowers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad in a good location a short walk from the central square . The manager and all his team were absolutely lovely, friendly, calm and helpful. We stayed in the Silver room. It didn't disappoint, the interior was stunning. It has a lux feel without being over the top or garish. The rest of the Riad has wonderful interiors with great attention to detail.

We took the opportunity to do the 1/2 day cooking course. It was a great introduction to Morrocan cooking. We had an interested tour of the local produce markets, then back to the hotel kitchen for an extensive lesson of 6 dishes. Followed by lunch on the terrace enjoying all we'd cooked. It was a little pricey, but if cooking's your thing well worth it.

The only disappointment was the the airport transfer cost €25 each way. I'd recomend a taxi to and from the airport as they're easy to come by and its only a 15 min drive costing approx £7.

Thanks for a great stay, I'll be recommending the Riad to friends traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyRud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers. Especially for sharing your experiences about your room and the cooking classes, and general level of service.

Regarding airport transfers, and transfers generally. We use an outside transport company. We have chosen this company for several reasons. 1. They invoice us and pay their taxes (ie. they declare their revenues; 2. They are licensed to carry tourists; 3. They are insured; 4. Their drivers are professional, safe, courteous and reliable; 5. They have nice, clean cars (please note that there is close to 100% import duty on cars not made in Morocco); 6. Our guests have never complained about their service.

The statistics on road safety in Morocco are not appealing. You are 29 times more likely to be killed in an auto accident in Morocco than you are in the United Kingdom. Many people drive without drivers licenses, and without insurance. This includes taxi drivers. Many of our hotel competitors employ a driver and use their own car or have informal arrangements with outside drivers; in the vast majority of these instances, they do not have the required permits, licenses, or insurance to carry tourists. This can result in stops by the police, delays, hassles, and in the worst case of an accident, a client's insurance claim could be invalidated.

We prefer to focus on our guests' comfort and safety. We do not make our guests use this service, any are welcome to make alternative arrangements, but we do recommend it. As a member of the British Business Group of Marrakech, we adhere to the same ethical and legal standards that would be expected of us were we doing business in Britain. We ask that our suppliers do the same. Most clients appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited Marrakech in June 2013. Our room was out of this world. Pierre the Hotel manager was beyond helpful in organising a day trip to the High Atlas Mountains with 'Bruce' the driver and a booking for dinner at Le Tobsil where the journey there, as we were led down tiny winding alleyways from the car, was part of the magical experience. We breakfasted each morning on the rooftop terrace of the Hotel which provided a calm oasis before the chaos of Marrkech proper each day. After exploring on foot and immersing ouselves in the sights, sounds and smells of such a mad city, the only way to unwind was with a Hammam in the basement. Afterwards, sunset drinks, 5 minutes walk away at Kosybar in Place des Ferblantiers, was about as much effort as our relaxed states could manage. A thoroughly lovely Hotel with helpful, attentive staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble, to ensure our stay was fabulous.
Take wet wipes in case you get 'henna'd' in the main square of Jemaa el Fna!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

An architecturally beautiful hotel with a stunning roof terrace. If you do stay, DO have a hammam, the steam room itself is beautiful apart from the health and relaxation benefits of a good scrub down! You'll feel like a million dollars afterwards. The manager was very welcoming and informative. Our room was beautiful. Couldn't fault anything so far . . .

However, for a restaurant/s that prides itself on its food, we were somewhat disappointed, since this was one of the reasons for booking the Dar Les Cigognes in the first place. The choice for dinner on the night we arrived was a set menu comprising two salad starters, two tajine main courses (one chicken, one vegetable) and two deserts. Incidentally, this was the same menu offered at lunch. We ordered one each of the salads, they were ok, nothing special; the chicken tajine was excellent though; only one of the deserts ordered was available and that was an extremely dense and extremely sweet chocolate mousse.

The following day, we visited their sister Riad Kaiss for lunch as it is highly recommended by Dar les Cigognes. A reservation was made for us to have a late lunch. This time there was no menu; we were told that we could have a chicken sandwich or a meatball tajine. We had a rather passable salad (I've eaten far better salads in the most ordinary Moroccan restaurants) followed by a rather disappointing meatball stew, which was not actually served in a tajine. We were told that we couldn't have wine because there was nobody to serve us. We waited so long for the meal that we had to eat in a hurry and run to catch our taxi to the airport. A salad and a meatball stew for two and two bottles of water came to MAD 529.80, probably the worst value meal in two and a half weeks in Morocco.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Our breakfast was delicious. However, for a hotel which prides itself on its food, offers cookery classes and acted as a venue for Yotam Ottolenghi's food programme on Moroccan cuisine, the management needs to look at what it offers its guests for lunch and dinner. I have eaten far better Moroccan cuisine at half the price in the most humble eateries in Marrakech, the Atlas mountains and Essaouira. I think you need to do better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Found the trip on Trip Advisor, and stayed here with my partner, the previous reviews are entirely accurate, this is the most amazing hotel.

Situated on a scruffy little street a very unassuming entrance leads you basically to paradise. The helpful and very welcoming Pierre gives a quick induction to those that have not braved Marrakech before. The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the Harem room) and a lovely breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace each morning. The hotel is a short walk away from pretty much everything you need, and Pierre is very helpful in coming up with some great restaurant choices.

We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishopsgate3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to marrakesh in a group of 9 university friends for a week and the staff at the riad , in particular Pierre , made the trip. Pierre helped us to organise everything from dessert excursions to Hammans to sightseeing and eating and drinking and more.

Before and during the trip the staff ensured our trip was tailored to us specifically, always happy to field questions and provide insight on the what when and how questions of marrakesh

The riad itself is beautiful, well located , and tranquil. I couldn't reccomend this riad and it's staff any more highly

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#109 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing