We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Relaxation and Impeccable Service at Dar Les Cigognes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #91 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luxury, Relaxation and Impeccable Service at Dar Les Cigognes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I cannot recommend Dar Les Cigognes highly enough. Close enough to all the action of the souks and Djemaa el-Fna square, but far enough off the main drag to afford guests some much-needed peace and quiet from all the madness, it really is a hidden gem - an oasis of exclusivity, tranquility and calm and the absolutely perfect base for any visit to Marrakech. From the moment we arrived, every need or request was looked after by the welcoming, knowledgeable and consummate professional Pierre and his superb team - from mint tea and homemade cakes on the terrace courtesy of Hammid, to tips on daytrips and evening plans from Sanna, and even a little box of homemade goodies for our return transfer to the airport - the team were always polite and helpful but not overbearing, and everything was designed with our comfort, enjoyment and convenience in mind. Our room - Safari - was beautiful with everything you might need - a comfy bed, easy-to-use safe, plenty of storage space, luxurious bathroom and indulgent toileteries - and a few rose petals thrown in! The roof terrace is beautiful - with views on one side of nesting storks and on the other of the Atlas Mountains. We were also able to enjoy the rooftop pool at its sister riad, the Riad Kaiss (another beautiful spot with fantastic staff) and were lucky enough to have it to ourselves on two occassions - pure indulgence! My only reservation in leaving this review is that I want to keep the secret to myself - but otherwise would say go ahead and book with confidence, if you ever get the opportunity to experience this magical place - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    53
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
218
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Dar Les Cigognes in March and the start of peak season, we were picked up by a drive organised via the hotel (about 25 euros) unfortunately he was a little late, but this was soon forgotten when we arrived at our lovely Riad and were greeted by Pierre and his team. The friendly and attentive welcome extended throughout the trip. Nothing was too much to ask and the team did all they could to make our stay wonderful.
Every day they team would ask me what our plans were, if we needed help getting there and if we wanted them to book a restaurant. All the restaurants they booked were great!

Room Tip: Sometimes there was a little bit of noise when the cleaners were cleaning the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This riad is a hidden gem. As riads go they never look like much from the outside, ah but then wait until you step inside and into a different world. You are given a warm welcome with mint tea and candied oranges. Then the capable and charming Pierre takes over and organizes an evening out on the town (according to preference in a traditional restaurant or a more modern setting) including chauffeur. He is also is in the know when it comes to things to do, where to shop or have a day at the spa.

The rooms transport you to a scene from Arabian Nights. The breakfast on the roof top with views of the snow covered Atlas is magnificent as is the fresh orange juice and scrumptious breakfast.

This is definitely a fine place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's the real concept of a riad: the perception from the outside is nonexistent. The connection is made by a door and there is only one window to the busy street. Once you enter you change into a different dimension, listening to the water running in the fountain.
The manager was always very helpful giving great suggestions.
The room was great.
The breakfast on the terrace was so cool!
I recommend this place and there's really nothing negative to point!

Room Tip: Pick the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Dar les Cigognes for 9 nights in January and had a wonderful time. As our stay was spilt by some time in the desert we had the good fortune to stay in both the Safi suite and the Silver suite. Both were gorgeous - very different - but lovely in their own ways. The Safi suite was very very quiet if that is important to you. The rooms are individually and thoughtfully decorated and I'm sure they are all fabulous. The property is impeccably maintained. As others have mentioned, the roof terrace is charming and a lovely spot to enjoy breakfast or a drink at sunset.
Of course there are many beautiful riads in Marrakech so it can be very difficult to select one. What makes this a superb choice is the service, which was professional and warm at all times. Not overly invasive, but still friendly and highly competent. The manager, Pierre, was wonderful. He greeted us on arrival and took the time to provide us with very helpful information about Marrakech. His restaurant recommendations were perfect for us. In my opinion, the service is what elevates this riad above many others and is the main reason why we will return in the future.
We enjoyed a few dinners at the riad and they were all very nice. The table was beautifully set and the timing perfect, with us never having to wait too long for dishes. The chicken and preserved lemon tagine was the best that we had in Marrakech. Breakfast was also good, we loved the fresh orange juice and homemade yoghurt.
I was very happy with the location of the riad - an enjoyable 10 minute walk to the main square and souks. Close to some nice boutique shops and restaurants, both palaces and a little quieter than being right next to the square. We felt very safe whilst walking around the area, even at night. I definitely recommend shopping at Rue de la Liberte in the new city as there are some stunning things to buy there as well as some great cafes and restaurants.
Overall I can't really fault our stay at Dar les Cigognes, we had a wonderful time and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We loved the Safi suite - it was very spacious, quiet and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neareststar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Dar Les Cigognes was a perfect, charming place to stay in the middle of Marrakech. The staff were immensely helpful - especially the delightful manager, Pierre - and extremely pleasant. The riad feels like you are staying in a private house with an elegant understated old world quality. The roof terrace is enchanting and a perfect oasis of peace and wonderful views. After a session in the lovely hamam, followed by a delicious massage, I felt and looked ten years younger. It was all sheer heaven. Best for couples, friends and solo.
Great stuff! Coline C

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the Dar Les Cigognes for 7 night stay last week and it was even more beautiful than we had expected! I had emailed the hotel in advance to ask advice about getting from the airport to the Riad they suggested booking a car for ease. As this was our first trip to Marrakech it made total sense as it can be very daunting trying to negotiate a cab, plus you can't get Dirhams until you get to the airport so we breezed past the massive cue of tourist's trying to get cash!

Once we arrived at the Riad we were greeted by the very charming Pierre who gave us loads of fantastic advice which allowed us to plan our week. Once we arrived at our room we were astounded! It was beautiful, clean and beautifully designed. There were a few teething problems with the room after the first night but they were very quickly sorted. We had a Hamam at the hotel which was wonderful, not the cheapest around but nice and easy being in the hotel. Everyday Pierre or one of his colleagues would ask if we needed anything booking and they provided us with bus time tables and advice when bartering, nothing was too much trouble. Although we did book a restaurant through the hotel one night we found this expensive and the food wasnt brilliant. We found it more fun braving the food stalls at the market (Stall no. 31 do the best sausages!)

Overall I couldnt rate this hotel highly enough it was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and the staff are wonderful. I cant wait to go back with my partner for a romantic weekend!

Thanks again Pierre!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emzjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#110 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing