We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best place to stay in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #90 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the Dar Les Cigognes for 7 night stay last week and it was even more beautiful than we had expected! I had emailed the hotel in advance to ask advice about getting from the airport to the Riad they suggested booking a car for ease. As this was our first trip to Marrakech it made total sense as it can be very daunting trying to negotiate a cab, plus you can't get Dirhams until you get to the airport so we breezed past the massive cue of tourist's trying to get cash!

Once we arrived at the Riad we were greeted by the very charming Pierre who gave us loads of fantastic advice which allowed us to plan our week. Once we arrived at our room we were astounded! It was beautiful, clean and beautifully designed. There were a few teething problems with the room after the first night but they were very quickly sorted. We had a Hamam at the hotel which was wonderful, not the cheapest around but nice and easy being in the hotel. Everyday Pierre or one of his colleagues would ask if we needed anything booking and they provided us with bus time tables and advice when bartering, nothing was too much trouble. Although we did book a restaurant through the hotel one night we found this expensive and the food wasnt brilliant. We found it more fun braving the food stalls at the market (Stall no. 31 do the best sausages!)

Overall I couldnt rate this hotel highly enough it was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and the staff are wonderful. I cant wait to go back with my partner for a romantic weekend!

Thanks again Pierre!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emzjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    53
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
218
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome with mint tea and lots of helpful tips from the manager, Pierre. The riad was very tastefully refurbished and an oasis of calm and tranquility after the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. One of the big pleasures was eating a leisurely breakfast on the roof terrace with a view of the storks' nests on the walls of the Badi Palace. The food was truly delicious, particularly the home-made jams and the baked pastries. The riad was so lovely it was hard to tear ourselves away to go out sight-seeing! We recommend booking the airport transfer service through the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just got back from 4 days in Marrakech and stayed at Dar Les Cigognes. After choosing it based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor I have to agree with all the previous comments.

The Riad is beautiful. The room we stayed in had all the traditional aspects you would want to see in a Riad, with little alcoves, ornate ceilings and beautiful Morrocan ornaments. On top of that it was immaculately clean and had all the modern amenities that you would expect. The communal areas are lovely and the terrace was a particular highlight of our stay. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning and drinks on the terrace in the evening was a great way to relax and look out across the city.

The welcome on arrival was friendly and informative. The management were happy to offer advice and arrange any trips. Their recommendations were great and really added to our experience. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The location is very central. The Riad is next to the palace and is a 10 minute walk to the main square. We walked everywhere during our stay with ease and felt safe doing so, even very late at night.

Overall a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place could not have been better. First - the people who work there are friendly, knowledgeable and completely willing to go out of their way to make your experience perfect. They felt like family by the time we left (and we have still kept in contact with them). The location is close to everything you'd want to go to, but wasn't noisy or chaotic.

The food was excellent - when we got in the first night around midnight, they had everything set up for us in a private dining room. Breakfast on the roof was easily one of the best parts of the trip. They bring you coffee (or tea), entirely too much good food and you can sit back and enjoy the shade while looking over the city.

Our room is prettier than the pictures, and was incredibly clean. The entire riad is well taken care of - even the kitchen was beautiful!

Most importantly, the people who work at the hotel will set up anything that you want to do. You don't have to worry about being ripped off because they work out the price ahead of time, so no concerns about getting there and suddenly the price going up. Everyone should take a cooking class - not only did we learn to cook remarkable food, but we got to know the people who worked in the riad even better.

Everyone who steps foot in Marrakesh should stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blakely m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent 3 nights with my husband as my birthday gift... Although we took close to 45 mins from the bus station as we have taken a wrong turn, but on arrival we we welcomed with warmth and made the walk really worth while.. We later learnt from Pierre the manager that unfortunately the maps of Marrekech are never up to date and they are too many small lanes, which led to to leave our dinner and sight-seeing plans with them...their staff are always friendly and the food are freshly made, and they even accomodated and I had my last lunch upon request...
Their rooms feels really rustic especially the painting on the roof were amazing.
Last little plus- upon check out they have even filled in out exit immigation cards..
Big bravo and we are sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felyntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, General Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When my wife and I decided to spend a week in Marrakech before Christmas, we booked the “Dar les Cigognes” due to the good reviews on the web. After seven wonderful, entertaining and relaxing days in this little boutique hotel in an immaculately restored historic riad, I can approve those excellent testimonials.
The rooms and the common areas feature the typical Moroccan Arts and Crafts style. If the weather permits breakfast and dinner is served on the roof top terrace, which provides distance views of the Atlas Mountains. From there you can also watch the storks that gave the hotel its name. They nest on the battlements of the royal palace opposite the hotel. In the basement of the building the hotel has its own Hammam. The little restaurant of the hotel serves a mix of French and Moroccan Cuisine of excellent quality.
The location of the hotel is conveniently close to the Medina and the souks, yet quite and secluded in the local neighborhood.
All these aspects contributed to our splendid time, but the main reason why I strongly recommend this place to any traveler who prefers the personal style and charm of a local boutique hotel over generic international business hotels or huge modern luxury hotels in Marrakech like the “La Mamounia” is the courtesy, friendship and warmth that all of the staff offered. Pierre the manager is very considerate and at the same time entertaining. He is not only very knowledgeable in regard to Marrakech its history and all sights one might be interested to visit, he also arranged every evening great restaurants, bars and clubs for us. Due to his very educated shopping recommendations I had to get an additional suitcase for our journey back to Berlin.
Further I can highly recommend the cooking class we had at the hotel’s restaurant. After we toured the local market for spices and produce, we learned how to cook five different traditional dishes and finally got them served for lunch at the roof top terrace. If you enjoy cooking this is definitely a fun way to take home some new skills and recopies.
Should we return to Marrakesh in the future, I can assure you that we will return to the Dar Les Cigognes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I must say, they are very helpfull, I emailed them and there was immidiate response. We stayed here for two nights, and on the website it looks very nice. And it actually does, but when we arrived in our room we were dissapointed. Also there was a on- and off going of a (i don't know what it was!) machine, wich was loud and not very calming, and you could here the road outside. We did mention this to the manager but all the rooms were fully booked. Anyway, I think for this price, you can do soooo much better!

Room Tip: Take a room wich is not on the road, you will sleep so much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10En
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#36 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#111 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing