We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic friendly little escape, great retire.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #93 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Merida, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A romantic friendly little escape, great retire.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Jorge S
This beautiful charming little hotel receive us with a so friendly staff. My wife, me and our 9 months little daughter; who has been received with so much carrying and friendly love.
The place is perfect to forget everything out of there and relax with a nice book and a nice meal, Great cook.
Easy to move all around the old town of Marrakech and out of there.
we expect to come back soon.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    54
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
32
218
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I came to the Dar Les Cigognes for our 16th wedding anniversary. Our first trip to Marrakech, this was a great place to stay. The beds were very comfortable, the staff nice and professional, the ambiance very romantic. My brother was going to be in Marrakech a week later and we recommended the hotel to him as well. He of course stayed and loved it as well. Will visit again soon. This was a first class holiday all the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Amazing hotel, every detail is perfectly thought to create the magic that Marrakech emanates.
The chef has a perfect conception of how to show all the different flavors of the Morrocan food.
Service was amazing. It is defenetly one of those places to come back more than once.
Thank you for many magical moments.
J.

Room Tip: I personally like Higher floors to get a better view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

myself my mother and sister came here for a few days for a mini break, when we first arrived we were a little unsure of what to expect but as soon as you step into this beautiful little riad you are welcomed into a mini paradise, staff who work there can not do enough for you, full of smiles and eager to tend to your every need.we had a wonderful time and felt completely relaxed by the end of our stay. food was wonderful and we often sat right at the top eating and drinking whilst the blue sky and sun beamed down on us. our room was also amazing, we did go to the square and sooks, bartering was fun to start with but got a little annoying come the end and some sellers can be really rude, but all part of the experience! wonderful for an adult break. the manager Laurent Ortega deserves an award! brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakech (and our first holiday without children) and this Riad was a perfect choice! So comfortable and relaxing and we were made to feel so welcome – all the staff were very attentive and polite. The Riad had been beautifully renovated and the décor was lovely. The food was amazing – the full breakfast definitely worth having and the evening meal served on the roof terrace was superb and so peaceful. There were so many lovely touches, like rose petals on the bed at night, wine served on a silver tray with rose petals on the roof terrace and (tasty) biscuits left in your bedroom at night! Marrakech itself is vibrant and bustling, although sometimes exhausting, so the Riad was a perfect antidote to all the goings on in the city itself! The only very small criticism I would have is there were a few slightly worn areas which could do with some attention (peeling paper on the ceiling of our bedroom and small area of tiles missing on the roof terrace), but these are only small things which would in no way put me off, but I would expect to be remedied due to the 5-star status of the Riad. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay – I would go back without hesitation and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and this forum.

Maintenance issues that can inconvenience guests we often do together when we close the hotel for a few days to address these bigger jobs (replacing tiles, redoing ceilings, repairing tadelakt walls) as they can cause dust and noise.

This year, our annual maintenance closure is taking place in August. All of these repairs and many others will be complete by the end of this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our stay at Dar Les Cigognes far exceeded our expectations. Our staff, particularly Hayat & Hajiba were friendly, warm, and ready to help us in any way. The service was so personal, they often proactively assisted us w/ getting tickets to the music festival or offering advice on shopping without even being asked. The riad common areas and rooms are beautifully maintained with careful attention to detail including hand carved Moroccan designs, warm lighting, rose petals in the main riad fountain, and the soft scent of jasmine and orange blossoms in the air. The exceptional sincerity and friendliness of the staff combined with the beautiful design of the riad give off such a cozy and warm vibe, we truly felt we were staying w/ friends vs a hotel. The roof top terrace served as our own private oasis under the stars, away from the bustling streets of Marrakech. The riad is located walking distance from the Jna el Fna and the souks, the heart of the city. If you're looking for a place that makes you feel "at home" with friends, surrounded by positive and warm energy then this is definitely the riad to consider ! I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anni621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel Dar Les Cigognes was a wonderful experience for us in every way. On a dusty and chaotic street in the middle of everything, it is a real oasis. We were almost worried when we saw how plain the door was, but when you step inside it is just magic. The fountain filled with flowers splashing away, and the noises of the outside fade away. Inside all is calm, and the service is super friendly. Smiles, smiles, smiles and nothing too big to ask for.

They helped us ship our shopping home, organising the shippers and the packing. they have a great in-room guide with helpful tips which we found gave better addresses than our guidebook and was very practical as it told you how to walk everywhere. It helped us "go local" and plunge headlong into the souks on our own.

We had a cooking class with the chef who is a wonderful teacher, full of tips and suggestions and learned how to make couscous from scratch. It tasted so much better than the boxed stuff that we will definitely be making it at home.

Our bedroom was beautifully and tastefully decorated, the bed was super comfortable. They gave us water, fruit, and the turn down service with rose petals is just magic. The view from the roof at sunset is just so wonderful with the minarets in the background and the walls of the palace right in front of you with the storks clacking their beaks. Really memorable.

it was hard to tear ourselves away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46122LoLo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#92 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ilayka
Riad Ilayka
#109 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing