We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Solid basic hotel in central spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriem Hotel
Ranked #330 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solid basic hotel in central spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

For around £30-40 per night this hotel does what you'd expect. I've read other reviews and wondered a little what people were expecting for the price. It is a basic hotel, clean but not spotless with pleasant effective staff from my experience.

It has a large pleasant foyer, petit taxis outside for which 25Dirhams gets you most places with some haggling, and smallish but functional rooms. We had to swap hours as the double bed we booked was two-singles but that was done with no fuss. Ours had working air-con (though it was a different unit from the original fitted to the room) & some great English speaking TV channels with movies on for free (Channel 2). All the floors were regularly bleached & mopped though occasionally the doors etc looked like they had some splashes up them from that kind of cleaning.

Being completely honest, the rooms were much smaller & older than the website pictures so i'm guessing there may be a slowish refurb going on. Also, having stayed quite a bit in Marrakech, the breakfast is quite limited by comparison to others (mainly breads & a little cereal). It was also quite chaotic & we ended up having to sit at tables that had not been cleaned from previous guests.

The only other minor downside was the hotel had a coach-party or two whilst we were there - given the price not that surprising. They arrived late, talked in the corridors until later & then were up early often shouting/dragging luggage about.

Overall though a perfectly acceptable hotel for the price & as I say you really are paying for a good central location - you can walk to some nice local restaurants (Bagatelle, Jo's, Trattoria) & shops in 5mins. Go with lower expectations than the website pictures (+ skip the b'fast) & use it as a base to enjoy the city!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    161
    133
    76
    68
See reviews for
146
165
39
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Its not a 4 star hotel but more like a 3 star.
Didn't hate it but didn't love it either.
The room: booked a double room; it's average in size. The bathroom
Is also average. No balcony. Please be aware that only superior rooms have a balcony and are larger in size (a bit misleading across some booking websites).
It was made up each day and swept.
Fridge and sitcom excellent.
Best thing was the honest housekeeping - nothing was taken. Having stayed in Marrakech 3 times before money was or makeup was always stolen from other hotels (worst being imperial holiday hotel).
Hotel: big and clean - 2 pools always clean as was the courtyard. Free wifi in rooms and throughout the hotel. 24 hour front desk - lovely older man in the evening who is very helpful.
Staff: mainly kept themselves to themselves - no pestering of excursions which was good. If you needed something they were attentive. Fairly friendly. I did hear a group of people getting told off for bringing food into the hotel ( I also did but they didn't say a word to me).
Breakfast: not the best in Marrakech that some hotels offer. Very Basic but did us ok.
Three sweet pastries (eg croissant)
Boiled eggs
French bread and Moroccan bread
Olives
Jam
Butter
Yoghurt
Cornflakes
On some mornings a lady will make a few Moroccan pancakes.
Major downside - once its gone it's gone.. They don't refill plates! So get down there early!
To be honest we went to a local cafe for breakfast and had a better one there.
Location: 5 mins walk from Zara and McDonald's
10 mins walk to train station
45 min walk to djem el fna /kotoubia
Taxi to katoubia should only cost 20 dirhams max
Taxi to al mazar cost 26 dirhams on Meter.
Everything is walkable if you don't mind the heat.
All in all - a clean basic hotel in a decent location with average rooms. would I stay here again? Perhaps.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank True-review83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I didn't make the booking, my friend did. When I looked at the reviews, I thought 'Oh No'. I was pleasantly surprised. You're not staying at the Hilton, but neither are you paying for it. Very central to most things. The staff are friendly. Yes, the pool is cold, but it's refreshing after being in the sun! It seems a lot of people are complaining about the breakfast. If you want an English Breakfast, then stay in England! you're in Morocco for goodness sake. The pastries were an absolute delight, as was the bread. A great place to stay if you're looking for value for money. Please don't be put off. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be the tea is too weak, and that's it.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor near the lift, so heard the lift. balcony was huge and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_l_c_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Meriem Hotel Marrakech. For what we paid for the week, we weren't disappointed. The hotel and rooms were spotless, cleaned every day. Staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you (especially Mamoud). The food wasn't too bad, somedays better than others but could always find something to eat. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I write this for the benefit of like minded Europeans looking for nothing more than 4 star service. My job is hotel Inspection and u wasn't looking for anything near perfect just a relaxing holiday. I have no idea how they base the hotel star ratings in morocco but this hotel is nothing short of a disaster. Firstly if you enjoy an alcoholic beverage forget this hotel you cannot enjoy an ice cold beer by the pool there is no alcohol served or allowed on the premises. You have to buy all drinks and food in the hotel you are not allowed to bring so much as a bottle of water from outside the hotel which would be half the price as what the hotel charge, without the staff stopping you and being abusive. No understanding of customer service at all, the only nice guy to talk to was rachid at concierge all the others are angry looking and abrupt. Ironically they have a huge section dedicated to concierge but not so much as a map of the area. If u don't speak french or Arabic forget it you will get nowhere. The breakfast is a cereal joke forgive the pun. No scrambled or fried egg but they do offer a hard boiled egg as stale croissants and other dodgy pastry items. god only knows what the kitchen hygiene is like. Please please this hotel is not worthy of two stars avoid avoid avoid....all the other terrible reviews for this hotel are completely factual, our holiday was completely ruined. I was able To have half my bill waivered but not after hours of arguing and threats to get the police involved. I would not wish this experience on somebody I very much dislike !! Avoid avoid avoid at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Broendby, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room service was good, but nothing was working in room´s. TV was very old had bad signal. toilet water was running. the Bath tub and wash basin was blocked. the restaurant personal´s wasn't friendly. Swimming pool was in shadow, wasn't useable .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Said Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the above hotel. Very clean and food excellent. However, although the gentleman owner was lovely I did find his wife quite miserable and money orientated. I had been told when I got there that the wifi cost would see my through my entire stay - however, after 7 days it logged off and the lady owner wanted me to pay another £20 for two days. I did argue with this as this is not what I was told. However, she would not budge.
The hotel is centrally located and so you can walk or cycle to most places. would recommend hotel but watch out on your bill as nothing is itemized so keep a check on what you spend, so you only pay for what you have.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelsmagic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#475 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#133 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#356 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#162 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#370 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Property: Meriem Hotel
Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#184 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing