We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriem Hotel
Ranked #337 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night on the 05/03 and it was fantastic. The rooms are comfortable. The service is impeccable and the cuisine is delicious. Breakfast was included which was great.
Service was top notch! Hassna Kadani was especially helpful and welcoming. I will return To hotel Meriem every time I'm in marakesh.

Mrs. Alaoui Mhamdi Rachida

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    167
    135
    77
    70
See reviews for
152
167
39
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My first point is to the poster who said that those complaining about not being able to bring in their own food and drink showed a lack of respect, only to later post they have a stash of alcohol in their suitcase!! What an ignorant fool.
I'll start with the positives. After 3 days in the High Atlas we arrived fearing the worst. Our fears were seemingly unfounded when we arrived in a very pleasant lobby area.
The staff are extremely helpful and polite, the maids, the waiting staff, the concierges etc. We found no fault here. It seems Moroccans love their children and as we had our 14 month old daughter we had a slight advantage.
The food, unlike commented on previously, was very good for buffet food. The breakfast was ample with a great range and a selection of freshly prepared pastries and breads. The evening buffet was equally good. Local Moroccan and fresh. Quite overpriced at 170dh, though we were offered ours at 120 per person, though not really sure of the reason why.
The staff work tirelessly on the cleanliness of the pool area and it is spotless. It also makes a beautiful location for eating.
Unfortunately there are several negatives. Do not believe the hotel amenities, they simply arent correct. Our first room was at the front of the hotel, tiny, with no cot as requested, steaming hot, no balcony and generally rubbish. We read that he rooms have balconies, only a few do. There are no in room coffee making facilities.
We were lucky enough to be switched. This time our room was again tiny, the bed barely bigger than a single with terrible mattress and pillows. We only kept it as it had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool which we needed as we had our daughter asleep and used the webcam at meal times.
The room is fairly clean, though the grout in the tiles is filthy, many tiles are cracked and in the bathroom the mastic around the bath is disgusting.
The map is also incorrect. This place is no where near where it states on the map. It is miles (literally) from the centre. This made walking in stressful with a pushchair as the pavements in places are a foot high.
Unfortunately, I hate to say, eating at meal time was stressful also. The hotel became quieter as we got further into our stay thankfully, but the hotel was largely full of Germans. The manners they possess is dreadful and so typical of them in hotels like this. No pleases, no thank yous, no waiting. Lighting up cigarettes left right and centre with no regard for who is next to them. One woman objected so strongly for me asking her to move that she complained to the manager. The manager then asked her to move!
There is no food or drink allowed to be taken to the room from outside. This is absolutley outrageous! By showing a lack of respect, according to our prior poster, we continued to flout this rule by bringing bottled water bought for 5dh into the room. I also saw 3 beer vendors nearby so was able to quietly enjoy a beer or 2 of an evening.
There are many hotels much closer to the square but I would definitely recommend a Riad for a more traditional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Ask for discount on meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thought the hotel was good, food not so, only on the last day when a hoard of Americans arrived did it improve considerably. It was chicken every night and not nice tasting chicken either. Hotel was clean, staff all good. The room we had the shower head was broken but all in all you only get what you pay for and our holiday was very reasonably priced. Stayed for 4 nights and would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suedav31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have travelled in Morocco for weeks and stayed in all kinds of hotels, from budget hostel to charming riad. Meryem beats them all, on the downside. Dirty pillows with mascara and other stains on it, broken shower, stinking toilet, dirt falling from the airco, babybed installed way too late - all babies are sleeping at that time! - and it appeared to be broken, rude staff... We booked a non-smoking room, but got a smoking room instead. We ordered a taxi at the reception but it turned out that they did not write down the time - very unconvenient if you have to catch an early flight. One advice: there are plenty more better hotels than this one so keep on looking!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I was a little concerned about staying in the hotel after reading the reviews, but I needn't have been. It was a perfectly good hotel in the newer part of the city and a stone's throw from some excellent restaurants, cafes and gardens. We walked to the Medina and it took about 40 minutes, otherwise it was a very short taxi ride/horse and carriage trip. The rooms were clean, well-sized and serviced everyday. The staff were all polite. Some were quite friendly, and the ones that were stand-offish were like that because they couldn't speak English very well. Most of the guests were French-speakers, so that seems to be the clientele the staff expect to cater for. Breakfast was always nice, and the pool was spotlessly clean. Basically, it's a very decent hotel and while it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel by British/Australian standards, it's still a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie_Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I was worried after booking this hotel and then reading the reviews...well, I needn't have been. The hotel was fine, the staff fine (a couple of the waiters were a little stand-offish!) Our room was good, the bed was enormous, and very comfortable! There was everything we needed, nobody stopped me taking water or snacks in, in fact I saw two girls order a coffee and get their own cakes out of their bags! I was glad there was no mini-bar, the fridge was empty so I out my stuff in there! The hotel says it doesn't serve alcohol...it does sell cans of beer, but a very inflated price. Also the coffee is expensive.
The food was good most of the time, if a bit repetetive! I heard someone say they'd have have preferred a full English breakfast...Go to England then! You aren't going to get a bacon butty in a Muslim country...
The location was good, 10 mins walk to the new part of the city and the big shops, a short taxi ride to the square. I'm glad I didn't stay right in the Medina, it was good to get back to the hotel and a bit of peace! I managed to get wi-fi on my iphone in the bedroom, so that was a bonus!
All in all, I think it was good value for money. We had half board and always managed to find something good on the buffet cart.
I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude19604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

very impressed on arrival but certain things detailed on hotelopia website missing from hotel eg indoor pool, washing machine and. also no wifi or balconies in room but the + side was a great 24 hr movie channel.
we also wondered why certain people were getting preferential treatment at meal times and worked out that it must be tip related so on last night we gave big tip to come down to a royal breakfast. but you will only enjoy it if you like bread and pastries. so if you want this give at least 50 dirham tip on first night and you wont have to leave your seat again. be careful with kids in restaurant as no high chairs and witnessed a child get a nasty bump on the hard floor.
pools very cold and a little dangerous because they are plunge pools and slope rapidly no good for elderly or kids.
not much to do in the evenings as no bar in hotel but gave us the opportunity to venture out and found a great hotel with a brits theme bar called the nassim, which is about 10 mins walk away, also check out le paix restaraunt walk right take first right and first left about 300 yards from meryem and in the daytime the gardens will be open out the back and its a really tranquil place for a meal with a bird garden and water fountains.
also in the meryem my 9 year old girl found a tortoise family living along the back wall of the big pool which kept her occupied. (alias timothy) guides are 300dh for half a day not really necessary if there is a man present within your party, we had one for the souks because you can get a bit lost be warned they might take you to a few places for some hard selling maybe all there friends stalls.
always carry small change as there will be a beggar round every corner.
places worth visiting are the atlas mountains, pharmacies, the storks nests at the palace, the jardin and the medina.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayinukisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#479 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#157 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#117 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#163 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#419 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#333 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Property: Meriem Hotel
Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#185 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing