We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Rhizlane(Marrakech)
$171
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$570
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$541
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $517/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,045
$1,013
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,460/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
154
196
169
102
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
196
169
102
87
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 708 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have travelled in Morocco for weeks and stayed in all kinds of hotels, from budget hostel to charming riad. Meryem beats them all, on the downside. Dirty pillows with mascara and other stains on it, broken shower, stinking toilet, dirt falling from the airco, babybed installed way too late - all babies are sleeping at that time! - and it appeared to be broken, rude staff... We booked a non-smoking room, but got a smoking room instead. We ordered a taxi at the reception but it turned out that they did not write down the time - very unconvenient if you have to catch an early flight. One advice: there are plenty more better hotels than this one so keep on looking!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I was a little concerned about staying in the hotel after reading the reviews, but I needn't have been. It was a perfectly good hotel in the newer part of the city and a stone's throw from some excellent restaurants, cafes and gardens. We walked to the Medina and it took about 40 minutes, otherwise it was a very short taxi ride/horse and carriage trip. The rooms were clean, well-sized and serviced everyday. The staff were all polite. Some were quite friendly, and the ones that were stand-offish were like that because they couldn't speak English very well. Most of the guests were French-speakers, so that seems to be the clientele the staff expect to cater for. Breakfast was always nice, and the pool was spotlessly clean. Basically, it's a very decent hotel and while it is not a 4 or 5 star hotel by British/Australian standards, it's still a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I was worried after booking this hotel and then reading the reviews...well, I needn't have been. The hotel was fine, the staff fine (a couple of the waiters were a little stand-offish!) Our room was good, the bed was enormous, and very comfortable! There was everything we needed, nobody stopped me taking water or snacks in, in fact I saw two girls order a coffee and get their own cakes out of their bags! I was glad there was no mini-bar, the fridge was empty so I out my stuff in there! The hotel says it doesn't serve alcohol...it does sell cans of beer, but a very inflated price. Also the coffee is expensive.
The food was good most of the time, if a bit repetetive! I heard someone say they'd have have preferred a full English breakfast...Go to England then! You aren't going to get a bacon butty in a Muslim country...
The location was good, 10 mins walk to the new part of the city and the big shops, a short taxi ride to the square. I'm glad I didn't stay right in the Medina, it was good to get back to the hotel and a bit of peace! I managed to get wi-fi on my iphone in the bedroom, so that was a bonus!
All in all, I think it was good value for money. We had half board and always managed to find something good on the buffet cart.
I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude19604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

very impressed on arrival but certain things detailed on hotelopia website missing from hotel eg indoor pool, washing machine and. also no wifi or balconies in room but the + side was a great 24 hr movie channel.
we also wondered why certain people were getting preferential treatment at meal times and worked out that it must be tip related so on last night we gave big tip to come down to a royal breakfast. but you will only enjoy it if you like bread and pastries. so if you want this give at least 50 dirham tip on first night and you wont have to leave your seat again. be careful with kids in restaurant as no high chairs and witnessed a child get a nasty bump on the hard floor.
pools very cold and a little dangerous because they are plunge pools and slope rapidly no good for elderly or kids.
not much to do in the evenings as no bar in hotel but gave us the opportunity to venture out and found a great hotel with a brits theme bar called the nassim, which is about 10 mins walk away, also check out le paix restaraunt walk right take first right and first left about 300 yards from meryem and in the daytime the gardens will be open out the back and its a really tranquil place for a meal with a bird garden and water fountains.
also in the meryem my 9 year old girl found a tortoise family living along the back wall of the big pool which kept her occupied. (alias timothy) guides are 300dh for half a day not really necessary if there is a man present within your party, we had one for the souks because you can get a bit lost be warned they might take you to a few places for some hard selling maybe all there friends stalls.
always carry small change as there will be a beggar round every corner.
places worth visiting are the atlas mountains, pharmacies, the storks nests at the palace, the jardin and the medina.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayinukisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed at the Meryem hotel in the Gueliz neighbourhood of Marrakesh as part of a one-week all-inclusive vacation. My big mistake was reserving at a hotel at all - if you are spending any time in Marrakesh, you are better off staying in a riad near the Djema el-Fna, you'll have a much more comfortable and authentic experience. Otherwise, you are a 45-min walk away from "la Place", which is still do-able, but certainly not right next door.
The Meryem hotel is a 4-star place trying desperately to live up to its 4-star status. The lobby is grand and stuffy, as are most of the staff. There is a doorman to let you in and out of the main hall, a bellboy to lug your bags to your room, and a whole army of cleaning ladies and waiters in black bow ties and white gloves. Everyone is polite, but it is very apparent that most wish the clientele was more upscale.
We were aware of the hotel's shortcomings listed on this site - most of which ARE true - so we were able to act accordingly and still have a comfortable time. It is true that you cannot bring food into the hotel. You will be stopped if you are carrying the clear grocery bags containing water or food, but we were never searched upon returning from a day out. Thus, you can easily leave with a day pack, buy water, figs or cookies, and return to your room with no problems. Note that we did not abuse this oversight, and only snuck in what was absolutely necessary, such as bottled water or small dry snacks. We ate out at restaurants otherwise.
Do not expect great variety from the all-inclusive buffet. I cannot speak for the lunch or dinner menus, as we did not include them in our package, but breakfast was the same food all 6 mornings we ate at the hotel and not very original. Bread, cheese, yogurt and jam were the main items, and 2 days in a row the dairy truck was late, so we ate a lot of bread and jam...
Our room was in the second tower, past the impeccably clean swimming pools. The room was clean, well set-up with a wardrobe, large bed, chairs and desk. The toilet and shower are in 2 separate rooms, but there is a bidet in the room with the shower. We still don't know how that works out. The water was a little difficult to control in the shower, and often it was more of an exfoliation than a shower!
The bed was a little hard but didn't affect our sleeping and there was a choice of hard or soft pillows in the wardrobe. The curtains block out all signs of light, so even at noon on a sunny day, not a hint of sun comes in. We didn't use the aircon, just opened the window, and we turned on the TV by hand, since the remote was not working, but we only watch the BBC anyway, so no worries there. The cleaning was done every day, if we had wanted, but we're not really dirty people, so we only had the room cleaned every second day to get fresh toilet paper.
From what I could tell, WiFi was only available in the lobby, either on several computers set up in a hidden corner behind the coffee lounge(20dir/hour), or through your own device(free). I used my netbook, and had a fast, easy-to-use connection with no problems. There is plenty of comfortable seating in the spacious lobby where you can connect and do your blogging.
Don't buy your drinks in the coffee lounge if you can avoid it, as the prices are grossly inflated. Head out to either the cafe de la gare across from the Train station(2 streets away) or to Haway, around the corner for your coffee or mint tea at normal prices. Haway is also great for a good inexpensive meal, and friendly. professional service.
In short, stay at Hotel Meryem if you have to, but you can easily find a much better place if you try. Take all the reviews here with a grain of salt and act accordingly, and you'll have a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyisblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews