We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Ranked #483 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, on a half board basis. We were all sadly disappointed with the hotel and the staffs. I travel 3 times a year and this is the first time I have put negative reviews.
The lobby was fine. The Receptionist was oblivious and bored of working. She tried to charge us £90 (GBP) for City tax, until my friend complained and refused to pay. Her colleague then intervened and informed us that the receptionist had quoted incorrectly. It was actually £28 in total for 7 nights.
The food was terrible. The dinner was limited to four dishes and the same or similar food was served every day. There were 2-3 types of salads served.
There is a catch if you book half board; namely that you have to pay for each time you buy a beverage, even though you’ve booked half board. The cost of a glass of coke was £2.
The dining area looked tired and the table clothes were tired too. The chairs near the pool were broken or tacky.
The breakfast was ok. But if you want hot food then there is a separate charge. We were not informed of hot food, however upon querying, we were informed of this. So there are no omelettes unless you wish to pay.
We wanted a map, they had none!
The Staff were ok, except for the receptionist. She was moody and unhelpful, but this did not bother us. it seemed she was tired of doing her job. They do not fully understand English, so this was a bit of a pain!
The hotel charges you for everything that is extra. I.e., if you ask them to make a call to the transfer company, they will charge you; Even if this is as little as 10 Dirham. If you ask for the keys to the safe, it costs 25 Dirham per night.
The lift is dangerous. We were stuck between the second and third floor for a short while. When we raised this with the receptionist, she behaved as if it was normal!
The walls in the rooms are so thin that even if you are speaking in a normal tone, the guests next door could hear clearly. All the noise from outside could be heard!
The bathroom looked terribly tired. The shower just about worked. The bath was old and the shower curtains were dying! The room was far too basic. The balcony...well if you even call that a balcony, was tiny! The balcony door did not lock at all.
The only two good things about this hotel were the swimming pool area and the fact that it was not far from the Jamaa el Fena!
Only book this hotel if you do not intend to stay at the hotel a lot!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khaleda680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Holiday Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Staff were really friendly, the food was fantastic and we were very impressed. Good selection of dishes at dinner, plenty of choice and all well cooked and well presented. I am a foodie, trained in Hotel and Catering and I would rate this place. Some of the comments we read put us off a bit but we can only say the comments were not in line with what we found. Staff all very polite and helpful, no problems with security. Rooms were clean and well appointed. would recommend to others and would go back. Liked the fact it was away from the noise, easy to walk into main Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just come back from 7 nights stay at the imperial. We enjoyed our stay the staff are very friendly and helpful especially Tahah the pool guy and Bouazza the head waiter they constantly helped us out whenever we needed there help. The food was average but we really enjoyed breakfast. The hotel is lovely and we loved the swimming pool, it was also always clean and tidy and the location is perfect!!! We always felt quiet comfortable. Thank you for making our stay lovely and welcoming. The director general was also a very nice person he always checked up on us. We LOVED the roof top!!!!! Thank you to all the staff.
Ahmed and Cristina.

Room Tip: Try get the pool view or top floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent 4 days at the Imperial with Carol, Jo and Helen. It's dated and a bit tired, but comfortable, clean enough and provided what we needed - a base to explore from. The Guest Liaison Manager, Jad, was lovely and helpful, not pushy, and had lots of suggestions for sight-seeing, getting about, shopping and transport. Some other staff wanted to be helpful and were friendly, but things seemed to take a long while to get done. I stood at the bar one evening and watched 3 bar staff discussing the finer workings of the till for at least 10 minutes without even a nod in my direction. Oh, and I asked for the music being played around the pool during the day to be turned down (as I'm getting on and couldn't hear our conversation!) and the smiling pool man did as i asked - 30 minutes later!

Breakfast for us consisted of croissants and boiled eggs, which was fine for 4 days. Dinners were a good mix of spicy and simple food - lots of chicken and lamb, some fish, great vegetables, and a range of salads and little cakes.

Our aircon worked, the view of the pool from our room was lovely, we could walk to the Medina from the Imperial (although we got cabs in and horse and carriage back - about 50 dirhams for 4 people); Jad recommended a great excursion to the Ouzoud region at the foothills of the Atlas Mountains (although we only got to see the first, fairly mediocre, of apparently seven waterfalls, so check details before booking).

Overall, we felt welcome and respected.

Room Tip: poolside room - cooler and quieter
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just come back from 4 nights' stay.
Situated outside of the centre of Marrakech but near enough to walk.
Restaurant and pool bar staff were very friendly but found reception and indoor bar staff a bit grumpy! Rooms were comfortable and clean - ours overlooked the pool so was lovely and quiet. My friends had to ask several times for replacement towels and toilet paper!
Food was nice, good choices for breakfast and evening meal.
Yes, we had to pay a daily fee for the safe in our room but don't you everywhere? And it was only minimal.
The best thing about the hotel is the 'man who can' in reception, Jed. He spoke excellent English and helped with all aspects of our holiday.
Thanks Jed, from one of the 4 english 'girls' who left on Monday!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool (at the back of the hotel) are comfortable, have a balcony and are nice a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Easter break it was rather dated breakfasts were good providing a range from pastries, eggs, pancakes, however you had to pay extra for good coffee. The evening meals where disappointing not very good quite bland in flavour. Staff were not very friendly and seemd to have a promlem with Brits, prefered the French. Rooms where clean though and there where no noises throught the night. Over all happy as hotel was far enough away from hustle and bustle of the city but not too far.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Marrakech staying at the Imperial Holiday Hotel. We paid under £100 each for a week half board and have no complaints what so ever. Yes, it's a little tired, yes, it's a little cheesy - but it depends what is important to you. We want a safe place to leave our stuff, clean towels and sheets daily, great food and friendly helpful staff, we got that 'with knobs on' at the Imperial. I must redress two particular comments from one reviewer who said the food & staff were terrible. Firstly, the restaurant provided a vaired and excellent buffet every day of authentic Morrocan food. Secondly, the staff were so friendly and helpful, from the cleaner to the front of house and restaurant mangager, we felt welcomed and appriciated at all times. The location is great - right in between the Old Town and the beautiful Gardens Majorelle, and the view of the Atlas Mountais is wonderful from the roof terrace.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JeanneJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#473 of 502 in Marrakech
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#445 of 502 in Marrakech
1,087 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#448 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#455 of 502 in Marrakech
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mogador Express Gueliz
Mogador Express Gueliz
#387 of 502 in Marrakech
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#334 of 502 in Marrakech
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Holiday Hotel

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Swiss International Imperial Holiday)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#208 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#237 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $38 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Marrakech, this hotel is a 10-minute drive from the famous Jamaa El Fna. It features an outdoor pool and a heated, indoor one, a sauna, a fitness room and hammam. An airport shuttle is available upon request. Most of air-conditioned rooms and suites have a balcony features in each one. Some of the rooms offer a hot tub, a four-poster bed and a marble bathroom. All of the rooms have satellite TV. Le Mont-Royal restaurant serves international and Moroccan cuisine. Sample cocktails on the Imperial Holiday's rooftop terrace with panoramic views over Marrakech. Relax in The Niagara Falls pool-side bar or enjoy the on-site entertainment. The 24-hour reception hotel is a 2-minute walk from Marrakech Plaza shopping centre. Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an shuttle is available upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing