We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dar Zemora is the most relaxing hotel we've ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zemora
Ranked #68 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dar Zemora is the most relaxing hotel we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had the most fantastic stay at Dar Zemora in June. Difficult to know where to begin because the level of relaxation that we had there, and the level of service which is provided is exemplary but probably doesn’t translate well into words. It really needs to be experienced to be understood.

From the moment we arrived, when two members of staff come out to warmly greet us, we felt all our stress evaporate. It is a really well laid out building and we found that we could meander around the public spaces with ease and admire the beautiful decoration and particularly the artwork. Each lounge has a different feel and each is more welcoming and relaxing than the next. We stayed in the Zahara Suite which was just heavenly. The artwork, the attention to detail and the luxury of it is just fantastic. The couches and chairs inside are lovely and comfortable, but we particularly liked the sheltered ‘day bed’ on the terrace for an afternoon snooze or a read. We had our breakfast on our terrace every morning, and each morning the birds would serenade us. They are able to sniff out the sweetness of the pancakes and fruit and are just waiting for you to finish before they swoop. We’ve never seen anything like it before – but it was so entertaining to watch them hide in the surrounding plants and plot their next move.

My husband particularly loved the pool area and would have been happy to stay there all day, every day, if I didn’t drag him off to do sightseeing every now and then. The pool is just gorgeous and beautifully clean and the staff regularly come around with cool water and occasionally, a cool flannel. We’ve never been spoiled like that before.

We found that the calmness of the hotel was a necessary foil to the hubbub of the Medina. They really are like chalk and cheese – but only if the chalk is really chalky and the cheese extra cheesy. After a day of milling around the souks and sightseeing all the wonders that Marrakech has to offer, it was such a pleasure to go back to Dar Zemora and relax again.

Even though everything is perfect and I could gush on all day, the most praise must be given to the staff and the service. All the staff were extremely warm and friendly. Yousseff talked football with my husband (the World Cup was on), and shopping with me - he really is the perfect man. The staff anticipate your every need. If I was thinking that a glass of water would be nice, I would turn around and there it would be. The level of service spoiled us for restaurants where not only was the water not on the table when I fancied a sip, but attracting the attention of the wait staff was difficult. After a couple of frustrating evenings out like that, we had the rest of our evening meals at Dar Zemora where the quality of food matched the quality of the service. We particularly liked the Moroccan themed food nights all the food was top notch and our personal food likes and dislikes were taken into consideration by the chefs.

All in all it was a very memorable holiday and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
165
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Top End Hotel with only 10 rooms and a beautiful interior design mix of Moroccan and western design. Spacious rooms and lofty areas to share with the few other guests. Mostly couples. Wonderful food. Fantastic service.
It feels like some friends place who is not there but his employees do everything to make you feel at home. Great pool and beautiful gardens.
Love it and can't wait to come back. Thanks to Jawad, Chafik, Rajid and all the other fantastic personnel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petunia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

What a fabulous place to stay. Great rooms, great pool, food was amazing especially the lunch. The owners were there when we stayed and were incredibly helpful.
This is definately a place worth going back to. Cant be faulted on anything.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

A wonderful place to be stranded!
We had our second stay at this wonderful place in April, booking four blissful nights in the Perla Suite, which was gorgeous, to celebrate a special anniversary. The suite provides excellent accommodation and its roof terrace really is vast, offering several lovely places to read, snooze or catch the sun. We loved watching the sun go down up there, drink in hand. Everything about Dar Zemora is perfect, as long as you like quiet and tasteful rather than big and brash. `The food is good (make sure you eat in on at least some of the nights you stay there), but it is the service that really makes this place stand out, and we should know because we really tested it when our four night sojourn turned into nine because of the ash cloud crisis!
Lindsay, the owner was great and helped to make our extra nights affordable, which was much appreciated, and the staff were amazing throughout our stay (both the planned and the unplanned) . Jawad, the manager, spent hours with us trying everything to find us a way home (even on his day off) and Yousef, a fantastic and long-serving member of staff, looked after us like we were his own family – nothing was too much trouble for them, and we so much appreciated it when we were worried about what was going to happen. They did anything they could to make us and other stranded souls as comfortable as possible - including cooking meals off-menu for a family we got to know quite well!
I cannot praise this wonderful place too highly. I wondered whether the stress of being stuck there might put us off going back, but, some weeks later now I know that it hasn’t at all – we love it even more now, and will most certainly return. We also got to know Marrakech better, too, eating at different places (we loved: La Tanjia even though it’s aimed at tourists; Kosybar, great to sit in the rooftop bar before you eat; and Trattoria Gian Carlo – but would avoid L’Abyssin, as I was really unwell after eating there and it was the worst but most expensive meal we had there) and exploring different areas.
A big thank you to all at Dar Zemora – our visit was one to remember for all the right reasons – it was a wonderful place to be stranded!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMason27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend. It is a beautiful haven from which to explore the busy city and Medina, all of which was ten minutes away by taxi. The hotel's local staff were all very friendly and attentive.
We particularly enjoyed our couple of evening meals on the terrace with great food and the unexpected accompaniment of the hotel's Frog chorus!
The accommadation we were in, the Pavillion suite, was beautiful, tranquil and luxurious.
If you are looking for rest and relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogwalkerTooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Dar Zemora was the starting point for what should have been a 2 centre holiday, we were going on to Essaouira. Sadly I was taken rather ill with bronchitis within hours of arriving and could not travel onwards. The management and staff could not have been more kind, caring and helpful to my husband and I. I could not have been cared for better and it was arranged that we just stay on at Dar Zemora rather than attempt a long journey. Nothing was too much trouble; including getting an English speaking doctor and my prescription. In the meantime my husband enjoyed the delicious food, the exquisite surroundings and read rather a lot of books. We shall return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed one night as a treat at the end of a great holiday. Unfortunately it was spoilt by the fact our electricity was off and had to stumble in the dark to find someone. We eventually found someone who offered no apologies but said they will fix it. After four interruptions to our room we eventually had light!!!. A long bath sounded a good idea, the water was tepid to pu,t it mildly, again no explanationor apologies.. We were the only ones staying that night . We asked for breakfast on the patio which they advertised. Rain had covered the seat cushions so we couldn't sit there without getting our pillows.
No one seemed interested in our problems and to add injury to insult before we had finished our breakfast they then decided to to clean our private patio around us. Several times I asked them to come back when we had either finished or booked out but to no avail. It spoilt what could have been an enjoyable stay. No interest at all when booking out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#89 of 494 in Marrakech
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#14 of 494 in Marrakech
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 494 in Marrakech
360 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#47 of 494 in Marrakech
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#278 of 494 in Marrakech
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing