We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #74 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

On our fourth trip this year to Dar Zemora we are treated like family members by Youseff and his wonderful staff. Nothing is too much and the service is spectacular. We eat in each day this time and the food was to its usual high standard, with great choice of breads to accompany breakfast. Lunch is two lovely courses and coffee. Dinner varied between 3 & 4 courses and not having a menu is excellent as the only thing left to decide on is the wine to accompany the meal. The open fired provide a lovely warmth, topped off with a steaming hot shower or bath. We will be back next year.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank family-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 308 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Dar Zemora is a lovingly and sensitively converted private villa, set in a quiet exclusive residential area a short taxi ride from Marrakech. Every angle a magazine photo shoot, it is quite beautiful and with just enough of a touch to keep things looking great but not too stylised. Beautiful gardens. We took the Perla suite which has a vast private terrace. We visited in November with a steady mid to high 70 degree temperature,no need to leave the suite for the pool, (slightly too cool, but would have been nice to swim for exercise) as there was a gentle breeze and not a cloud in the sky.

There are just a few rooms and suites, so you quickly become familiar with the people who look after you, and who want only to please, and each and every one delightful. The quality of the room was excellent, well appointed, beautiful linens, and with an earthy, homely feel. A log fire (thanks Youssef) and candles (upon request) were lovely.

In all the hotel is a great retreat, meticulously run, and with a very personal touch.

The city is fine, but for eating research is needed, Mai Thai, (quiet but good,) Bo & Zin (very cool, fab music, great for a long night out, and dressing up) are great, and for best informal Italian go to Casanova. The latter by far the least expensive but probably the most enjoyable meal we had.The Sky Bar above the Renaissance Hotel is great, open air seven floors up, great start to an evening and fabulous canapé. The traditional restaurants we found did not give what we had hoped, maybe in the wrong places. I hoped for more Arabesque, alas. Sure someone will help me here!

We spent a day with a Berber guide, in and around the Atlas mountains, a short drive takes you to another place altogether. For us it was important to do this.

In all, a good trip, Dar Zemora is well placed to stay out of the bustle of the city and relax, while being within easy reach by taxi of other things.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have lost count as to how many times my husband and I have stayed at Dar Zemora! It keeps drawing us back there time and time again! The last visit was in October where we celebrated my mother's 70th and we couldn't have wished for a more special place to stay.

Dar Zemora is set in three acres of beautiful gardens filled with citrus trees, palms and bougainvillea. The staff are very warm and professional leaving you to enjoy the surroundings but always close by to assist if need be.

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in all the rooms and my favourite is the Zahara suite with a private garden but even the standard rooms are still very beautifully designed with high ceilings, exotic rugs and stone fireplaces which are lit for you during their winter months.

As many reviewers have said, it takes you a while to summon up the energy to leave Dar Zemora to visit the souks etc, by which time you find yourself cancelling your taxi, staying for the wonderful lunches, chilling by their tranquil pool and waiting for the next phase...afternoon tea with freshly baked cakes!

We have also booked for xmas overlapping with my brother in law and his wife. You could say we really LOVE the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repton46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed at Dar Zemora many times. My favourite times are when the winds blow cold in Northern Europe but the sun still shines warm in North Africa.
What pleases is the reliability of the whole experience. Leave the shivers of the UK and the stresses and strains of business - take the plane and you just know that the taxi man will be there to take you to the beautiful haven that is Dar Zemora.
Now even the music that suffuses the hotel is in keeping with the lush location. It's real Morocco but with no worries at all. Sensual and wonderful.

Room Tip: The Perla suite is the one to go for - but I'm probably already there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay K, Owner at Dar Zemora, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate it. The Management and Staff are delighted that you find Dar Zemora reliable and "consistently wonderful" We are also pleased that you enjoy the more traditional Moroccan music. Now the chill is in the air we look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been fortunate to stay at Dar Zemora many times, and frankly would never stay anywhere else in Marrakech. Everything about it is lovely. The rooms, the ambience, the staff, the food is especially good. So many special and thoughtful details like pashminas on the chairs at breakfast and dinner, to help with the morning and evening chill at this time of year; sun hats on every lounger by the pool. Such lovely personal gestures. It really is a perfect place to de stress and relax. Well done to everyone who is part of Dar Zemora.

Room Tip: Obviously the suites are very special and the very private Pavillion even more so. But even the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay K, Owner at Dar Zemora, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. It is very much appreciated. The Management and Staff are delighted that you would not consider staying anywhere else in Marrakech and look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Spent 5 nights here with my family - including 2 teenagers -over half term. A few nerves after reading some stories of Marrakesh generally (not the hotel) before we travelled, but Youseff the hotel manager is superb. We stayed in the Pavilion suite in the gardens, which is a 2 bedroomed, spacious house with private pool and gardens within the confines of the hotel grounds. Extremely comfortable both inside and out - and the wonderful staff are more than happy to serve you meals and drinks on your terrace. Good breakfasts - fresh juices from the orange trees in the gardens - and superb lunches offering traditional Moroccan cuisine. Ask Youseff to book you restaurants and guided trips into town, you can see all the best parts of the city then with real confidence. We had a guide for half a day to see the souks and main square - and felt happier for having him. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights at Dar Zemora at the end of a week's visit to Morocco, after we had been trekking in the Atlas mountains. We decided to stay in Dar Zemora as a bit of a treat expecting to use it as a base to explore Marrakech. As it happened we found Dar Zemora such an oasis of tranquillity and were treated so well that we could barely bring ourselves to leave. We did go into the Medina once (which is only a short taxi ride away) but decided to see out the remainder of our stay in the hotel - which was we found the perfect way to finish our holiday. The service was excellent and everyone made the greatest effort to make us feel at home. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to the suite at the top of the hotel's main building. The food was particularly good, especially the dinners which we had out on the veranda. It was all too easy to spend our time lounging by the pool or reading on our balcony, and finding our time governed by the rhythms of the hotel, as meals were served to us throughout the day. Overall, this is a great hotel to relax and de-stress.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala
Villa Al Assala
#1 of 1 in Palmeraie
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
965 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#152 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#45 of 502 in Marrakech
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#100 of 502 in Marrakech
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $221 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing