We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #55 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights at Dar Zemora at the end of a week's visit to Morocco, after we had been trekking in the Atlas mountains. We decided to stay in Dar Zemora as a bit of a treat expecting to use it as a base to explore Marrakech. As it happened we found Dar Zemora such an oasis of tranquillity and were treated so well that we could barely bring ourselves to leave. We did go into the Medina once (which is only a short taxi ride away) but decided to see out the remainder of our stay in the hotel - which was we found the perfect way to finish our holiday. The service was excellent and everyone made the greatest effort to make us feel at home. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to the suite at the top of the hotel's main building. The food was particularly good, especially the dinners which we had out on the veranda. It was all too easy to spend our time lounging by the pool or reading on our balcony, and finding our time governed by the rhythms of the hotel, as meals were served to us throughout the day. Overall, this is a great hotel to relax and de-stress.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
154
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel is superb! The architecture, the rooms, the gardens, the lounges, the pool, the staff. Really, really fantastic. The thoughtful details such as the sunhats on the sunbeds by the pool, the beautiful lounges and the friendly staff were really impressive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, light lunch and tea with cakes were lovely. I wish we could have spent more time there - hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's difficult to find any more words for this place, it is quite simply superb from the minute you arrive to the rather unkind moment you have to leave! It's is blissful, very comfortable and just far enough away from the throbbing Medina to be a complete world apart. The other thing we loved was that we were still very much enjoying a the Riad experience, rather than the faceless international resort - there are only six rooms but also a huge garden and beautiful pool.

The food was delicious, there's no menu you just get what the lovely chef has prepared on the day (although I noticed that guests who had expressed dietary preference were very well catered for.

I have absolutely no idea what happened to the couple below who gave this such a poor review, but they must have stayed a different hotel.

We rebooked even before we left and judging by the guest book - and the TA comments below - so does everyone else. Wonderful place.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and the suites are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PutneyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from another lovely stay at Dar Zemora; this was our 7th visit and it was as relaxing and spoiling as ever. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you all for the beautiful dinner you arranged for us in the garden and also on our terrace on our last night. Thank you Yossef for all the lovely Moroccan music and suggestions about places to visit which made for such an enjoyable time.
We’ve been visiting twice a year (normally) since we discovered this haven of tranquillity and return because we are so well looked after! I had a most wonderful 50th Birthday party in the Fan Room a couple of years ago and will never forget just how magical it was. It speaks volumes that nearly all of the other guests who came and went during our 5 day stay, were repeat visitors like us. All of us were enjoying the wonderful peace of Dar Zemora but with easy access into Marrakech if you can tear yourself away. Like us quite a lot of people use Dar Zemora as somewhere to re-charge batteries and anticipating just that is a lovely thought.

Room Tip: La Perla for a treat or the Pavilion for a party of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love this small luxury hotel. I came with my daughter in May and decided that my husband had to experience Dar Zemora for himself and it did not disappoint! It is a wonderful place to chill and relax and nothing is too much bother for the staff. Everything is done with a smile and willingness to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The weather was gorgeous, food delicious and we can't thank everyone enough. We will be back next year.
Sally and Tim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Difficult to find the words to describe just what a stunning place Dar Zemora really is, but here's some; beautiful, serene, magical, perfect to name but a few!
Myself and my partner stayed for 5 nights and I already want to return.
There are no faults to be found at Dar Zemora, it really is the most wonderful place I've ever had the pleasure to visit.
The staff are unrelentingly attentive and we were treated like a King and Queen!
The food is magnificent, every meal was fresh and utterly delicious.
The room was sublime, authentic and we were left wanting for nothing.
I could go on and on (as I already have to everyone that will listen) but I do not want to ruin the surprise, if you're here because you're considering booking a stay at Dar Zemora, then just do it, we did and it was the best choice we've ever made!
See you next year ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMichael1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

As a repeat visitor to Dar Zemora who has just returned from his latest visit, I read the preceding review with dismay. I am replying because I don't recognise the description and think it unfair.

We can at least agree that the hotel is beautiful. For my part, I have always thought that it would make an idyllic honeymoon destination and am sorry that it disappointed (other couples have seemed more than happy). I think that the pricing of its rooms is in line with other choices at this end of the market.

Whether to stay in a riad in the Medina or in the Palmeraie is a matter of choice. I have done both and much prefer the peace and tranquility of DZ with its easy access to the centre for sightseeing etc, to being in amongst the noise and bustle of the centre 24/7. Easy access involves an efficient (and reasonable) fixed price car service to take you in and collect again in response to a telephone call when you are ready.

Food is a matter of taste; I haven't seen any other guests queuing up to put their takeaways in the fridge! On the contrary, the tasting menu is highly recommended - try the quail with bechamel sauce. As to the hotel not commenting on the reviewer bringing in his own food, it may be that he misinterpreted the endless efforts of all the staff at DZ to meet the needs of the guests. My experience is that nothing is too much trouble.

The review is out of line with the overwhelming number of positive reviews of DZ and no-one should be influienced by it.

Room Tip: Perla Suite for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#85 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#46 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#60 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#89 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing