We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house heaven”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #70 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Country house heaven”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Dar el Zemora for five nights in the second week of July, which coincided with the start of Ramadan and some high temperatures. After stepping off the plane into what felt like the hot cycle of a tumble drier we were scooped up by the taxi driver and driven to the Dar el Zemora which is located in the Palmeraie district of Marrakech. The Palmeraie is a huge, dry, flat palm grove about 10 minutes outside the central square Jemaa el Fnaa and is home to luxury houses all hidden behind high walls. There is very little to see and it would be easy to get lost as much of it looks the same.

The gravelled drive of Dar el Zemora is surrounded by rose gardens and scattered with Moroccan lamps lit with candles and rom the moment we arrived it felt like we had come to somewhere magical. The hotel, which feels more like a country house, has five rooms and a separate two bedroomed/private pool pavilion oozes understated luxury, nothing opulent just very good taste. The freshly filled vases of roses are a delight, the range of books in the Library comprehensive, everything has been thought of.

The remarks in the guest book are testament to the restorative nature of Dar el Zemora, everyone seems to be touched by the tranquility and the healing nature of the surroundings. The beautiful pool which we frequently had to ourselves is set in the gardens and cooled towels and iced water are brought to the sun beds. Meals are taken on the terrace accompanied by very vocal frogs and bold sparrows and you can opt in or out for as many or as few as you wish.

It is no wonder that guests find it hard to pull themselves away and take the short taxi ride (200 Drs return) to the exotic bonkers-ness of central Marrakech, which when we we there was made all the more dramatic by two spectacular rain and lightning shows. We ate from one of the myriad stalls which start setting up from 5pm in Jemaa el Fna square and enjoyed cold drinks from one of the surrounding rooftop cafes. We also ventured into the Atlas Mountains to see a different side of Morocco, which was organised by Youssef the gracious manager. The hotel is closed for three weeks in August to give everyone a well deserved rest, service which appears this effortless is only achieved by a lot of hard work.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, the plaudits are richly deserved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florakaty
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been lucky enough to visit Marrakech several times. Dar Zemora is always THE place to stay. Instead of any large hotel in any large city, which are all the same; Dar Zemora has the feeling and presence of a quiet country house instead. The understated luxury, the attention to detail, plus the wonderful and very discreet service was very welcome. Youseff, the Manager, and his team run a pretty slick operation. And you are made to feel pretty special. Thank you. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are divine, but if you can, do stay in either The Pavillion or one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed here and enjoyed the Zahara Suite which was huge! The fact it was on the ground floor with it's own large, shaded terrace was a huge bonus as it meant easy access to the pool and grounds. Service here is VERY slick and also increadibly discreet. They offer breakfast up to 11am meaning there is no rush which is wonderful as many places stop service at 10am. The food is delicious (lunch and dinner), so much so that we didn't even venture back into Marrakech (we had stayed in the Medina for 3 nights earlier in our vacation) and were happy to stay at this wonderful retreat. I can't rave about Dar Zemora and the staff enough - it's pretty much PERFECT!

Room Tip: Zahara Suite is huge and worth every extra penny - indulge if you can, you won't be dissapointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Dar Zemora was recommended to us by friends and we had a blissful 3 days staying in this wonderfully relaxing and peaceful hotel. The administration and organisation of our booking and arrival were first class and we were made to feel very welcome and were exceptionally well looked after throughout our stay by the charming Youssef and his team. The food was excellent, the style of the hotel is low key but very stylish and comfortable. The garden is beautiful and the pool is sublimely lovely and both were very peaceful. If you want to take a break from the 'madness' of the Medina (but still be within a 15 minutes taxi ride of it) or you just want an uninterrupted few days of peace, tranquility and being immaculately looked after then Dar Zemora is the place - we had a blissful few days for us both. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimb0b59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second stay at Dar Zemora; whole family enjoyed it tremendously. Riad is peaceful, well looked after and it is obvious that attention to every detail is owners' prerogative. We were taken good care of by all at riad; there is nothing to fault and everything was almost just as perfect.
E. Hayes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emina_hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I arrived rather late in the evening for my second stay at Dar Zemora from a long drive from Erg Chebbi, totally exhausted. I was welcomed by Youssef, told to take my time, so I ordered tea, had a shower and revived myself to sit and enjoy dinner with the sound of wildlife, puncutated by the frogs 'chatting'. I felt so safe, so welcome and so at home (I travelled alone). The next day was spent enjoying breakfast on the terrace, extremely late by request, and lounging in the garden by the pool. I wandered around the garden admiring plants and trees. It was a perfect end to my second and certainly not last visit to Morocco. Whilst I waited for my lift to the airport I sat and had a cup of tea in my favourite pink cube in the corner of the room with the flowing curtains by the garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 5nights at Dar Zemora and loved every minute. The weather was hot and sunny and staying in the Zahara suite meant the pool was never far away! Youssef and the other staff were charming and attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and sitting in the garden listening to the frogs and the birds was an added bonus!
We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The Zahara suite is lovely being so close to the pool and with its own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#74 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#188 of 499 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#296 of 499 in Marrakech
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#131 of 499 in Marrakech
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 499 in Marrakech
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing