We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #71 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a stay at Dar Zemora and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to my friends! The setting is absolutely stunning and the staff make such a wonderful effort to make you comfortable. We stayed in the Zahara suite which was beautifully appointed with a private terrace and we were able to eat on the terrace which was a really intimate and romantic setting. The grounds are gorgeous and we made use of the library for wifi ( wifi is not run throughout the hotel but I think this adds to the relaxation ;) we ate in the hotel many times for lunch and twice for dinner and the food was really delicious. The only critiscm I would have is that although delicious the portions were really quite small and I was sometimes hungry even after the two course lunch. I think the meals could do with being a bit more substantial. The pool area is luxurious and even in march very nice weather to lay out! 25-30 degrees! The pool was freezing though- definitely not heated so we couldn't swim :( All in all though this place is so fantastic and we can't wait to hopefully return, thank you so much to Youssef Omar Amina and the gorgeous girls who looked after our daughter when we were able to have dinner out and on our own! Loved Dar Zemora!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SarahOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
153
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful gem to find and stay in. We booked this via Mr&Mrs Smith and it was a great find. We had a wonderful long weekend in Marrakech but this hotel make it that bit more special and fun. While we were there we met the owner and had a few great chats with him about building the hotel and the area, which was an amazing insight. We ate at the hotel a few nights which was great after a busy day around the town. Taxis are easy to get in and out and it's well worth it to lounge around and enjoy relaxation time. Great food, service and environment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the Pavilion suite with our 3 teenagers. Suite doesn't do it justice as it is really the size of a small villa, the layout is great with plenty of privacy, a lovely large sitting room, lots of different outside spaces all with lovely furniture and two comfortable bedrooms.
Dar Zemora is a place with a relaxed air that just makes is so easy to relax yourself, even the more active of our family got the vibe and laid back with a book or game of chess.
The staff are lovely with good restaurant recommendations and nothing too much trouble. We particularly like the restaurant and bar at Grand Cafe de la Poste.
They serve nice breakfasts and delicious lunches which again let us just relax and lay back in the lovely surroundings.
I had a fantastic hamam and massage, the treatment room is really pretty, with lovely furnishings and log fire blazing as I had my massage with a really great masseur.

Last time we came to Marrakech we stayed at the Amanjena and frankly the suite here and the atmosphere are actually much nicer.
We stayed here about 10 years ago and really won't be leaving it another 10 to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay over Christmas at this small boutique hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and it was just what we needed to recuperate from the pre-christmas madness! The team here are wonderful, always smiling and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Our only negative was the massages. We opted for a couples hamman and massage and the masseuses were chatting and giggling the entire time which made our relaxing massage just irritating. I recommend splashing out and going for one fo the suites as they are both amazing. If you book through Mr and Mrs Smith you get a rose petal bath included for free which was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: La Perla has its own terrace but the suite on the ground floor is the one to go for.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a magical sanctuary Dar Zemora is. After the hussle and bustle of Medina it was always a pleasure to return to tranquility. The staff could not have been more charming and helpful in every way, they could not do enough for you without being intrusive.
The weather was beautiful, clear blue skies and clarity of colour. The venings were chilly so fires were lit in the rooms and small hot water bottles placed in the bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I highly rcommend Dar Zemora in every way.

Room Tip: All rooms are just delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Another fabulous stay at Dar Zemora. Once you enter the gates and they close behind you, you can feel all your stresses and worries ebb away. Your greeted by their delightful staff who cannot do enough for you. We stayed in the Sahara Suite which is our favourite. The food was delicious and every meal was a delight, well done to Jamila (the chef) she never disappoints Youssef is the perfect Manager, he always knows when to be there and is full of very useful information.
Whilst its good fun to leave Dar Zemora (for a very short period of time) and explore the rest of Marrakesh it's even more exciting to get back to Dar Zemora with its peace and tranquility. Fantastic service every time, fantastic food and fantastic accommodation, Bravo to the owners!!!!

Room Tip: We loved the Sahara Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I and my mother spent a week in mid Dec 12 at Dar Zemora. It exceeded expectations in every way. The decor is to die for. It is incredibly classy and sophisticated. A million miles from even a 5 star hotel, in that it has been so lovingly restored with amazing precision and expense. You marvel at all the detail. The surrounding gardens are a joy to behold, and the pool is big with very comfy loungers.
The best thing though is the attention of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They are kindness personified. Youssef, the General Manager, is first class and so are all the staff. You just end up hugging them! We had a wonderful couple of massages there too - very professional and top notch.
In mid Dec it is low season and it was quiet but it is a great time to go as the days were hot with blue skies (20-23 degC). Gets dark at 4.30pm and you then need a fleece. But your room will be lit with a roaring fire, tea and cakes served.... Bit like being in a ski chalet.
We ate at the Dar every evening as it suited us, but it is only 15 mins by taxi to the Medina etc.
It also suited us to be outside the hurly burly of the Medina; it was much quieter, surrounded by gardens and towering palm trees, orange trees full of fruit and flowers. We would go for an evening stroll in the Palmaraie every evening.
The food was all home made, fresh produce and delicious. We both felt the menu was a bit old fashioned, but the cook Jamila was excellent.
Altogether we would highly recommend this wonderful oasis!

Room Tip: Both suites in the main house are excellent. The ground floor one is very dark though and we had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#91 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#62 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#333 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#252 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing