We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #86 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Dar Zemora

We have just returned from this house in the palmerie marrakech, It is a piece of heaven. We stayed in the Zahara suite and it was wonderful just the perfect location. The service is of the highest standard with no exeptions , the food wonderful this was our second visit, look forward to the next .

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UkSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 313 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2007

Wonderful, peaceful, immaculately decorated boutique hotel outside the city centre. We stayed in the pavilion, which was excellent value for money and extremely luxurious. After one small hitch with our airport pick-up everything else went really well with our stay and the staff were very gracious. Good food in an exquisite dining space. A great place to stay if you don't want to immerse yourself in the chaos of the medina, but still possible to 'commute' in by taxi when you want to.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pavaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

If you're looking for tranquility, sublime surroundings and staff which, by the time you leave you could almost count as your best friends - then spend a few nights at Dar Zamora.

I was incredibly fortunate to have the Dar Zamora to myself for 4 days - treated like an absolute princess I had the time of my life. I class one of my favourite hobbies as visiting boutique hotels around the world and Tatler and Conde Nast have it spot on - this place is simply devine - close enough to shop in the Medina and trendy Sidi Ghamm yet far enough to remove the stresses and strains of what may be on your shoulders when you arrive.

I can't wait to go back - hopefully the Hammam will be finished by then - and if it's anything like the rest of the house I'll be booking that rather than a room!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank .SOArewethereyet_?!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We've been back from Dar Zemora for 3 weeks and have been asked countless times how our Christmas in Marrakech went - it was the greatest fun and we had the happiest of times. A friend had recommended Dar Zemora in glowing terms but being a bit of a cynic I thought a quick check of the Tripadvisor site would be a wise move - some of the reports were less than brilliant but others were euphoric and I phoned Lindsay, the owner, for some reassurance that all would be well since we had decided to take the entire family for a week and would have the place to ourselves. I wanted it to be perfect.

For us, and it seems many of the previous guests, the most memorable part of our time staying there was the extraordinarily high quality of the service. From the wonderful young man who kept all the fires burning all the time, to the charming girls who kept the place gleaming and rose-filled, our delightful baby-sitter, Rachida, the chef (I'm salivating at the thought of her impeccable meals), to Jamal, Youssef and Marwan (sp?), to the discreet and efficient attentions of the Belgian manager, Valerie, they could not have been more attentive. I have to mention that during our stay we did experience a bit of a drama with the heating system which totally failed for a short time, but it was dealt with very elegantly. Having had the place to ourselves, I can say that the Perla suite is great - the terrace is enormous and very private. The other rooms are all lovely and the cottage, which we didn't use, looked extremely comfortable. I think that we all craved a little more light at night - it is very atmospheric and the candles are lit with great ceremony each evening but it would be quite nice to be able to read in more places - this is simply nit picking. We ate in alot and Rachida was magnificent - by far the best food that we had during our time in Marrakech - infinitely better than places like Le Tobsil, which was very disappointing. The meal on our first night was ordinary but I'm fairly sure that it was Rachida's night off.

Valerie organised some musicians and dancers for Christmas night who were very entertaining. Taxis to drive us wherever and whenever we wanted, turned up unfailingly within 20 minutes - nothing was too much bother. Rumour has it that Lindsay and her husband may be opening a similar place in Bali - we all look forward to having a family Christmas there at some point but will they ever be able to match the quality of the team at Dar Zemora?

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Leaving the maelstrom of the Medina behind and arriving at Dar Zemora's beautiful garden, full of birdsong, and being welcomed by Jamal was like entering a different world. The house has been exquisetly designed (just five guest rooms) and, having read previous Trip Advisor reviews, we were relieved to find La Perla suite perfect (curtains hanging just so, lovely silk cushions on the sofa, crisp cotton sheets on the bed, and a blind on the loo window, though as it was so very private we would happily have lived without this).
I had raised my concerns about Trip Advisor feed back with Dar Zemora's owner, Lindsay, before leaving and she had professionally addressed each one.
My husband and I have travelled extensively from Cape Town to Shanghai and know what we like and how we want to be served. I can honestly say that Dar Zemora is one of the loveliest places we have ever visited - and the service from Jamal, Youssef and their team is exceptional, we would go as far as to say we have never been so remarkably taken care of. The staff are charming, courteous and seem to read your mind so they know what you would like before you do.
We had total privacy on the massive balconly which goes with La Perla suite and enjoyed leisurely breakfasts together totally undistrubed apart from the birds. In fact, such was the peace and tranquility of Dar Zemora that we had little desire to leave it (though we did, to visit the Atlas mountains and the Majorella garden, which is a gem).
Yes, the dogs bark at night but remember you are in North Africa!
This was nothing compared to coming back to a roaring log fire in our room (as well as throughout the house) and petals strewn over the bed each night. There are helpful maps by the front door to show to lost taxi drivers, but we never needed one.
Highly recommended if you want peace and restoration for the soul. If you want the hustle and bustle of the Medina (a short 15 minutes drive away) stay in a Riad there (as we did) but it will be incomparable to Dar Zemora. Go and experience it for yourself, we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HampshireTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
772 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
#93 of 499 in Marrakech
393 reviews
4.8 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#76 of 499 in Marrakech
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $226 - $855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing