We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #139 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is probably the hotel of choice for trekking companies and schools doing trips to Marrakech. As it is it was ok, very not the four star luxury it's website boasts but quite an acceptable basic 3 star hotel. Rooms were large, beds comfy and clean. Hotel was clean throughout. Restaurant served very nice food, buffet style and a good variety of food choices. The lobby is quite impressive, the pool, small but adequate for a city hotel was very clean. Beds around the pool, ample however do not expect to sit in the sun after 3pm as the sun goes down behind the hotel and you are in shade so do it in the morning!
Staff I met were lovely .
Plumbing was a bit noisy to say the least and decor in the rooms tired.
Overall I personally would return if its cheap enough if I had to although would much prefer a hotel nearer the inner city and more upmarket but that's just a personal choice!
It's certainly worth a look at if you're on a bit of a budget as very clean and quite an impressive place overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    479
    177
    55
    35
See reviews for
204
399
78
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from a five night stay here. We arrived late evening but there was no trouble with checking in etc. Friendly reception staff. Once we put our bags in the rooms, we decided to have a quick walk round the vicinity to suss it out. When we left the hotel that night (around 10.30pm) the guy on reception told us it wasn't safe for four young girls to walk outside at night. We decided to go against his warning and can say we didn't experience any trouble. The only issue was that we received a few comments from the local men (even though we were well covered etc).

The hotel was well situated for restaurants and taxis. Some places were within walking distance but beware of fake guides. If they see tourists looking remotely lost, they will try and guide you (which at first seems really helpful until they then ask you for 200 dirham!).

Hotel staff were friendly and made the experience enjoyable. If you want to take food and drink into the hotel, be discrete as they don't like this.

The rooms are spacious and fresh towels given each morning. It can be quite noisy due to the construction works going on next door but nothing a pair of earplugs can't sort out (or if you leave the aircon on, you probably won't hear much of the noise). The rooms are a nice size and the bathroom is quite private. We had a pool facing room on the third floor, very nice.

Breakfast was nice with a mixture of eggs, cake, pastries, fruit, bread,meats etc. Tended to be the same sort of thing each day but always very nice.

All in all, lovely hotel with some beautiful features. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I love this hotel for many reasons, the Hotel staff are amazingly friendly and helpful especially Mounia (Reception), Rachid (concierge) Kalahid (Reception) and all other staffs. They are an asset to this hotel. I felt at home and it felt like they were my extended family. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware that hotels in Morocco have to charge a Tourist Tax which most of the time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RazMoroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the hotel and had a room on the first floor facing the pool.
Plus: nice pool, good sized rooms, pleasant staff, well served by the bus to get to Jaama El Fna, very clean, problems identified were resolved quickly, good breakfast, very good cold buffet at night, pleasant lobby, wi-fi actually worked in our room so no need to go to lobby, near a supermarket (Acima), small fridge in room, meals could be taken outside on terrace
Areas of improvements: air conditioning was noisy, beds were not very comfortable, warm buffet at night was average

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabsRsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was a little basic and there are better hotels to stay in Marrakech. However, the style of the hotel was nice and authentic, but food was not good and hygiene left a little to be desired. Staff were lovely and friendly and the hotel was very clean. Rooms were a decent size and would recommend asking for a room with a pool view on the lower ground floors where you may also pick up the wifi signal and not overlook the rubbish strewn building site beside the hotel.
We stayed in October and the weather was warm albeit cool in the morning and evenings.
It was a noisy location which carried on into the evenings with shouting and dogs barking which is probably unavoidable due to it's central location.
The airport is very close a bus service operates a direct service very cheaply or negotiate a cheap taxi ride (apx. 70 dirhams - 5-6 stg. one way). We booked the tour operator's transfer bus which was expensive and after all the drop offs/collections took about 45 minutes. Also when using taxis - negotiate, tell them what you would like to pay for a ride, and don't be taken for one!

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms have better views and can pick up wifi. Choose balcony or bigger room without ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice place to stay, located on very good position. Definitely there is in need of refurbishment, however, it is still offers very pleasant stay. Rooms are decorated in the traditional still and lobby is great place as well as the terrace. Personnel is definitely more professional and responsive than than it has been experienced in other Moroccan hotels, with workable and prompt room service. Food is variation of the same standard one that can be found in the middle category of the Moroccan hotels but it is fairly good. It is short stay hotel, mainly for the tourist groups, but I will recommend it as good value for the money paid. Plenty of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity is definitely additional positive side of the hotel and its location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days and were very happy throughout our stay.
Everyone at the hotel, i e.
- porters
- cleaning staff
- Staff in the restaurant
- Staff at the pool
- reception staff
basically everyone made sure that our stay was a pleasant one. Any problems were sorted out in a very efficient manner.
On a personal note, I would like to relate an incident, which proves that the staff are very considerate when faced with a situation. The incident is:-
"During our stay, I managed to upset my wife on a small matter. In order to make amends, I asked the reception staff (about 8.00 pm), if they could get some flowers for my wife and place them in the room. At that point as were going out for dinner. So, the reception staff had about 2 hours to sort out my issue.
When we returned to our room, the bed was decorated with flowers in the shapes of animals and hearts. My wife was very pleased with this intricate decoration. We took some pictures.
This shows that the staff made sure that they were able to look after their guests in a personal manner."
The cleaning staff were excellent and also very helpful.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Personal care is excellent. It is like a family atmosphere.

Best wishes to all staff,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#131 of 500 in Marrakech
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#141 of 500 in Marrakech
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#179 of 500 in Marrakech
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#388 of 500 in Marrakech
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#217 of 500 in Marrakech
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#424 of 500 in Marrakech
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Property: Diwane Hotel
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing