We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #158 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good points - well located for the main town, swimming pool, which is lovely to sit by to get away from the hustle, traditional design so you feel like you are in Morocco, Tour bus stop is directly outside the hotel and is the starting point for the tour, staff are very friendly. Reception had free wifi and I managed to connect to another from our balcony.

Bad points - the hotel is very noisy and walls very thin. You hear everything and everyone, inside and outside, throughout the night, our room (522) looked out onto the pool, because we were on the 5th floor you could only see the pool if you looked directly down, if you looked across all you could see was a piece of waste land and a very busy road. We were B & B, breakfast was very adequate. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was poor and expensive (around £20 a person). The room and bathroom were very tired. We had the kitchens extraction going past our bathroom vent so we were greeted with the smell of meat cooking from 5.30am. Beds were very hard and you only get one pillow. The corridors had a permanent aroma of drains.

Top tips - Book your excursions through the hotel reception and not the man that sits in the lobby area each morning. They will beat him on price every time for an identical trip.

Book your taxi transfers through the hotel. You shouldn't pay any more than 100 dirhams from the hotel to airport and vice versa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    461
    172
    53
    35
See reviews for
194
379
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I just returned home after 5 night stay at Diwane hotel. We found the whole experience to be Enjoyable and worth every penny. The bedrooms are spacious and are immaculately cleaned daily. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Ideally located in the commercial centre. Bus no.1 from outside hotel takes you straight to the jame al fina square cost 4 Dirhams per person. City tours buses also stop outside hotel. One thing to be aware of, we were half board but with meals you are charged for water as well as other drinks.Wifi is only available in reception.Arrived back today 1st march 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with my sisters for four nights & it was absolutely faultless experience. We flew from manchester and got picked up at the airport. The pictures on the website do not actually do it justice. The three of us shared one room, we had a spacious room and was clean although the beds are a little firm however we requested for softer pillows and there was no issue in processing this request. We booked excursions here and received a pleasant service, as you get picked up and dropped off at the hotel. Everyone is very friendly. Aziz who does quad biking was amazing.

I would recommend this hotel as its conveniently located and there's always a taxi nearby, just be prepared to haggle a little. For reference we paid between 25-30 dirhams to get to Jemma el fna and the souks.

I will definately visit this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SajidaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Diwane Hotel in early February 2013..It was not my first choice as I had stayed in the Imperial Holiday Hotel two years earlier...and found it to be most enjoyable...Thompsons for whatever reason had dropped this hotel from their brochure...The Diwane Hotel was placed about 300 metres away...so I was happy with the location as it is right next to the Tour Bus start point and only a twenty minute walk to the main square....On arrival I found the staff to be most welcoming and friendly...My room was 516 and overlooked the garden...the room was spacious and nicely presented ...the bathroom had a full size bath with shower option...and the room had a safe...colour television and a balcony with table and chairs.....Breakfast and dinner were a help yourself buffet and you also had the option of the Al A Carte restaurant next to it......The meals were superb...with plenty of choice ...breakfast you also had the made to order omlette service....The main desk offered a currency conversion service at good rates....Would I stay there again..Definitely...Would I recommend it...Without hesitation.

Room Tip: Anything that overlooks the garden or pool area's as they get the sun all day on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rykspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment we check in until we checking out we had only first class service, Dispite a mix up over weather we were b&b or half board (which we had paid for) the management and staff could not seem to do enoughg for us.

The food was traditional local fayre which my wife and I loved,

The pool is unheated and cold in February until the sun has been on it to after lunch when it is bearable. Saying this my youngest was in it from 10.30 am onwards.

The rooms are well presented with firm but comfortable beds. If you want a double make sure you request it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very nice staff in the reception. Nice area outside and a okey restaurant (the breakfast wasn't as good as i hoped). The gym is bad with almost nothing working or working bad. The spa doesn't have good staff. Booked 40 min of massage and only got 30, but still had to pay full price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PontusEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Recently returned from a four night stay at Diwane Hotel. The staff were lovely and all really friendly and ready to help. In particular Muneya who was at reception was a wealth of information in terms of where to go and what times to avoid. And she was lovely to talk to. The cleaning service is excellent! And on the last two nights we were given a special suprise which was very sweet. The breakfast was really nice too.

We booked two excurisons through the hotel, camel riding and quad biking both excellent; the company the hotel use is professional and well oragnised. You get picked up and dropped off at the hotel, so would definatley recommend. Addtionally, would also suggest if you exchange money to do so from the hotel the rate is same as aiport and safe. Just make sure you get a reciept as when you want to exchange back to your orginal currency you need to show receipts. Also be sure to exchange all your dirhams before you return at the airport as you wont be able to back in UK.

The touristique bus stops literally outside the hotel and the bus tour starts from outside the hotel. I would recommend touristique bus as you can get the 48 hour ticket. And it goes to all the sites including jem el fenna and koutiba mosque and you can hop on and off the bus as many times as you like. Its safe and hassle free and you can peacefully enjoy the ride without the hassle of beggars, people, shopkeepers or taxi drivers unlike when your walking around!
The Hotel can also organise a taxi to the airport which was alot cheaper than what we paid getting to the hotel (200 dirhams!) through the hotel it was 100 dirhams.

Overall really good hotel, nice retreat from the frenzy outside. Its a nice city to visit but be prepared for the hassle outside the hotel from everyone! Would definatley recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#141 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#129 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#402 of 495 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#121 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#190 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#184 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Property: Diwane Hotel
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing