We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt have one complaint”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #156 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fabulous hotel and staff were fantastic. It was our honeymoon and every night before went for dinner we had a bottle of wine bought out to us with a friendly welcome. So helpful and very kind. We stayed here at the hotel and was B&B so was there breakfast. We were made omletts every morning which was lovely but not much else to eat unless you like pastries and cake for breakfast! cant complain though!

Reception were amazing and so helpful when asking where good to go and always asked us how we were and had a laugh. And again had a warm welcome when we arrived as they new it was our honeymoon.

We went on a few trips, one being the camel ride which was an 'experience' to say the least. Very funny and what an amzing morning it was. We then went to the Water Fall which i warn you is a long coach ride away but so worth it. They take you down to the bottom and you can swim (if your brave enough) and then hike back up to the top for lunch. Its definalty a must see.

The local restaurents are all french so if english like we are its very difficult to know exactly what your getting, not many english speaking waiters out there! Try and find the resturant/bar opposite McDonalds which is about 10 minute walk from the hotel and they have tubes coming from the ceiling with water/mist which is a god send as its very warm still in the evening!

All in all a brilliant experience to Marrakech but be warned...... HOT HOT HOT!!!! Hope you enjoy The Diwane Hotel as much as we did xxx

Room Tip: Ask for Pool view as noise from the street is very load
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexEmma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall stay in this hotel has been very good - aside from a few minor cons, mostly to do with treatment from some of the staff here.

We arrived at night - even at this late time the reception staff were very helpful (and continued to be throughout our stay - speaking fluent English and French). Although we had booked the balcony rooms we chose the inter-connected rooms for the family and this was done without any major hassle - the rooms themselves were large and spacious along with the bathrooms. Rooms service was also pleasantly surprising as the maids evidently cleaned them very well and all of our possessions were safe (despite not using the safe). Air conditioning was paramount in the extreme heat of Marrakech! The TV programmes were interesting despite the fact that we couldn't understand most of it as there were none in English - however, seeing BBC2 was a welcome comfort as well as a few films (albeit repeated every night) including The Devil Wears Prada etc.Although wi-fi is available in the reception lobby we found we could get a fairly decent signal just outside our room if we positioned ourselves near the balcony outside the rooms.

Regarding food - as previous reviews have mentioned, it can get a bit repetitive. Breakfast was our favourite - lunch was an unfortunate downer as nothing of the menu was in English and we had to enlist several staff to gain any understanding. Compared to the breakfast and evening options, we did not favour the lunch option - it's much more convenient and nicer to make use of the buffet, especially with our half-board booking. Personally, for our tastes we found the evening food a bit bland - and often had to laden it with many different spices and fruits/salads to form a 'tasty' meal. We often ate out as a result. Water was expensive at 20dh a bottle - however, it's a hotel - what else can be expected?

As for the staff - a mixed view. Whilst the reception staff and even some of the waiters were very helpful we experienced a very hostile and fluctuating treatment from other waiters/porters. It was more frustrating to notice that such treatment was not extended to other 'non-white' members - the waiters would repeatedly smile and check upon them whilst not even giving a glance in our direction, or when doing so, with a face that looks as if it has never smiled. Quite sad really - apart from the skin colour there wasn't really anything to differentiate us from the other guests - or perhaps we had not experienced such discrimination back home which is why we felt hurt at this. However, apart from this the rest of the staff really went out of their way to help us and make us feel comfortable during our stay.

The location of the hotel is also superb - just outside is the stop for the Red City Tour Bus which departs frequently to take you around Marrakech's main sights. It's also next to the main road and it only takes 15-20 minutes at a leisurely pace to reach McDonalds and the main shopping district.

So overall, a wonderful stay at a very nice hotel - tainted slightly by one or two of the staff members - but other than that, it can't be faulted. Would return again if we ever visited Marrakech in the future.

NOTE: Djaame El Fanaa is a must visit - an 'experience' to say the least and we returned there a few times during our stay, if only to stand back and watch the city come alive at night. Haggling is a must - especially for the caleches nearby and the orange juice stalls are a welcome treat. In particular, we were particularly impressed with Abdul at Stall No. 50 - not only was he particularly helpful and very generous he was very friendly and definitely outshined some of the other more stingy stalls. So do spend time going to the different stalls before you decide on one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A really good clean, friendly hotel. We only had bed and breakfast. Continental type breakfast on offer was fine, omelettes etc. Had a decent size swimming pool to cope with the 47c temperature. Most guest were French, of which French is widely spoken in Morocco. Money exchange in the hotel was good, getting on average 13.7 Dirhams to the £. The decor of the hotel is Moorish, so at least you feel you abroad. Would stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hi all,

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights in Hotel Diwane, and my mother, father and sister stayed for 7 nights.

STAFF: I have seen mixed reviews about the staff in this hotel. And from my experience, I would say mixed as well. The reception staff speak quite good english, although some basic french phrases are always appreciated. The cleaning staff are quite rude though. I went to track down a maid to ask for some toilet paper (in french) and her response was a mere grunt. The restaurant staff are ok, although they do not appreciate you speaking in english- lucky for me I know a little french! At first we thought the lady serving crepes was really grumpy, but turns out she was just fed up with people pointing and gesturing, rather than asking in french. The staff in the spa do not speak english at all which is not helpful, as all conversation and instructions are in french. The bar staff however are extremely nice! As is the man who tends to the sunbed area.

THE SPA: My mother, sister and I were booked in for a traditional mud scrub, manicure and pedicure. As previously said, the staff do not speak english-which made for quite a funny time! We were placed in the sauna, with instructions to turn the water on. Turns out we didnt quite understand her instructions and were not off to a good start! Then we were exfoliated with the scrub and washed down. This particular lady had a great sense of humour, and the language barrier was not the end of the world. As a small bonus, we got to keep the exfoliating mits.

THE POOL: is quite small, but has an additional connecting baby pool. The deeper pool gets to 1.8M. Very clean, as is the area surrounding it with plenty of sunbeds. There is one man who takes care of this area and is very nice, and will provide you with a clean towel. He will also go out of his way to accommodate your party, and will move sunbeds around for your convenience.

THE ROOMS: my partner and I had a twin room overlooking the pool. I had read some reviews on here about emailing the hotel about a room overlooking the pool, as the lobby was noisy - I'm very pleased I did, as the lobby and surrounding areas arent very nice to look at and is quite noisy. The air con is perfect, the room was clean, the shower and bathroom were perfectly fine. Not many tv channels in english but we were not there to watch tv!

THE RESTAURANT: breakfast is good and plentiful. There were criossants, pain au choc, biscuits, some fresh fruit (sliced oranges and sometimes melon), salad, cakes. And if you'd like something hot you can have an omelette made, pancakes, crepes and hard boiled eggs. There is orange juice available - not so sure about this. It doesn't taste like fresh orange juice, it tastes sweetened and diluted. We asked if it was diluted with bottled water but they couldn't understand. We spoke to some of the other guests who said they had been drinking it all week and had been fine though. Lunch is a menu choice, not buffet like breakie and dinner. I think I liked lunch the best- seemed better quality food almost. Dinner is also good, with a different selection every night, from beef to fish to chicken, potatoes and plenty of veg. cakes and fruit for dessert. HOWEVER, i must state that my partner and I have been ill for three days now, and we are not sure why. It could be the heat, or something we ate..not sure. we ate mostly at the hotel. I must apologise for my english during this review- very hot and bothered at home right now as im still ill.

The hotel provides wifi, but only in the main lobby, you will not be able to connect to it from your room.

We got the transfer A2B from the airport which is not a good idea! get a taxi. The hotel diwane is 20 mins from the airport, but we spent just under 2 hours on the bus, passing fantastic hotels which we probably would have preferred to stay at.

Getting a taxi is ok, plenty aroud but they all drive like maniacs! Our taxi driver spoke to another driver as he pulled away and said 'wish me luck!' - we couldnt believe it! funny though!

SOUKS: i would not recommend you stay long here. A definite experience but will NEVER go again. we were grabbed and sworn at and constantly pestered. My sister was grabbed and became very upset. The beggars are upsetting and relentless.very busy. do not take photos of anyone- you will be hassled for money.

EXCURSIONS:We took a trip into the Atlas mountains which was great, and i would definitely recommend. Quite a strenuous walk though in the heat, and will require GOOD SHOES! not my flipflops haha. you will be driven part of the way and you will have to walk for a good hour to get to the waterfall, but the views are incredible, and the waterfall is lovely. you are encouraged to go in to the water, which is freezing cold and lovely after a hot and bothered walk. You will also visit a magic graden on your way. not impressed at all, they seem to have a list of western problems like obesity and acne, and will try to sell you medicines from plants to cure them. very small garden.
you will also visit a small berber house which is quite nice, and worth looking around. nice to see the rooms and traditional ways. quite a few cats around there though, so if you don't like cats stay away (my mum is petrified).

My father booked us a surprise trip to ''Chez Ali''.
The food was plentiful, however that is the only good point. Everything is designed to get as much money out of you as possible. Around four little groups of people in costumes come round your table singing- wanting money. You will have your photo taken and asked for money. The show they put on afterwards is diabolical. Men on horses that are clearly mistreated and foaming at the mouth trot around a little. There is a camel which is barely walking from being mistreated - just do not go, save your money.

I don't think we will return to marrakech, it was certainly an experience, but lets keep it at that haha.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemissKnebworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Thanks to other reviews I booked this hotel and I was so happy I did. I speak very little French so I found the reception staff and door staff particularly helpful, special thanks to Aissam who helped me with anything from how to get to the supermarket, (which is turn left out of hotel then directly right on the main road, cross over when you come to the Shell shop walk left behind it and then cross the road, It's a huge supermarket beginning with A. If you want to buy any alcohol you will need your passport.) to finding the bus station, direction to Jardin Majorelle, to telephoning my transfer provider when we had an hour mix up. I give Aissam 5 stars for all his patience.
The rooms were cleaned every day, air con good. There is a fridge and safe in the rooms. A hairdryer in bathroom, although with the temps high it often felt like a fan oven outside in the late afternoon and so no need for the hairdryer.
There was a daily fee for the safe of 20 Dirhams but I felt it was worth it. I also had to pay a tax for my 7 night stay of 150 Dirhams as this had not been included in my booking fee, not quite sure what this is for.
The food was mostly waiter service at dinner, although there was a buffet one night. The menu is completely in French with no translations, It would be nice if they had an English translation as well, although the waiters also helped and tried to explain what things were. My phrase book actually helped me to recognize some of the food so not a total waste of money buying one. Food was always good, nicely presented, varied with a choice that was different every day. Breakfast was buffet and great pancakes and omelettes.
The hotel also organise a really good tour to Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains, a day trip that cost £20 while I was there 275dh. Brilliant day out, They picked up from a couple of other hotels, the day I went there were 5 of us and the driver. Visit to the herb garden and laboratory, watch the making of Argan Oil, then to a Berber house, across the river on a rope bridge, if you so please a paddle in the river among the boulders, lunch at a really good restaurant by the river and then the walk to the waterfall which be warned is an actual mountain climb. Rashid the guide was like a mountain goat and advises where the feet should go all the way there. He says it should take 1 half hours to go up and come down again, well it took us three hours and we were quite happy with that. He did so well as it was during Ramadan so no food and water, he must have felt exhausted.
It is a nice easy walk to Jardin Majorelle, maybe 15 to 20 minutes. Such a tranquil place to visit 50 dh and the Berber museum 25 dh is excellent. It opened in 2011 and no photo's allowed in there which was a shame. There is a fake desert night sky in one of the rooms, very effective. There are videos and still photos running on screens well worth watching for a while, some great photography in among them. Among the exhibits are some gorgeous Berber clothes and a few artefacts to satisfy.

Best to get a taxi from the hotel to Supratours bus station if you decide to go to Essaouira, I don't think I would have found it walking and it seemed quite a distance in the taxi. Book the day before, now 70 dh, I stayed overnight in a little riad that I had pre-booked, lovely little place called El Paco. When you arrive there book your ticket back straight away as they sell out quickly. If you don't like wind then I am told September through to November is the time to visit Essaouira, It was quite cold about 25c and very windy, quite a contrast to Marrakech which was mostly between 31c and 48c while I was there.
Lastly most taxis you can get back from the square to the hotel for 20 dh if they say it's 40 or more after 9pm (just one of the stories I got,) just walk away and find another on. I always said where I wanted to go and 20 dh to the driver, if he quibbled I found another one very quickly that did agree that price. Small taxis charge 10 dh but to be fair I always gave them 20 as it is quite a trip back to the hotel. Taxi's are definitely value for money if you pay these prices, but not if you constantly get ripped off as a couple I met there had been.
The square Djemma el Fna is bonkers watch out for crazy women on mopeds. I would have liked to find a little place to people watch while drinking some red wine but I think because it was Ramadan there did not appear to be any, not sure if there is other times of the year or not.
Finally I carried in my purse the trip advisor little picture of the hotel and address, it was invaluable when I got a French only speaking taxi driver and needed to get back home. I also had a notebook where I listed places of interest to visit and just had to point to them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at Diwane with two kids and my father. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We had our bags delayed by airline, but the staff offered to phone and chase up bags every day until they arrived as airport staff did not speak english. All the staff were really friendly and helped in any way they could. Hotel is clean and maids come in every day. Pool and people really nice. Mostly couples and families.
Location is excellent. Ride to El Fnaa is about 10 mins in taxi and should cost no more than 25 to 30 Dhirrams. Bus is available from airport or taxi should be 150 Dhirrams.
Chef (Hamid) is excellent and on half board was mostly a choice of three course meals. My children were fussy and he made them pizzas or burgers and fries. My wife is vegetarian and although not on the menu, he did try and accomodate her with pasta, pannini or pizza etc.
Door staff and pool attendant also very helpful and polite.
Whole stay was fantastic. For reliable person for transfers and trips look in forum for number for Mr Jalil. Prices reasonable, driver speaks english, very punctual and nice cars with ice cold Air Con.

Room Tip: Rooms over pool do not have balconies, but those over reception do. Triple rooms have twin beds plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afcchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed 7 nights in August. Great staff, they are helpful and friendly, everyone works really hard – the reception staff are great, speak good English which is helpful and can give advice, what to see where to go . There is a bureau de change at reception, rates are competitive open 24/7 and very helpful. Hotel is quite old but very clean and pleasant – pool area is quite small but pleasant, lovely pool .Great place to relax and swim. Food good, freshly cooked, basic choices for breakfast lunch and evening. If half board you can eat lunch or evening – you choose. Everything does close down early in the hotel and lights are out promptly, would be nice to linger over a drink later in the evening - but it was Ramadan when we were there so i guess it has been a long day for the staff. Our room was fine good AC. Hotel easy walk to Jemaa-El- Fna , approx 15 -20 mins (evening not too hot). Taxis cheap and easy to find - be aware they rarely use the meter and you have to haggle a bit they might try to charge you over the odds, we paid about 10 – 30 dirham depends on time of day distance and where you are . We went on a tour to Ourika Valley - reception staff helped us choose - good day out, good value and good fun,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaqcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#137 of 499 in Marrakech
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#138 of 499 in Marrakech
540 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#359 of 499 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#456 of 499 in Marrakech
712 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#207 of 499 in Marrakech
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#329 of 499 in Marrakech
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $46 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing