We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil place to stay”
Review of Riad Hikaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Hikaya
Ranked #23 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil place to stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just back from a 5 day stay in Riad Hikaya and both my daughter and I were absolutely delighted with the stunning accommodation and the attention to detail in the riad and with the lovely breakfast we were served each day. Thanks to John and Jane the owners for being such perfect hosts and for being so helpful and to all of the lovely staff for the impeccable manners and attention we were shown. Would definately recommend this Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
135
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dear Jane and John, thank you both so much for a wonderful, relaxing break in Marrakech, it was a pleasure to have met you both. Having arrived tired from a very early start, the car stopped at an old wooden door in a nondescript wall and we wondered what we had let ourselves in for! The door opened and we stepped into a little bit of heaven. It was peaceful and a complete contrast to the city outside. Riad Hikaya is a sanctuary of calm, relaxation and tranquility. The luxurious guest rooms are beautifully decorated, and the discreetly attentive staff deliver wonderful service. The facilities, including the restaurant and hamman made our stay just perfect. The owners genuine warmth, friendliness and expert local knowledge and in John’s case his fluency in Arabic and French get things done 'the Moroccan way'. John arranged various trips for us and it ensured a stress-free fabulous experience. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

And as it happens a goddess too,also staff that resemble angels. Having arrived late at night in the middle of a very busy street to find a wooden door in a nondescript wall we wondered what we had let ourselves in for ,need not have worried , the door opens and you step into heaven.John,Jane,Loubna,Mesda and the rest of the staff know how to get it right.first class service in a fantastic city I cannot say any more for there will be no rooms at the inn when we call again.a pleasure to have met you all,hope to do it again soon. Hope Ali is still smitten and John, the 'Bimbo box'incredible thank you. Nick Geeson and Diane Eggelston

Room Tip: There is not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

On business trip for a few days, excellent service., very nice surroundings, room was lovely, nice quality bed which was very comfortable. John the owner was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about Marrakech speaking fluent Arabic and French which was very useful from a business perspective. Will defiantly visit again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Riad Hikaya comes highly recommended. This hidden gem is exquisitely decorated and the attention to detail exceptional. In contrast to the frenzy of activity in the Medina, Riad Hikaya is a sanctuary of calm, relaxation and tranquility. The luxurious guest rooms, discreetly attentive staff and top notch facilities (including roof top terrace, pool, jacuzzi and private spa) and services make this an inviting and comforting place to rest. The owners’ genuine warmth, friendliness and expert local knowledge (and in John’s case, fluency in Arabic), including of how to arrange and get things done „the Moroccan way“, ensures a stress-free experience. We’ve already recommended Riad Hikaya to friends and family and hope also to return in the not too distant future. A real „Tour de Force“!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anghiari, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We loved this Riad. Not only was the place beautifully decorated and tastefully done but there was amazing attention to detail which as an interior designer you get to appreciate. The service of the staff was excellent and the food exceptional. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and arranged everything we asked of them. They spoke several languages including Arabic so made sure our taxis and excursions were carried out professionally and without the stress of having to haggle for everything.
I will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending this Wonderful Riad.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

When you go to Marrakesh you know you will be taken out of your western comfort zone: Hustle, bustle, haggle and how on earth will you get through that traffic to the other side of that road?
This is one of the reasons we go there, otherwise I am sure you could find a nice Centre Parc somewhere..
Still, we were traveling with our family, including two little girls(11 and 9), a place of respite was essential. And did we find it!
The rabbit warren of the medina may be mayhem(in a good way!) but the moment you step through the heavy wooden door of the Riad Hikaya tranquility, peace and supreme comfort rule.
Beautifully appointed, swimming pool, jacuzzi and the sunny patio on the roof, all is yours to enjoy. Attention to detail is amazing, our hosts attended to all our wishes without ever being intrusive.
The breakfast was a wonderful, long drawn out affair but you do not have to have all seven or eight courses...
Food: we did eat at the Riad three times, excellent moroccan food and wine and they even rustled some burgers for the girls.
Even splitting hairs, I can not find a single thing to moan about, which is(according to my family) as rare as hens teeth...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gottfried P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 500 in Marrakech
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hikaya

Property: Riad Hikaya
Address: 252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hikaya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hikaya is a luxury boutique hotel located in the royal quarter of the medina, called the 'Kasbah', and only an easy walk from the main square, Jemaa al Fnaa, and the city's other famous landmarks. It took three years of meticulous restoration by local craftsmen and artisans, employing both age old techniques and materials, to transform the riad into what it is today. The two roof terraces, planted with orange, lemon, grapefruit and pomegranate trees, offer superb, open views onto the snow capped Atlas mountains. Guests are welcome to eat in our 'Café Des Epices'or on one of our roof terraces to make the most of the view.Included in the room rate:• Moroccan/Continental breakfast• Remote controlled air conditioning and heating for the cooler months• Fresh fruit & mineral water• Fresh flowers• "Sens de Marrakesh" toiletries• Babouche - his and hers• Flat screen tv / satellite channels• Nightly turn down service with rose petals• Ipod docking station• Free wifi internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Hikaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing