We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis not to be missed!”
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was my second trip to Marrakech with my mum. Having booked Riad l’Orangeraie and receiving such warm and welcoming emails from the owner Cyril we already knew we had made the right choice. Cyril was so helpful and responded promptly to any questions and requests we had.

We arrived at the riad and were welcomed by Ismail who was a delight and served us hot mint tea and Moroccan confectionary upon arrival. All the staff were so friendly, warm and nothing was too much trouble. They all went that extra mile to make the guests feel at home and enjoy the best experience during their stay in Marrakech. The staff’s attentive customer service was second to none. Smiles were in abundance adding that extra sparkle.

Riad l'Orangeraie is a tranquil paradise. So warm and inviting with all the comforts you need during a stay in this vibrant city. With lovely touches throughout the entire riad including the rooms; fresh flowers, candles and mood lighting creates an ambiance you can’t help but fall in love with. The riad is kept to an extremely high standard, so clean and with all the home comforts - the beds are so comfortable not to mention the pressure of the showers 

Breakfast served on the rooftop was so good and freshly prepared. We also recommend you eat in the riad one evening and enjoy a traditional tagine along with lots of other delicious accompaniments whilst watching the sunset – absolutely divine!

The riad is ideally located within 5minutes walk from the square making it easy to reach the souks and restaurants. After a busy day out, it is a dream to come back to. You feel completely safe and this is also helped by the fact that you are given a mobile phone allowing you to call the riad at any time should you need to.

A great night out with a difference the Jad Mahal is for sure a place to visit, with amazing food and live entertainment and is easy to get to from the riad by taxi. For those of you who fancy a more cosy night in there are lots of games in the lounge but also for film lovers ‘Casablanca’ is projected on the wall from the ground floor patio. Such a nice touch.

An oasis from the animated hustle and bustle in the medina. This riad is one not to be missed and you will for sure want to return again and again as we will (already booked for later in the year!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojoamyrawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie and your gracious words about your stay at the riad. We are really happy to hear that you had a great time.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food served at the riad, Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, always use fresh products to prepare their meals and they will be so happy to know that you enjoyed their food.

Since the beginning of March, we provide our guests with a mobile phone during their stay and we are pleased that you found this useful.

Please believe that it was a pleasure for us all to get to know you and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 930 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely riad, with warm and personal staff, everyone. We stayed at both the beginning and end of our Morocco 'circuit. At the end we were welcomed back--and I was offered a homeopathic treatment for 'tourista'--a spoonful of cumin with a Coke chaser. The suites are sublime lovely retreats you will not want to leave. Some riads have more period detail, but this place has a western sensibility--and still amazes you with it's tadlkadt walls, zellij tiles and Berber carpets and fabrics plus a wonderful cool plunge pool. A roof terrace is a great place for a meal or snooze on a chaise or sofa. The riad is near Djema ell Fnaa, but silent and peaceful inside. Breakfasts were vast with some fine homemade treats. Dinners OK and a bit pricey--eat in the square or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger suite. Our second stay involved a room with a upstairs bathroom--a new kind of cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l'Orangeraie and your favorable review.

We aim to make the riad feel like home and we are really happy that you had a great time.

We all hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a lovely stay at Riad l'Orangeraie in Marrakech. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. They were always happy to help in any way they could and offered great advice on restaurants, site-seeing and the best ways to get around town. The Riad is really well located – a few minutes’ walk from the souks and main square and is a chic, peaceful, beautiful little paradise in the middle of a bustling and vibrant city. It is the perfect place to relax after a long day of shopping in the markets. The food was delicious and abundant – they serve aromatic local cuisine and definitely the best Tagine we had in Marrakech! The attention to detail the whole staff makes you feel very special and at home. We loved every minute of our stay here and plan on returning in the future. Thank you to the entire staff for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katuio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your complimentary review.

We are really happy to hear that you had a great time at l'Orangeraie.

Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided. This is mostly important to us. Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, will be absolutely delighted to know that you had your best tagine at the riad !!

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Thankyou Ismail, Aziz and Jamal for your kind and warm hospitality on our recent stay (13 - 16 May 2013).
Your little boutique Riad is just the salve after a day of scouring the souks and markets.
We loved the whole experience - the rooms, the food, the service and above all your easy going welcoming selves. It was like coming 'home' each day to a little piece of secluded comfy paradise.

We will highly recommend to our friends back home in Sydney, Australia.
All the best and we hope to make a return visit in the not too distant future.

Marisa & Francisco.
Sydney

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in the courtyard area which was lovely. A lovely vista to the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Marisa and Francisco,

Thank you so much for your visit and your kind words about your stay at l'Orangeraie.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt at home at the riad. It is exactly what we aim to create.

We really hope to see you again soon.

With warmest wishes,

Cyril, Ismail, Aziz, Jamal and the whole team at l'Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The accommodation was lovely, chic and very comfortable. The Riad itself is beautiful, in a central location near the souk, with a stunning roof terrace where the most delicious breakfasts are served each morning and mint tea and coffees are available upon request. We had not anticipated such luxury. All our needs were met and surpassed.

We will all be back… Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms down stairs are shaded which is good when hot but they are dark. Suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting l’Orangeraie and for your very kind comments about your time at the riad.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast at the riad as we pay a special attention to the first meal of the day and try to make our breakfasts consistently good. We also take great pride on meeting the needs of all our guests so thank you for commenting on the quality of the service provided.

We really hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Riad L'Orangeraie is a real oasis of calm, situated as it is within the bustling Medina: it offers good food, comfy, well appointed rooms, a very convenient location, a terrific roof terrace, and finally, very attentive service from lovely people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting l’Orangeraie during your time in Marrakech and for your kind review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the riad. Thank you especially for mentioning the quality of the services which is absolutely key for us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a great way to spend a long weekend! Entering through the heavy wooden door moments from the souks, you are transported to an oasis of tranquility where nothing is too much trouble for Ismail and his colleagues. The bedrooms, sitting rooms and library are arranged on two floors around a traditionally tiled atrium with a central fountain and palm trees. The ground floor pool is an excellent way to cool off after an afternoon's shopping. The roof terrace is a very private way to relax and catch the North African sun, or start the day up there with a delicious al fresco breakfast. My double room on the ground floor was traditionally decorated with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage, a safe, its own sitting area and a bathroom with a bath big enough for two, if the mood takes you. By the end of my stay, it felt like a second home and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to the riad and your informative review.

We are delighted that you had a great time at l’Orangeraie. Thank you for outlining the quality of the rooms and the large bathroom facilities. Your details of the Riad provide great insight for potential guests.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Cyril, Ismail, and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 501 in Marrakech
1,734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,167 in Marrakech
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $141 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing