We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous, clean, sobberly but tastefully decorated, great 5* service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sumptuous, clean, sobberly but tastefully decorated, great 5* service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We could not get over the kindness of the service, the yummy breakfast and very good dinners (with a gris wine from Morocco)... the rooms are decorated with taste, the bathrooms look great and the beds are cosy, the service is really kind, helpful, dilligent, trust them, they all know the places you will like and enjoy, also they are of great advice. They really helped us out with all aspects of our stay in Morocco. We dined twice at the riad and the food was better than in restaurants, because this is like home-made and in small portions so everything is fresh and varied although typical. Breakfast is generous, we never needed to stop for lunch afterwards. It was a bit cool at nights, chilly in the rooms and we could have used an extra blanket: the only critic we have. Otherwise always nice to come back to the riad where rose petals are thrown on the bed cover, the room is lit with candles, and somebody comes offering tea. A highlight of the trip, and nicely situated at the medina entrance, not far from the heart of the medina. I would recommend Le Bain Bleu for hammam and treatments, as I went there; not luxurious but efficient and good service. Thank you anew to the team and manager if you read me.

Room Tip: We had ginger, which my boyfriend adored, and nutmeg, more spacious but nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
139
362
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed a marvellous long weekend in Marrakech and could not have been happier with our choice of Riad. The Riad itself, the furnishings, room, food etc are beautiful and i am sure not so unusual. What IS unusual is the welcome and ongoing friendliness of ALL the staff and this is the memory one takes way, and which will bring us back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Perfect location, wonderful attentive staff, beautiful food and tasty local wine. No negatives at all, in fact. A few steps away from Riad El Fenn and very similar except for the price. This place is wonderful value for money They have a partner Riad in Essaouira which is well worth visiting. This place is wonderful, the photos are accurate too. Cyrile the owner is happy to accommodate your needs, and Ismael the general manager is one of the kindest, loveliest people we have ever met in Morocco - and that's saying something. Choose this place, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent seven nights at the Riad L Orangeraie. This was our first visit to Marrakech / Morocco and picked this Riad based on a recommendation from a co-worker who stayed at the Riad last year.
Cyril, the owner was very accommodating and took care of every detail concerning our reservation. The L Orangeraie staff was excellent and did everything possible to ensure that we had a great experience and felt welcome and at home. We especially appreciated their arranging transportation to and from the airport for us and for our 20 year old daughter who joined us a few days later.
We stayed in the Paprika suite and enjoyed the beauty, space and cleanliness of the suite. We initially planned for our daughter to move to her own room after the first night but ended up having her stay with us since we found the space to be adequate and comfortable.
On our first night, we had dinner at the Riad Orangeraie of Chicken Tagine, couscous, bread and Moroccan salads. The food was excellent and one of the best meals that we had during our 15 night vacation to Morrocco and Spain.
We also enjoyed the breakfast which consisted of fresh squeezed orange juice, smoothie, French bread, Moroccan bread, hard boiled eggs, omelets, cereal, cake, etc.
Ismail and Aziz were excellent hosts and we greatly appreciated their recommendations and advice on restaurants and activities.
Thank you Raid L Orangeraie for an excellent experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstTime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My sister and I loved staying here, Ishmael, our wonderful host, said he wanted us to feel like we were in a home away from home and that is exactly what we experienced. The riad, and our room, was beautiful and the little touches were very special like the rose petals on our bed, candles lit in our room (and bathroom!) when we came home, chocolates and nuts replenished every day in our room... and tea and gorgeous cakes available complimentary whenever we asked for it. The food was absolutely delicious, fabulous breakfasts, different every day, and we only ate supper at there once but in fact it was probablly the best meal we had!
Cyril answered all our questions before we went and it was great to have his guidance in preparation. I can't recommend this riad highly enough, the staff were absolutely lovely and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

From arranging the stay to returning home Cyril, the owner, and his staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. [Even calling us after to ask for feedback on our stay as he had been away during our visit].
This Riad is a a truly peaceful and beautifully furnished bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of the Medina and it's souks. The contrast of the peace and quiet in the Riad to the noise and pace of the outside was incredible.
The food was excellent and as for breakfast.....it could not have been better. Thank you Cyril and your staff, we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Riad L'Orangerie is certainly an oasis in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech. We spent 4 days with them and it made our trip that much better. The Riad is in a great location, safe and easily accessible walking distance to La Place (a dining experience you must have) as well as all the palaces and places of significance. A short walk to the Souks as well. The rooms are elegant. we stays in the Saffron room which was perfect for us. We got a chance to see the Paprika room which was gorgeous if you want to spend a little more. A wonderful touch was the old screening of Casablanca that plays nightly on the riad wall overlooking the pool. Very cool. we enjoyed dinner twice up on the roof and the food rivals the best restaurants in Marrakech without a doubt. It was very relaxing and a great place to watch the sunset. The best part though of this Riad is the staff. They make you feel very welcomed as if you are staying in your own home. They are truly wonderful and really make the whole experience.
I highly recommend a trip to Les Bains de Marrakech for a hammam and massage. Plan to spend 3 hours there though. Cocktails on the roof at Cafe Arabe at sunset is a must. Dining at La Place is an experience like no other. Le Foundouk was a great restaurant but hard to find at night. Overall a great riad in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amytanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#10 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Property: Riad l'Orangeraie
Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing