We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best i've ever been! Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Bamileke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bamileke
Ranked #314 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of the best i've ever been! Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed there 5 nights with my girlfriend. What a marvellous stay! It's a small Riad so the environment was very intimate and relaxing. After spending the day wandering in the chaotic alleys of marrakech, it was nice to have a quiet and comfortable place to recharge our batteries.
We got a free upgrade to the biggest suite, which was a nice surprise. The room was very big (really, huge), charming and well decorated. Nice indirect light passing through the skylight (window on the ceiling) in the morning. Big bathroom with bathtub. Breakfast, which we usually took in the lovely sunny terrasse, was very delicious. Composed of orange juice, fresh bread, tea/coffee, morrocan pancakes (sort of), different jams, white cheese; all freshly made by the cook, a morrocan lady.
This was already really good, but the very personalized service provided by the staff was absolutely superb! The two managers, Mateo and Simone, were incredibly nice and really went out of their way to help us. They spoke, at least 4 languages, German, Italian, English and French, so we had no trouble communicating (we're from Brazil). From the day of our arrival they were extremely kind and took us for a walk nearby to make sure we wouldn't get lost showing us the main services like exchange bank, taxis and other useful stuff. Throughout the days, they recommended and reserved very nice restaurants and other places, as well as the guided tours and excursions we demanded. They showed us the map and Simone actually personally took us to the old jewish neighborhood (Mellah) and two museums, just because it could be a little difficult to find it on our own.

Overall, one of the best places i've ever stayed in. Very good value for money. Strongly recommend it. No complaints at all; zero.

Tip: If you can, book their Transfer from the airport to the Riad. You will probably end up paying more for a not-so-trustworthy taxi, which won't (for sure) leave you at the door of the Riad. He'll leave you, at best, in the entrance of the market, which is close. If it is you first time in Marrakech, by then you will be lost with you luggage and will be, for sure, harrassed in the street. We made that mistake, so we know.
If your in a extremely tight budget, then you will end up taking the bus at the airport. That will leave you near the Koutubia Mosque. So draw a map in advance for when you have to walk to the Riad, so you won't get lost.
Hope it helps!
I think you won't regret choosing this Riad to stay! Very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Got the biggest room in the Riad; very comfortable and romantic. Nice indirect sunlight by the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    23
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is a wonderful place to stay here. We were in trouble at the 1st day we arrived Marrakesh, they helped us a lot and also my friends who didnt stayed in their riad!! We could really feel their hospitality & kindness!!

For the riad and room, they are spacious and decorated in Moroccan style, with amazing lighting at night, and we enjoyed sunbathing on the Terrance in the breakfast time too. We stayed 2 nights and 2 different rooms here, we prefer the room at the ground floor.

Room Tip: Prefer Yoruba Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lomoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Royal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights and it was absolutely lovely. Very peaceful & quiet - just what we needed! However, to get here is another matter - as it's hidden away in little alleys and not so easy for the first time traveller. You can ask almost anyone within the square (who's a local) and they'd be happy to guide you - some will charge for this service so pay no more than 20-25 MDH. We were ripped off (but I won't say how much).

Breakfast was the same every day, so do venture out into the streets to find an alternative. The staff were extremely helpful & friendly and even offered maps as well as take you out to some of the local tourist sites. The maid was also helpful and I had to dig out my school French to have a basic (& I mean a very basic conversation) with her.

We occupied the ground floor room (one of the largest) and it was quite spacious and very clean. There was an oil heater that we had to use all night as it did get cold (well it would around beginning of February).

Overall a great experience that we'd love to do again.

Room Tip: We occupied the larger of the ground floor room's. Bear in mind that the A/C doesn't work (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B4ABU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2011 for 4 nights. Tge riad is a hidden gem- literally- took a while to find it. Wooden doors that lead into a peaceful and beautiful riad. Staff were helpful and gave us maps and told us how to around. Breakfast was limited. Short walking distance to the square. We stayed in the ground floor suite...it was beautiful!!!

The airconditioner in the room was not working- oil needed changing we were told. They bought us a pedestal fan which I was happy with.

The raid is peaceful and it was so nice to escape to from the busy square and souks. It was so nice staying here. We would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Before you arrive, make sure you email for the current phone number for directions or hire one of the men with acluggage cart at the entrance to guide you to the riad.

Hidden down a quiet path the Marrakech medina but not far from the noisy circus -like entrance to the medina, you find a wooden door that opens to a quiet elegant Bed & Breakfast Bamileke. A large open courtyard With palm tree, lounge area. The rooms are spacious with stunning arabic designs in tikes and wood

The staff is warm, welcoming and when i was there, spoke Italian as well as French and English. The riad can connect you to tours - a day each at a besutiful mountain waterfall in the Berber community of Ourika, a trip to Essouira on the Atlantic and orher adventures,

Breakfast comes with the price of the room. The riad also serves dinner on a roofip terrace overlooking the medina - and will recommend nearby liw cost high quality places such as the Berber restaurant Cafe Brahin

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I didn't believe that in a city like Marrakech you can find a corner where the world will stop. Riad Bamileke is the place. I recommend the raid for couples, less for families. Very nice enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed again at this Riad, this time with a friend.
It is so true that the people running a place, make it. The Riad's manager - a young & keen Moroccan man - makes you feel welcome from the minute you step into the Riad. He is so attentive, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for you. As I had been at the Riad ca. a year ago, it felt I was finding a friend again. Also my friend from England was impressed by how thoughtful and considerate he was towards us and other guests .

We had lovely breakfasts on the terrace and, later in the day, enjoyed the hot sun and cool shade during long siestas and breaks from 'heavy' shopping with a view of rooftops. A long w/e (friday eve to late sunday) and we felt we had gone further away and longer than we actually had.

It is a shame the owners - a month on and having been asked twice - have still not provided me with a receipt of payment, since this time, the Riad had not been provided with a receipt book to give one at time of payment. As I was on a business trip it is very important to me to be able to justify all my expenses for tax purposes.

Room Tip: Try to get the larger rooms on the further side of the alley, as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftsoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Hidden
Riad Hidden
#308 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#205 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#160 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#143 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yamina
Riad Yamina
#303 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad La Cigale
Riad La Cigale
#325 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamileke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamileke

Property: Riad Bamileke
Address: 17, Derb Dabachi Derb Jemaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Bamileke is a Guest house located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, just a few minutes walking from Jemaa el Fnaa main square and from souks. It has 3 very nice double, triple or quadruple suites, each nicely and sober decorated, each with its own private bathroom and massage area. The terrace and patio are the right places for breakfast or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bamileke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing