We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Riad Kniza is SUPERB..is not only all that they do, but is how they do it always perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #15 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Riad Kniza is SUPERB..is not only all that they do, but is how they do it always perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband and I just spent the best 6 days in Marrakech at Riad Kniza. We where celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary and Riad Kniza made it better than our Honeymoon. We took advantage of their special package and I have to say that it was superb, it didn't feel like a package it was luxury and service all over. We could not ask for more. THE RIAD is beautiful, peaceful, an amazing display of art allover, full of areas where to relax, the roof terrace is ideal to enjoy the heat during the day and romantic for dinner at night. The pool is just beautiful with a small seating area right by the spa and hammam. The entire Riad is just an experience of its own. The SERVICE and STAFF where outstanding, very professional …is not only all that they do, but is how they do it….always perfect. We always felt like home and the attention was very genuine. LOCATION is ideal in a safe quiet area right at the Bab Doukkala gate that connect to the modern town next to the buss station which makes it very easy for taxi transportation and day trips and a 10min walk to the main square Jamma El Fna and all other attractions. We loved the location because it was easy to find and very safe. The Rooms are kept flawless at all times. Cleanness is just a basic they go above and beyond to make sure each room is lovely from extra pillows, towels, robes, fruits, decorations, roses to anything you need. FANTASTIC FOOD…Breakfast was delicious every day we had a new surprise more delicious than the day before with local breads, Riifa, fruit spreads, orange juice, incredible yougurt, tea and the best service. You could choose when and where to have breakfast served as well as Tea with excellent pastries. Riad Kniza has the best authentic Moroccan Food. We tried few other well-recommended restaurants including the famous Al Fassia and they didn’t even come close to our excellent dinners at Riad Kniza. We had it all the Moroccan salad, Pastilla, all Tagines (chicken, fish and lamb) Couscous, Harira, and it was all superb, fresh, tasteful , well proportioned, and presentation was beautiful. It was just fantastic. We had dinner there 4 nights in a roll and we loved it. For our dinner Anniversary they prepared a very romantic setting at one of the private rooms and the food and the service where just incredible not to mention the Moroccan wine and even a special ice cream cake for desert it was fantastic. I just can’t say enough to describe what a wonderful experienced we had in Marrakech thanks to Riad Kniza. Thank you Riad Kniza we can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLoveEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    66
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
784
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I just wanted to say thank you very much to all the staff at the Riad Kniza for looking after me and my friend Natalie on our stay in Marrakech. Being two young girls travelling for the first time to morocco being out in the old Medina was a bit daunting but once in the hotel you felt safe and very secure. Everyone was really helpful and friendly.

The hotel is lovely. We felt very welcome and we very much enjoyed our stay.
We hope business continues to be good for you.

Kind regards
Laura and Nat :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Riad Kniza is an amazingly beautiful oasis in the madness of the medina of Marrakesh. The rooms - public & private - are stunningly decorated. The service was wonderful -everyone is very friendly and helpful. And the food at breakfast and dinner was delicious. I highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend stay at the Riad Kniza. It was a special birthday celebration and the party consisted of five couples. The hotel was just perfect. Mohamed and his staff could not do enough for us and made our stay exceptional. Our rooms were beautiful, especially our suite the Royal Bahia, it was magnificent. I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Just back from a wonderful week in Morocco, first four nights of which we spent at Riad Kniza.

What a wonderful experience, from the shock for my other half of arriving in a market in Marrakech and walking through the market and down an empty alley - I think he thought I'd lost the plot! Then arriving in the Riad to be greeting by the lovely Hannan, and served Mint tea and Moroccan sweets in an antique filled lounge overlooking a tranquil courtyard.

We had dinner the first night on the roof terrace - which was excellent, portion sizes were not overwhelming unlike many other restaurants. I'm vegetarian and catering for me was no problem.

Breakfasts on the terrace were great (my only slight criticism was they could do with bigger coffee jugs - the poor waiters probably wished for that too as we always had to order more.

All the staff were great, helpful with money exchange, booking restaurants and any ad hoc drink or foor requests during the day. Service was constantly on-hand but very unobstrusive - perfect.

We also enjoyed a hammam and massage - be warned its Very Hot, and cooled down in the pool which was immaculately clean.

Room and bathroom were great - bed comfy and plenty of additional bed linen if required. As all rooms are round the courtyard if you are an early sleeper or late riser then some ear plugs wouldn't go amiss - but in terms of external noise from the city its amazingly quiet.

It was a comfortable 20 minute walk to the Koutoubia Mosque through the market. A great location - close to the centre of things but not too close to the night time noise of the square.

All in all the perfect small hotel (and we don't do big hotels) experience . One of our favourite hotel experiences to date, we would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankgirl1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

It is difficult to add to what has already been said about this absolute gem of a place. 5 stars don't adequately describe it! The breakfasts were superb, and the evening meals were worth every penny and more. No menu; they discuss your preferences when you tell them you want to have a meal. If you want something particular or would rather not have something - just ask! The staff , all of them charming were helpful and welcoming. Mint tea, coffee, accompanied by Moroccan pastries,and soft drinks on demand at all hours with a smile and without charge. An oasis of calm in a noisy city not to be missed. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GanganLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I arranged to stay here as a birthday surprise for my wife and what a surprise. The accommodation is sensational, opulent with ornate decoration and the location is ideal being so close to the food markets. It provides a wonderfully tranquil environment, perfect after a day out in the souks.

The service was generally impeccable with our every whim catered for .. mint tea and morroccan delicacies on demand and a fantastic evening meal provided on arrival. The food here was some of the best we tasted in Marrakech. The hammam was good fun too.

Our only minor criticism was that since we stayed in early December the riad seemed to get a little cooler than ideal.

Otherwise a perfect stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_K_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing