We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and accommodating Riad”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beautiful and accommodating Riad”
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Stayed there for four days total. Beautiful riad and the staff were both attentive and descrete. Attention to detail was excellent, and they made us feel very welcome. The food was the best we found in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
209
864
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We were greeted at the airport by Mohammed, Kamal and a driver even though our flight arrived an hour early. Already we felt special. When the van dropped us off in the streets near the riad, we were a bit apprehensive but Mohammed made us feel comfortable and the moment we stepped into the riad, we felt as though we found an oasis. The serenity and beauty of the riad was such a contrast to the bustling city just outside. We were shown into a drawing room where we were welcomed with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. Mohammed offered to take us to the square after we settled into our comfortable suites, complete with flowers, fruit, bottled water and the use of a laptop computer. Our trip to Place Jemaa el- Fna was incredible and it would have been overwhelming without Mohammed but he was the perfect guide. In fact, he took care of our entire stay there. He planned our meals, tours,and transportation so we never had to think about a thing. The cocktails and meals the riad prepared for us on the rooftop terrace were incredible. We got to sample wonderful Moroccan cuisine without even having to face a menu. We especailly enjoyed the musicians and dancers he had performing for us during dinner on our second night. Thanks to Mohammed, Kamal and all the wonderful staff at Riad Kniza we got to experience Marrakesh as though we were part of their family. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jean1S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

The riad was one of the best parts of our vacation. My wife and I spent a few nights there during our stay in Morocco and returned there after a stay in Essaouira. Kamal and his staff provided impeccable service while treating us as if we were a part of his family. After a long stressful flight, he brought immediate calm to our holiday by ushering us to the riad and having food prepared for us. From the moment you step in the door, every need or question is immediately tended to. Nothing was too much trouble. Always helpful and welcoming, the staff at the riad was wonderful. Kamal was even kind enough to make me a CD of Moroccan music after hearing that I was a musician. I have travelled to over 30 countries and have never encountered this degree of hospitality. From thoughtfully making a CD to giving us a personal tour of Marrakech to having a car await our arrival from Essaouira, Kamal and his staff made our trip a truly memorable and stressfree holiday. He even rang up our driver during the trip from Essaouira to Marrakech to make sure that we were ok and asked if there was anything we needed once we got to the riad. Our driver, who actually works for other riads as well, said that only at Riad Kniza do they follow up on their clients. It was small touches such as these which made me fall in love with Riad Kniza. If you want to know what it feels like to be royalty, then stay at this riad. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I just got back from Morocco almost a week ago and had a wonderful trip. It was our first trip to Morocco and Kamal was instrumental in making our stay a success from the beginning to end. Before leaving the states, we realized the train schedule in Casablanca wouldn’t fit our arrival time from New York. Kamal relieved our anxiety by arranging a driver during our whole trip that included Fez, Marrakech and Essaouria. He also arranged a tour guide for us while in Fez to show us around the Medina. He was always a step-ahead making sure we had arrangements for everything from spa service to shopping in the Souks. Kamal was in constant contact with our driver Abdul during our whole trip. Rarely, do you find that type of service, even in the states. Abdul was more than professional in making sure our ride was comfortable during our drive. When we arrived in Marrakech, Kamal personally met us at the gate and we received a warm reception at the Riad Kniza. We stayed 3 nights at the Riad Kniza and had a fabulous time. The suite was lovely, decorated with fresh flowers and beautiful antiques. I enjoyed the atmosphere, which was very comfortable and relaxing. The Suite Ambar was the best sleep I’ve had in months and each suite at the Riad has its own flavor. Riad Kniza is not just any hotel accommodation, they take personal interest in making their guests comfortable and happy. Having stayed at 5-star hotels in the states and elsewhere, the personal touch at Riad Kniza is above 5-Star. Kamal’s phenomenal expertise as Director of the Riad Kniza makes him the best host and travel advisor for anyone considering traveling to Morocco.

I cannot say enough about the accommodations and warm reception from the staff at the Kniza. Everyone was amazing and God willing, I will definitely return to the Kniza to see my new Moroccan friends.

Santanisha

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Afrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I recently came back from Marrakech and I stayed at Riad Kniza – by far one of the best “Hotel de Charme” that I’ve had the pleasure of staying at, I highly recommend it. The Riad is exquisitely decorated in traditional Moroccan fashion with great attention to detail (e.g. they place fresh rose petal at their interior fountain each day.) The location is great as it is close to all the main venues and to the Souq. The Riad’s kitchen is nothing short of superb – you’ve got to try their “Lamb tagine with figs & walnuts” among many other fine and delicious things – just a perfect end to the day – either served at the privacy of your suite or at their beautiful terrace. The staff could not be better – multi-lingual, multi-talented & always with a smile! On my next visit to Marrakech, there’s no thinking about were I’ll stay, I’ll be heading straight to Riad Kniza. The staff is excellent and I particularly want to single out Samira, Isham, Mr. Kamal (thanks for your help in getting me to Casablanca!), and Rachid (he’s not part of the Riad’s staff – but he is an excellent tour guide & driver, hired by the Riad.)

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank estevez999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We spent three nights in Riad Kniza at the end of June 2006 and experienced an oasis of calm, wonderful service, excellent food, extremely obliging and polite staff, very comfortable en suite accomodation and with a very high standard of decor throughout the Riad. Kamel the owner/manager was the perfect host and his staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating; above all this was true value for money. The romance of taking dinner on the roof garden is unsurpassed and again the the food and service was superb.

Riad Kniza is situated on the edge of the Medina and importantly for us in amongst the hustle and bustle of the real Marakesh. Only a short distance away is The Square with all the Suks and their accompanying "entertainers" as well as the Khazba, and local culture is also close by. The people were friendly towards us albeit they could (as expected) be quite overenthusiastic in trying to sell their wares!

We would heartely recommend Riad Kniza to anybody wanting to stay in Marakesh, and wish Kamel every success in the years ahead.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelS4935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Our 3 night-2 day stay at the Riad-Kniza was truly an enjoyable experience. Never having been to Morocco before, we were apprehensive as we walked from the gate of the wall to the door of the Riad. We did not understand the custom of having non-descript entrances, but having very luxurious appointments inside.

The staff and mangement of the Riad-Kniza made us feel very welcome and treated us to outstanding food, drink, and service.

Our group of 6 nearly "took-over" the Riad as the facility enabled us to gather in the late afternoon for coctails, snacks, and conversation - later to be fed outstanding Moroccan food.

It was a pleasure to have had this opportunity to stay in Marrakech.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing